Violence agst Women on Rise in Pakistan

A summary of Amnesty International Report
April 17,2002

Introduction
Domestic violence, which includes physical abuse, rape, acid throwing, burning and killing, is widespread and on the rise in Pakistan. The Human Rights Commission of Pakistan (HRCP) found that in 2000 a woman was raped every two hours, and that hundreds were victims of “honour” killings, domestic violence, burnings and murder. Most women remain ignorant of even their most basic rights.

Stats:
A newspaper survey in 2000 reported that almost 90% of women did not realize that they had any rights at all. According to the Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences, over 90% of married women report being kicked, slapped, beaten or sexually abused when husbands were dissatisfied by their cooking or cleaning, or when the women had ‘failed’ to bear a child or had given birth to a girl instead of a boy. Another organization stated that one woman is murdered and one woman is kidnapped in Pakistan every day.

Few women would complain under legal provisions relating to physical injury. For those who do take the step, police and the judiciary officials usually dismiss their complaints and send them back to their abusive husbands. Very poor women, women from religious minorities and women bonded labourers are particularly vulnerable to violence in the community and home.

Women Burning
Women continue to die painful deaths in so-called “stove burn” accidents in the kitchen. The HRCP estimates that less that 20% of deaths lead to arrests and most suspects are released within days.

The case of Shukria
On 22 October 2001, Sharif in village Goharpur, Sheikhupura district, Punjab province, tied his wife Shukria’s wrists and ankles with rope, poured kerosene over her and with the help of his mother and sister set her on fire. The couple had been married for ten years. As they remained childless, Sharif wanted to marry another woman but Shukria did not agree to this. Neighbours tried to rescue Shukria but she died shortly afterwards in hospital.

Acid-throwing
Acid-throwing is on the increase. Acid burns do not usually kill but result in hideous disfiguration and suffering, destruction of self-esteem, and confine women to the home. The government has done little to restrict the sale of acid or to punish those who use it to injure women.

Forced marriage of young girls continues to be reported despite a legal minimum age of 16. While slavery is illegal in Pakistan, girls and women continue to be traded to settle debts or conflicts. In Sukkur in 2000, a six-year-old girl was married to a 60-year-old man when her family was unable to repay a debt. According to newspaper reports the marriage was consummated and the little girl screamed loudly for hours after the rape.

Kidnap & Forced Marriage
Pakistani women living abroad continue to be abducted by their parents to be forcibly married to grooms in Pakistan. Usually deprived of their travel documents on arrival they find it difficult in an alien environment to obtain help to escape. Case18-year old K. from Manchester who holds British nationality, was taken in April 2001 to Azad Jammu and Kashmir by her parents who told her they were together going on a holiday. In early August she was married to a man she did not know or want; a week later her parents left for the UK taking with them her identity papers. Fearing violence in the family of her in-laws, she hid with friends and contacted a UK based lawyer who succeeded in obtaining emergency travel documents from UK authorities. The young woman returned to the UK in late August 2001.

A form of forced marriage specific to the interior of Sindh province is the **“marriage” **of girls and women to the Qur’an. This keeps the woman’s share of property in the family as she will have no children to pass it on to. Human rights organizations report that there are currently over 5000 women married to the Qur’an in Sindh.

Pakistan is both a country of origin and a transit country for the trafficking of women for domestic labour, forced marriage and prostitution. This form of slavery is organized by crime networks that span South Asia. The open sale of girls and women in markets is reported in underdeveloped areas such as parts of Balochistan.

Some women, both local and trafficked, are killed if they refuse to earn money in prostitution. Some are forced into prostitution by their husbands. Journalist Sufi Mohammad Khan from Badin, Sindh, was killed on 2 May 2001 after reporting extensively about trafficking in drugs and women in the Tharparkar area of Sindh which happened with the connivance of apathetic authorities. He reported that some 70 women have been kidnapped in Sindh and Punjab, detained by the Arbab feudal family and forced into prostitution. The journalist was bribed and threatened by members of the family.

“Honour” killings
“Honour” killings are carried out by men who assume that their wives, daughters or sisters have in some way contravened norms relating to the behaviour of women which reflect on and damage a man’s “honour”. Often the grounds for such assumptions can be very flimsy and amount to nothing more than a suspicion about a woman’s fidelity. Men are also known to have felt shamed if “their” women seek divorce or become the victims of rape.

