^^^ Visa Question ^^^

If lets say you, or someone you know’s spouse is in Pakistan while you are abroad. You have applied for Visa and your spouse got an Interview date. My question is: what is the period that you are allowed to stay in Pakistan before you HAVE to leave on that Visa? I heard it was 120 days (i.e. about 4 months) but someone recently said that he knows of 2 recent cases where the spouse was only allowed about 1-2 weeks before she HAD to leave.

EDIT: Only talking about USA - Pak

Re: ^^^ Visa Question ^^^

it depends on the Country regulations

In the Uk i think its less not more then 2 months but i could be wrong :@:

google karlo:snooty:

Sorry I meant USA.

depends on the country , in some cases it is 6-8 months

In order to avoid any confusion: I am not talking about the Visa process in general. The case has been approved, interview date has been set etc. I am talking about the phase after that. Last I heard, you were allowed to stay in Pakistan (after getting US Visa) for 120 days to prepare or take care of things before you go to USA to be with ur spouse. But someone mentioned that they have now reduced it to about 10-14 days instead 120 days (this was based on 2 cases he observed recently where the spouse was given about 1-2 weeks only to prepare and fly to USA). Don't know if this is the case with everyone or only those whose ovreall case process took longer than usual. Does anyone have information on this or experience through someone else recently?

yes my far- off relative had the visa , but it was not for usa - he had 8 months time after he got the visa

wow that's long. A friend of mine recently went to Pakistan to bring his wife here in USA after she gave her Interview and got her Visa and she also only had few days to leave. By recently, I mean just few months back - not too long ago :D

one day

And then ur gonna complain that I don’t take you seriously :omg:

it was a serious reply :barbie:

(rozana ka aik din, saal k 365 din, aik din to us ko jana he hai. kaal nahi to agg he sahi :cb:)

ok i have a question similar to your HHL , i recently got married and we submitted all the docs for the visa on the 22nd november . i generally want to know how long it took for your friends spouse to get the visa now under the stricter rules. everytime we have called they have said the the visa is in process. i dont know of any objections that they may have all the docs are there and everything is genuine . it has only been 7 working days . do u think we would know by now if they had any objections or if the case wud be refused ?????

Congratzz mizzrani on your wedding.... 1 of my friend got married to a girl from UK & he submitted his docs on 28th of Sep & got his passport on 4th of oct It took almost a week.. I think if everything is genuine Then it should not take that long... in these days they are not taking long time ... I hope your husband will be with you soon

good luck

^ Thank you . mashallah he got his case very quick. yeh i hope he gets his visa quick too.

^ Congratz on ur marriage.

Is one of you in Pak while the other in US? In any case, the time is different from person to person. Sometimes it can take nearly an year and sometimes about 2 years for the entire process. DO NOT call them. The Embassy in US will process your case and send you a letter (within like 3-6 weeks maybe). From there, they'll keep on guiding you as to what is needed and what is not and will keep on sending you packets. Once the case has been approved and documents are complete, they will forward the case to Islamabad at which point, they are done with their job and will have nothing to do with your case. The total period for this process can usually range from 5-7+ months to an year (from what i've observed).

Do not call Islamabad Embassy either, let them do the work. Once they send the information to the applicant (the spouse in Pakistan) and got all the information they need, they will then send the Interview date to the applicant. Again, do not call them at every other step to inquire about the status. For Islamabad Embassy, you may wait for like 2 weeks and if there is no progress, then e-mail them. They reply to e-mail like the next day which is pretty good.

This is off topic but i need to know if someone from Pak comes to the UK on a work visa and subsequantly 6 or so months down the line, they're made redundant for whom they worked for, do they have to return to Pak immediately?

anyone?