I’m sure a lot of you girls peruse the magazine for its fashion, articles or events page. I bought the magazine when I was in Pakistan and was a bit disappointed as it didnt have much in it. i think the magazine tries too hard to be western and the fashion often isnt appealing to me as its too westernised. and the articles - well theyre boring and cliched.
what do you guys think?
i think u get a different mag :p
It is very similar to In Style magazine sold in North America. I agree with you ... they try very hard to be western. The fashions are o.k., but not really practical. All the models look European as usual.
its one of those pakistani confused desi magzine :D
i like clothes .. well if i try to make it more decent.. the designs arent that bad.. hehe... but yea they try to make it very western. even in the events section.. they have pics of ppl getting drunk n stuff.. quiet interesting.. :-)
other then the pretty pictures bakwas hai..
but so are all the other 'fashion' magazines in Pakistan..
maybe we should send them a copy of cosmo (minus the sex)
Cosmo is available in Pak. I was an avid reader of the last few pages of this magazine while growing up in Pak. ![]()
i like the way they are keeping up with the west. this is what progress is all about. :)
and the people who abroad are supposed to be confused? :)
hmmm
well at the end of the day they are trying to be like cosmo, marie claire, tatler etc. without the sex and they end up being a very confused magazine. they should rather stick to whats pertinent to desi women in terms of fashion and lifestyle.
its a burger magazine but sometimes the articles/pics r interesting...i know some of the females who contribute there sometimes...its worlds apart from like akhbaar-e-jahaaan for example or khawateen-digest..i guess there is a section of society to which this magazine caters to...but for all others its not totally useless either....i usually just skim thru it to see if there's something interesting...
It looks a bit boring to tell the truth. Maybe the odd issue every once in a while would be okay though. Try Asian Woman instead.
*Originally posted by cat-woman: *
well at the end of the day they are trying to be like cosmo, marie claire, tatler etc. without the sex and they end up being a very confused magazine. they should rather stick to whats pertinent to desi women in terms of fashion and lifestyle.
well you see in paki land...there are two parallel cultures. One is the Islami one of the middle and lower middle classes. the other is that of the elitists that are less than one percent of the populace and live just like the westerns indulging in drinking and debauchery and what not. they are the people who wear the western dresses routinely and these are the people for catering whose tastes these magazines are meant. if you are not part of that crowd, they would seem irrelevant and confusing.
get it....
I love Asian Woman :love:
No Klaudius I don’t get it, for you are full of generalisations. I don’t think there is a hard line between upper and middle class.
i think my friends cousins made that mag.. hehe..
Yes Catty…I amnot generalising…How can i generalise one percent of the population. Butr it is a fact. I mean…okay with the liberalization …you might see girls dressed in jeans or pants…but thats it..you wont see anyone sporting versace backless gowns in a function as such..unless you belong to that one percent population…believe me..thats how it is…
I hope it clarifies the matter ..