The exact number of “honour” killings is impossible to ascertain as many go unreported. Media and human rights organizations estimate that three women are murdered each day. In 2000, the HRCP recorded over 1000 “honour” killings in Punjab alone. Prosecution of “honour” killings is lax and only a few men have been convicted.

In the higher levels of government and the judiciary, “honour” killings are recognised as a serious problem. The government of Pakistan has condemned “honour” killings as murder and a seminar in Karachi in April 2001 looked at problems of redress in “honour” crime cases. However no action has followed and “honour” killings continue to be reported daily.

Honor Killing Cases
– In December 2000, three brothers overpowered their sister-in-law, Anila, sprinkled kerosene on her clothes and set her on fire in a village near Sukkur when they suspected her of infidelity. Her father rescued her and took her to hospital where, with 85% burns, she died.
– In early 2001, Mir Afzal cut off the nose of his wife Amroz Khatoon in Karachi as he suspected her of infidelity. He then attempted to kill her but neighbours alerted by the noise interceded. Police arrested the man and his accomplices but Amroz Khatoon has received threats to her life if she pursues her complaint.
– In March 2001, a 60-year-old widow, Hidayat Khatoon, and 55-year-old Baksh Ali were killed by the widow’s son in Chandan village, district Sukkur. When the son surrendered to police, he said that he had been teased by villagers over his mother’s alleged affair and had therefore killed both.
– In July 2001, 16-year-old Shoukat Labano in Sukkur district, shot dead his mother Rahima (33) when he suspected her of an affair.

Increasingly “honour” killings involve not only the woman but several other family members. In November 2000, Mohammed Umar Magsi killed his 11-year-old daughter with an axe because he suspected her of having an affair. When his wife and younger daughter tried to intervene, he killed them as well. On 8 January 2001, Riaz Ahmed axed to death his wife, three daughters and two sons, because he suspected his wife of adultery. On 16 January 2002, Jamal threw hand grenades into his father-in-law’s house when his wife refused to return to him, killing five of her relatives and injuring eight.

The HRCP has observed that increasingly young boys are forced to attack or kill sisters who are opposed to a forced marriage. Afterwards the boys are formally pardoned by their fathers which allows them to go free.

The emergence of **“fake honour” killings **is a worrying new trend. There is a pattern of men accusing their wives of being dishonourable with wealthy men purely for financial gain. The wife is declared “kari” (black woman, one who brings shame) and is killed. The suspected man is made to pay off the husband and he is “pardoned”.

In a few cases, women have begun to resist violence in the name of “honour”. A young woman escaped death when she fought her husband. The local landlord held a jirga (tribal council) which established her innocence and asked the husband to apologise and take her back.

Women who marry men of their own choice are often seen to damage their family’s “honour”; they are frequently detained by their parents, forcibly married to someone else, threatened, humiliated, assaulted or killed. If a couple marry in court against the will of their parents, and the parents challenge the union, they can be charged with “illicit” sexual relations under the Zina Ordinance (which prohibits sex outside marriage). Newly-weds are advised to have their marriage confirmed by a magistrate and seek shelter with friends for some time. In many cases families accept the fact of marriage but sometimes their sense of shame is not appeased. Robina and Khushi Mohammad were killed in May 2000 by Robina’s uncle and two brothers over two years after their wedding – they had been in hiding but had finally returned to the husband’s home.

Custodial violence
Physical abuse of women in custody continues to be rife in Pakistan. Despite promises of police reform, police continue to use torture to intimidate, harass and humiliate detainees to extract money or information. Women are subjected to gender-specific abuses including sexual harassment, public undressing and parading, and rape. Conditions of detention for women are also of grave concern.

State inaction
In April 2000, President Musharraf made a range of commitments to protect women’s rights. Since then, there have been many positive signals and pronouncements but little effective change.

The authorities are often aware of a series of abuses and do not intervene. Some officials prevent women from accessing the criminal justice system and seeking redress.

Some court judgments over the past year-and-a-half have adequately protected women’s rights while others have treated women as a man’s property. This inconsistency indicates that the law is not being equally applied and the gender bias of individual judges is determining whether a woman is protected or not.

Police confronted with complaints of domestic violence are known to refuse to register the complaint, to humiliate the victim or to have advised the battered woman to return home. Even the staff of state women’s shelters frequently advise women to accept reconciliation and return home.

