Victorian Style Jewelry

Re: Victorian Style Jewelry

Hey Gina - Sounds like an awesome idea :) I haven't seen anything similar in design to this in Pakistan like ever!

I've been in touch with a couple of private jewellers in Lahore who had some interesting pieces and they were mostly antique pieces from their individual collections, but this really stands out...

when you say all rubies, would the set remain the same like in the pic with the ruby droplets hanging at the end? If you were to consider the ruby and emerald combo, would you replace alternate ruby droplets with emeralds?

Mil-to-be has been convincing me to wear a red/maroon and she's enticing me with this set lol. I've seen it in person as well it has a really pretty jhoomar,tikka, bazuband, earrings, bracelet and necklace, anklets. I want to replace the emeralds with rubies and keep it all rubies since I already have an emerald one and a jade and diamond one.

^ can i come as well! i'd like to look at something for my sil to be too... pretty pleeeaaassee? :)

i'd do one color- the necklace has pearls in it too and all that kundan- i think its a cleaner finish with just the rubies or just the emeralds.
g- if you do rubies, you can also wear a contrast color with it, no? like a green outfit or a tea pink outfit, or gold perhaps, even ivory since the pearls are ivory. IMO it would make the set stand out more than if you were all in red and wearing rubies- then its just one more red piece in your ensemble.

OMG, that pearl set is phenomenal!!! wow.

[quote=“Gina, post:16, topic:187615”]

Are there emeralds with this set?

Frankly speaking, I love this set as is.

^ Ofcourse SGC! hugs I know and i'm having the hardest time deciding.. if I chose the pearl set for the valima isn't it too close to the ruby one? Inshallah I will give them my final picks on sunday and i'm done!

I completely agree with SGC - A contrasting outfit with the set would make it more prominent. Bunto had suggested the same thing to us...

True its huge but looks amazingly beautiful once its on. Inshaallah I will be wearing it for Eid and I can't wait. Will post pics!!

yay! i’m super excited! i’ll be in dxb/khi from the 5th of dec to the 6th of jan.

and no, lady, the ruby set’s design is different from the pearl set’s… they do look like two completely different pieces even if the elements are similar.
i would do a very pale outfit with the pearl set. something really elegant and royal, old skool stylee. maybe a farshi gharara? or even something contemporary like karma to create the contrast between the two styles.

for your shaadi, to compromise, why don’t you do gold and red for your wedding? like a gold shirt with gold on gold kaam with red piping and a red gharara/lehenga, also with gold kaam (but dull gold/antique gold). keep the dupatta gold as well but with a thick red border perhaps. that way, you get the gold/not red you want, and your mil gets the red she wants. i just realised i’m thinking pretty much of this outfit haha http://www.omarandmahwish.com/details.php?image_id=136 but with a more worked bottom and dupatta.
or you can always match your red to the red of the rubies in the set.

^ And u're an absolute doll! I'm going to Karachi in a few days Inshallah..lets see if Umar Sayeed will help me out =)

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/58673/wd.jpg

^ Ohh I likes this one, but without the pearls on the top

Bet it will look gorgeous on you!

Midnite, I tried that set on and the "pearls in top" actually looked the prettiest!

Some fav’s =)

Gina the 2 large sets are absolutely beautiful! I'm just wondering what the earrings/tikka/jhoomar look like!

ok this is a slightly offt opic and silly Q, but, in ur gys' honest opinions, will sets sell very much? i want to sell some of my jewelery but...eh idk.

are they mostly gold or gems?

artificial

i don't anticipate you getting much back from those, hon, but i could be wrong. best to talk to a jeweller. you might actually get more money from a gora jewellery shop than a desi one, im thinking.

they didnt' cost that much to begin with :@: just wanna unload plus get a lil bit xtra cash. (baby needs a haircut :@: )

lol! then totally go for it! have you tried eBay?