Most people still consider spousal abuse as a private family matter and avoid getting involved.
Many awareness campaigns on the issue fail because they don’t address the ground reality.
More opportunities in the job market is giving women a chance to step out of violent marriages.
I wouldn't step in any one's private marital life unless they allow or ask for it. Unnecessary interference even to help turns a mess for your own self, many a times.
Most people still consider spousal abuse as a private family matter and avoid getting involved. IT IS A PRIVATE MATTER
Many awareness campaigns on the issue fail because they don’t address the ground reality. ACHA G
More opportunities in the job market is giving women a chance to step out of violent marriages. OK
Spouse abuse is not a private matter. If I see a known (to me) woman walking around with black eye and bruised lips, I will ask her and if suspect domestic abuse, whether she allows me or not, will report to the authorities
pinkyy, you do know that the school boards get social services involved if they suspect one of their students are even witnessing abuse in their homes .... these things are not taken lightly.
Now that Mehnaz mentioned it i remember a friend told me that teachers in a friendly way do ask kids(esp in kindergarten) if their parents fight or yell at each other a lot. My kids never told me any such thing but she said her kid told the teacher how her parents always argued lol
I remember I fell on my way to the car in 5th grade and ended up wth a busted lip. When I got to school , my lip was swollen and i got sent to the nurse's office where I had to recount the story 2983283 times so theyd be sure I wasn't beign abused at home. People don't take things lightly and teachers/school staff WILL find ways to determine if they need to get protective services involved.
It is a private matter. Family/friends complicate the situation. If someone needs help go to the proper authorities.
i'm pretty sure the women that are in violent marriages are too scared to go to the proper authorities b/c of the anger that it might cause if the one that is violent finds out that it was his wife that reported him. they aren't stupid to stay in such marriages they are confused, scared to death, they tend to blame themselves for whatever caused the person to hurt them, also if she does tell the authorities other people find out and she would probably be ashamed that she allowed herself to be and stay in such a relationship, most women want their marriages to work out so they probably have the hope that the abuser will change one day, that false hope blinds her to what might happen if the abuse goes too far one day.
it's so easy to say to person that is in a violent marriage to just leave it but i'm guessing desi women that don't have financial security would rather stay in such a marriage rather than face the hard choice of divorce which will cause social and emotional pain. some would see that as being more painful than denying abuse is actually happening....
black eyes only happen in movies otherwise eyes pe kon punch kerta hai?
hmmmm I have seen black eye of one of my cousin she insisted that she had a rickshaw accident .....the shocking factor was that the accident was bad enough to give her a black eye but did not cause a single scratch to her husband
if spousal abuse cross its limits (depend upon a person, I mean up to which level she can bear) she should go to her parents and discuss with them, No even close friend No other relatives, Bass Maan Baap , in this situation they may only help and guide the right direction, and they will not advice to take emotional steps, like quickly inform to concern authorities, or any other act, they will talk to her in laws and try to find the way which can safe their daughter and her home as well.