Conviction rates for rape are very low. Police rarely respond adequately as they side with local people with influence who are involved in the crime. Women frequently don’t seek redress out of shame but also because of the possibility of being accused of Zina if they cannot establish absence of consent.

Recommendations
Amnesty International’s report makes recommendations which are well within the powers of the Government of Pakistan to implement and do not require a huge investment of resources. They do require political will and the determination that violence against women is unacceptable and cannot be allowed to continue.

However, underlying the abuses suffered by women is a discrimination perpetuated by society as a whole. In this regard, everyone has a role to play - government, political parties, religious groups, all elements of civil society and individuals. Everyone has a responsibility to commit themselves to the equality of all human beings, irrespective of gender.

The recommendations include:
– The government should clearly and publicly condemn all acts of violence against women. It should develop policies and disseminate materials to promote women’s safety in the home and community and in detention.

– The government should prohibit all acts of violence against women and establish legal protection. It should review existing laws, including the Zina law and the qisas and diyat law.

– Investigate all allegations of violence against women and prosecute and punish those found to be responsible.

For a copy of the report please visit:

[This message has been edited by Muni (edited April 17, 2002).]

I feel ashamed and

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

Live & Let Live

muni,

woman rape is much much higher in first world and other third world countries than pakistan.

there is no society in the world where there is no murder, no violance, no criminals.
if a person burns a woman, or a woman burns a man he/she is needed to lawenforcement agencies and he/she is considered a criminal.

pakistani woman is educated and has abilities to lead a political party, to rule the country, organize and hold business, fight the enemies in the battle and go in a foreign country as ambassador of Pakistan. at this time Pakistan's ambassador to U.S is a woman(Mrs. Maleeha Lodhi).

The above article is a condensed version of the press release by Amnesty International. I have provided statistics from a credible source, [ulr=http://www.amnesty.org]Amnesty International, a globally recognized human rights organization. In no way was this meant to belittle your country or your heritage. As a human rights advocate my point in this thread is to inform people of the reality since most of us live very sheltered lives away from such horrors.

This thread in no way insinuates this.

Understood. but what’s your point?

Yes, there are exceptions to the trend found in pakistan. Once again I urge you to read the post without dismissing it since it is not intended to defame your country nor your heritage.

The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance but the illusion of knowledge

The amount of crimes done against women in Pakistan is a lot more than what u see on the surface. Much of it is hidden away in shame.

Cool down said,
woman rape is much much higher in first world and other third world countries than pakistan.

Munni replied,
The above article is a condensed version of the press release by Amnesty International. I have provided statistics from a credible source, [ulr=http://www.amnesty.org]Amnesty International, a globally recognized human rights organization. In no way was this meant to belittle your country or your heritage. As a human rights advocate my point in this thread is to inform people of the reality since most of us live very sheltered lives away from such horrors.

[This message has been edited by cool down (edited April 20, 2002).]

I think one of the reason that these crimes Occur is because Parents themselves teach their little girl since puberty that she has to go to her hubby;s house .. aur wahan use apne ghar ki izzat rakhna hai.. an men and saas an nanden end up doin things that the girl cant talk abotu with any1 because all her life she has been taught to watch out for her abu an amis izzat.. Parents especially of white collar an rural areas need to realoze that beti ka ghar is not the last placee... they should raise her sayin tumhe apne ghar jana hai.. yeh paraya ghar hai... murrawat main buhat kuch ho jata hai.. aur sab ankehn band ker lete hain

Rabogulabo,
we should realize this. our society has no space for criminals.

munni,
the smart, strong, and powerful woman of the United States was raped 156 times greater than pakistani woman. http://www.sexualassault.gatech.edu/facts.htm

munni you said "Violence agst Women on Rise in Pakistan " , now my question is this, is voilence agst women is declining in other parts of the world???

we should.. but do we/?????

Looks like you are unable to follow the logic of this thread. As I have previously stated that this was the media press release by Amnesty International on their lengthy report. Therefore the report will only contain statistics of which the report was conducted on, Pakistan. As I was checking Amnesty’s website the day the report was released, I found the report in accord with the extensive research that I have conducted on the violence of women in that region. Prior to my interest in this subject four years ago, I did not know much about the deplorable conditions that South Asian women are subjagated to. I figured that since most of the people who visit this site are Pakistanis or of Pakistani descent, they would like to keep abreast of current trends in their “homeland” therefore I posted this article. I also thought that the humanistic shread found in every human would want to know what conditions these women suffer so that you each may be more aware and take some action to reduce such heinous atrocities in this world. But this seems to have missed you.

As a human rights advocate, I believe that much of the suffering of oppressed peoples would be eradicated if the general public was more aware of what is going on and took part in rooting out this dispicable acts. No, it is not as a human rights advocate that I provided only stats from Pakistan in this thread, it is as an educated, well informed, and logical person who sticks to the issue at hand.

This is out of the scope of this thread, shall we stick to the topic?

Although this is outside the scope of this thread, I would like to point out that you quote only one source which uses out dated statistics. Please check out the most recent stats. Some very useful ones are provided by the Department of Justice.

Correction, Amnesty International said that Violence against Women is on the rise in Pakistan. I have done my research on violence against women in the United States and I’ve found that violence has infact been declining since 1995 according to the information found on DOJ website which cited studies conducted by Johns Hopkins. This is something you probably are unaware of since your source has listed older statistics.

Get a grip cool down and abide by your name and calm down a bit. Please step back a bit and look at your responses. Why would I start talking about statistics of America or any other country?

Lets stick to the topic. Let me reiterate, that the purpose of this thread is to increase awarness not to belittle your country nor to offend you.

Originally posted by cool down:
*the smart, strong, and powerful woman of the United States was raped 156 times greater than pakistani woman.

I would also like to point out to you that the American society recognizes domestic violence as wrong and has encouraged women to report. In the developing world which includes Pakistan, men & women feel that it is a man's right if not his duty to physically chastise or correct his wife or female relative. As Rabogulabo has stated, I'm sure you are well aware that for the sake of family "izzat" much of the domestic violence is not reported and denied if asked. Thus statistics will reflect lower numbers in countries such as Pakistan vs. countries like United States. Allahu alim.

*now my question is this, is voilence agst women is declining in other parts of the world??? *

Now, I will request that you stick to the topic. If you are very much interested in discussing Trends of violence against women around the globe, I suggesst that you start a thread which includes the whole gamut. You can discuss to your heart's content on the stats of United States, Pakistan, and other counties.

I was just sharing this story with my dad and he said that in his household, the maasis (a sindhi family) had a similar problem. the fishwala would come to my grandfather's house and he got his eyes set on the massi's daughter who was bout 14. He would give the mother free fish and in exchange she gave him her daughter thinking that she'll continue to get fish. The girl was in distress and she wished not to marry the old man (he was in his 40's or 50's) and despite the pressure my grandparents were putting on her, she still married her daughter off to him. Last we heard of the girl, she had 2 kids before the age of 20. We haven't heard from her since.

peyari c gudiya pehli baat to yah kay mujhey tum par yakeen hi nahi kay tum pakistan say ho lekin phir bhi ager tum kahani bana kar suna rahi ho to tumhein itni akal zaroor honi chahiye buray loag har jaga hotay hein. aur pakistan kay bohet say cities ko "most non violent cities of the world" kaha jata hai.

munni,
I will reply soon to your quotes.

[This message has been edited by cool down (edited April 23, 2002).]

PCG-

That is so horrific! Sadly parents put their daughters in those situations where they know that their daughters will become victims of abuse. It is our society's inability to recognize that such behaviour is wrong & not "part of life", but it seems that it is even accepted in educated and well off families ( I have personally seen these cases).

Cool down-

If you cannot post anything pertinent to this thread, there is no need for you to post.

If things don't fit your point of view doesn't mean that those things are incorrect. The truth doesn't change. Just because PCG told us about a forced marriage case in her family doesn't invalidate her heridity, her/parents' Pakistani origins, nor the credibility of her story. Why would she be fabricating this story, she has no gains from such an action.

Important note: Judges can take a number of factors into account when deciding on an appropriate punishment. For instance, judges may consider to look the history of the case, what punishment was given to the person who committed the crime before, defendant’s past criminal record. It doesn’t mean that judge is not dealing with the present situation. I am giving some domestic violence statistics to see does it happen in other areas and is it declining in other parts of the world? once again I fully understand the subject and topic of this thread.
http://www.sigi.org/Resource/stats.htm
**Statistics]/b]
Women and Violence
-Everyday, 6000 girls are genitally mutilated - more than 200 000 per year (2000).

-Every year in India, 5000 brides are murdered or commit suicide because their marriage dowries are considered inadequate. (2000)

-In the US, one in five women will be victims of rape in their lifetime. A woman is raped every 3 minutes. 55 percent of American women report having experienced rape and/or physical assault in their life-time.
-In US, 10 women are killed by their batterers each day (1998).

-In Russia, half of all murder victims are women killed by their male partners. (1995)
Around the world, at least one in every three women has been beaten, coerced into sex, or abused in some other ways.
http://www.unfpa.org/swp/2000/english/ch03.html
In the United States, a woman is battered, usually by her intimate partner, every 15 seconds. Among 613 abused women in Japan, for instance, close to 60 per cent had suffered from physical, psychological and sexual abuse at the hands of their partners; only 8 per cent had experienced physical abuse alone. domestic violence survey in Canada in , researchers discovered that a full one third of all women who had been subjected to domestic violence had feared for their lives at some point in the relationship.In India sexual exploitation, rape, and dowry-related deaths and tortures are common.

Dowry Deaths: In India, it is estimated that more than 5,000 women are killed each year because their in-laws consider their dowries inadequate. A tiny percentage of their murderers are brought to justice. Female Infanticide: Infanticide has been practiced as a brutal method of family planning in societies where boy children are still valued, economically and socially, above girls. Anecdotal evidence suggests that outright infanticide, usually of newborn girls, takes place in some communities in Asia. Medical testing for sex selection, though officially outlawed, has become a booming business in China, India and the Republic of Korea. [unicef]
 [http://www.undp.org/unifem/campaign/violence/unkit/dawfacts.htm](http://www.undp.org/unifem/campaign/violence/unkit/dawfacts.htm) 
**Domestic Violence**
In 1985, in 59% of 1,500 Austrian divorce cases, domestic violence was cited as a cause in marital breakdown.2

A 1987 study of a hospital in Colombia revealed that 20% of the patients were victims of marital violence, with women being the victims in 94% of the cases.1

In a 1997 sample survey of 1,500 Swiss women aged 20 to 60 in a relationship, 20% reported being physically abused.3

In Canada, it has been found that sons of batterers are 1,000% more likely to beat their own wives.4

**Rape and sexual abuse**
Jakarta city police recorded 2,300 cases of sexual violence against women in 1991, 3,200 cases in 1993, and 3,000 in the first half of 1994.6

In statistics and data from six countries (Chile, Malaysia, Mexico, Panama, Peru, USA), in more than 60% of all sexual cases, the victim knows the perpetrator.5

In the Republic of Korea, fewer than 2% of women rape victims ever contacted the police.5

In parts of Papua New Guinea, 67% of women are victims of violence.1 
In Thailand, researchers found that one in 10 victims of rape had contracted an STD because of the attack.4 
A survey of 2,270 adult women in Seoul found that approximately 22% of them had been the victim of either attempted rape or rape.6 
Data on violence against Vietnamese refugees indicates that 39% of women are abducted and/or raped while at sea.7 
**Traditional practices**
One 1990 study of amniocentesis in a large Bombay hospital found that of aborted fetuses, 95.5% were female
In 1992, some 17,000 girls in Nepal were offered to the temple as devadasis and then forced into prostitution.6
In India, Fourteen wives are murdered by their husbands' families every day
The number of girls and women who have been subjected to female genital mutilation is at more than 130 million individuals worldwide, and a further 2 million girls are at risk of this practice.4
Infibulation is almost universally practised in Djibouti. NGOs estimate that it ranges from 90% to 98% of the female population.
On average, in India, 200 women are murdered every year because they are believed to be witches. Most of the victims are widows who own land, or women with unwanted pregnancies. [http://www.ffq.qc.ca/marche2000/en/cahier/sexisme.html](http://www.ffq.qc.ca/marche2000/en/cahier/sexisme.html)  [http://www.womensenews.org/article.cfm/dyn/aid/740/context/archive](http://www.womensenews.org/article.cfm/dyn/aid/740/context/archive)  [http://www.whiteribbon.co.za/wmenu_statistics.html](http://www.whiteribbon.co.za/wmenu_statistics.html) 
WIFE ASSAULT
- In Norway, one out of four women are victims of physical or sexual violence committed by a male partner.
- Every year, over 4 million women in the United States are victims of physical violence committed by a husband, lover or acquaintance.
- Every year in Russia, 14,000 women are killed by their husband or other male family member.
-about one-third of the women murdered in Japan each year are killed by their husbands.
-"1 in every 4 South African women or 25% of women in RSA are assaulted by their boyfriend or husband every week".
- one out of two women every year are killed by her partner in member states of European union. (Belgium, Germany, Greece, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Finland)
Some 20-50% of women in the world are, to varying degrees, victims of wife assault.

Munni: The above article is a condensed version of the press release by Amnesty International. I have provided statistics from a credible source, [ulr=http://www.amnesty.org]Amnesty International, a globally recognized human rights organization. In no way was this meant to belittle your country or your heritage. As a human rights advocate my point in this thread is to inform people of the reality since most of us live very sheltered lives away from such horrors.

Cool down: You didn’t just copied and pasted from the amnesty international, instead you highlighted some existed practices and blamed the whole nation. After reading this a person may become stereotyped that all Pakistanis do this. My purpose was to inform others that Pakistanis are civilized and responsible people. there are criminals and deviants in all societies of the world, so in pakistan.

Munni: Understood. but what’s your point?

Cool down: My point is “ Violence against wome cuts across social and economic situations and is deeply embedded in cultures around the world”.

.Munni: Once again I urge you to read the post without dismissing it.

cool down: carefully, I read every word that is posted by you.

Munni: I would like to point out that you quote only one source which uses out dated statistics. Please check out the most recent stats. Some very useful ones are provided by the Department of Justice.

Cool down: http://endabuse.org/newsdesk/facts
check out this link for the domestic violence facts in Unites States. (Read the date of today in blue background at the top of the page.) are you satistfied now?

Munni: I would also like to point out to you that the American society recognizes domestic violence as wrong and has encouraged women to report.

Cool down: it is also recognized as wrong practice in Pakistan. In our society domestic violence is considered “zillat” not “izzat”.

Cool down

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

yes, I copied the article and I highlighted, of course b/c those are the main point which should be taken away from a quick glance. My communication classes and PR seminars have taught me the points of effective communication and I used what I’ve learned from experience.

You read but either u do not comprehend or you are terrible at following directions. Sorry, I have no interest in reading the first article u posted and will not respond to it since I don’t believe that it pertains to the rise of violence in Pakistan.

I no longer care what anyone posts in this thread. *You can lead a horse to water but can't make it drink. *

If you don't get it, u just don't get it.

*The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance but the illusion of knowledge *

Munni: My communication classes and PR seminars have taught me the points of effective communication and I used what I've learned from experience.

Cool down: effective communication or propaganda?? Propagandist attempts to convince the audience that the propagandist's positions reflect the common sense of the people. It is designed to win the confidence of the audience by communicating in the common manner and style of the audience.

munni: Sorry, I have no interest in reading the first article u posted and will not respond to it

cool down: Hey munni you was calling yourself human rights advocate. Why a human rights advocate will not be interested to reading the facts??

Munni: since I don't believe that it pertains to the rise of violence in Pakistan.

Cool down: when sociologists study a case, they compare the data to other states, countries, regions, and continents. Sometimes they study the same case in other parts of the world to reach on conclusion. Does it mean the sociologists are not dealing with the subject???

[This message has been edited by cool down (edited May 01, 2002).]

OH MY GOD.

This is like the 2nd person who's called me a non-pakistani -- the first thought I was Indian.

I am not saying that we Pakistanis are not civilized people. But to believe that Pakistan has no social problems just proves you're ignorant and not willing to face the facts. And the fact IS, that despite all the Islamic rules protecting women, the lack of knowledgeo of God-given rights and the low economic status of many families compels them to do such things with their daughters.

This girl was not part of our family, she was a sindhi maasi that would clean our house. Naturally, a few decades ago and even now, it was not uncommon to be involved in the lives of the house servants or kaam waalian, becuz they are human too and their right to education and good life has been honored by many families, including mine.

I mean, have u been to Pakistan recently? Dont you see the way the street guys look at females? Even if she's clad in a burqa...And you say that Pakistani society is angelic?

I am one hundred percent pure Pakistani -- would I be advocating talented entertainers to join Pakistan's film industry and improve the state of the industry if I was not Pakistani??

If you wish not to accept that women's lib is a major issue in Pakistan right now and that most injustices are swept under the rug, then that is your call.

Frankly, I perfer to be honest with myself and others.