Verses on jihad in syllabus: KP to rectify ‘mistake

Verses on jihad in syllabus: KP to rectify ‘mistake’Sadia Qasim Shah

–Photo by Fayyaz Ahmed.

Updated 2013-08-17 13:32:32

• Email*](javascript:void(0)) Receiver Email Sender Name Your Email Cancel

**0 Comment(s) *
** Print *

***PESHAWAR: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa elementary and secondary education minister Atif Khan on Friday said his government would rectify the mistake of removing Quranic verses on jihad from the curriculum.
He was speaking during a meeting at the Textbook Board of Peshawar offices, where Zakat and Usher minister Habibur Rehman and local government minister Inayatullah Khan from Jamaat-i-Islami, officials of the provincial elementary and secondary education department and educationists were in attendance. PTI is in alliance with Jamaat-i-Islami in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government.
JI has been very vocal in its opposition to changes to the curriculum.
After becoming partner in the PTI government, it demanded that PTI consult it before making changes to the curriculum.
According to a news release issued by the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf Media Cell, the participants were briefed on ‘lacunas and mistakes’ in the curriculum.
Mr Atif Khan, who belongs to Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, said Islamic teachings would be the basis of his government’s steps regarding curriculum.
He said his government would accept no bar on religious education and would not tolerate any external interference.
The minister said no foreign NGO would be allowed to interfere in matters relating to curriculum.
He said the mistakes in the curriculum, including mention of Kashmir as an undisputed area and eating with the left hand, and removal of Quranic verses on jihad, would be rectified.
Mr Atif also talked about long and short-term steps for reforming the education system.
According to the news release, the JI ministers appreciated the PTI government’s steps in the education sector and expressed satisfaction about them.
However, an educationist, who has worked on curriculum in the province, said previously, changes were made to the curriculum to indirectly promote peace since violence had badly affected children in the region.
He said instead of Arabs, heroes and celebrities of the land and people like Rehman Baba, Khushaal Baba and others had been included in the textbooks.
The educationist said the process of changing curriculum, which began in 2006 at the federal level, trickled down to the provincial level after the devolution of education ministry under 18th Amendment to the Constitution.
He said textbooks were printed in the province in the post-devolution regime.
“Reversing these changes will do away with all the effort meant to bring more topics of peace and local heroes to textbooks,” he said.

Err I thought the Kashmir issue is a disputed issue in the UN, so why was ANP adamant to say it isn’t? ANP showing its true afghan colors? Also, what is wrong with teaching jihad if you teach it in the whole context of its meaning as “struggle” which just isn’t with a sword. It is part of Quran so you really can’t away from it in “religious education” concerning islam.

Re: Verses on jihad in syllabus: KP to rectify ‘mistake

](https://twitter.com/nidaFsameer)And this is how it is taught in syllabus without its context … Just imagine its affect on tender minds..no wonder pakistan has become wahshee

https://twitter.com/nidaFsameer/status/368696116604182528/photo/1

Re: editing

Exactly. Why the verses related to Jihad have been target. Just because some people maligned name of Jihad for their own agendas? Why should not our children know about the struggle of the Prophet (Jihaad) and basic themes (which include forgiveness and reactionary nature of war)?

not fair.... you keep including everything under the label of jihad....sure kids should know those asepcts of Prophet life but those are not exactly jihad.

Can anyone translate into English?

^^

9. Surah At-Taubah (The Repentance)**

1. **Freedom from (all) obligations (is declared) from Allah and His Messenger (

) to those of the *Mushrikun *(polytheists, pagans, idolaters, disbelievers in the Oneness of Allah), with whom you made a treaty.

1. **So travel freely (O *Mushrikun - *see V.2:105) for four months (as you will) throughout the land, but know that you cannot escape (from the Punishment of) Allah, and Allah will disgrace the disbelievers.

2. **And a declaration from Allah and His Messenger to mankind on the greatest day (the 10th of Dhul-Hijjah - the 12th month of Islamic calendar) that Allah is free from (all) obligations to the *Mushrikun *(see V.2:105) and so is His Messenger. So if you (Mushrikun) repent, it is better for you, but if you turn away, then know that you cannot escape (from the Punishment of) Allah. And give tidings (O Muhammad

) of a painful torment to those who disbelieve.

1. **Except those of the *Mushrikun *with whom you have a treaty, and who have not subsequently failed you in aught, nor have supported anyone against you. So fulfill their treaty to them to the end of their term. Surely Allah loves *Al- Mattaqun *(the pious - see V.2:2).

2. Then when the Sacred Months (the Ist, 7th, 11th, and 12th months of the Islamic calendar) have passed, then kill the Mushrikun (see V.2:105) wherever you find them, and capture them and besiege them, and prepare for them each and every ambush. But if they repent and perform As-Salat (Iqamat-as-Salat), and give Zakat, then leave their way free. Verily, Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.**

3. **And if anyone of the *Mushrikun *(polytheists, idolaters, pagans, disbelievers in the Oneness of Allah) seeks your protection then grant him protection, so that he may hear the Word of Allah (the Qur’an), and then escort him to where he can be secure, that is because they are men who know not.

btw , hm ne bhi matriculation m puri Surah Tauba with translation prh thi .... it was included in syllabus at that time .... dont know about the present syllabus

what do you mean by including everything under the label of Jihad. Its Sura e Toba (which has a background). Our children are taught about the forgiveness by the Prophet at he time of conquest of Makka in earlier classes. With that backgroung, I don't see its a big issue, if Sura e Toba is included in our syllabus.

There is a context with those verses. Is that historical context being taught? You can easily see why kids would think it's ok to join 'jihadi" border movements if the Quran is taught to them like this, in piecemeal and without historical context.

fine but i just dont understand why our young kids or children need to be taught these verses even in a contextual manner? we always use context as an excuse....so let me give the context.

the context of these verses was in relation to makkah's non believers who backed out on their pact with Prophet and muslims. The series of events that have been discussed in this Surah took place after the Peace Treaty of Hudaibiyah.

now let me ask you this...are you ok teaching your kids **even with context:

"Then when the Sacred Months (the Ist, 7th, 11th, and 12th months of the Islamic calendar) have passed, then kill the Mushrikun (see V.2:105) wherever you find them, and capture them and besiege them, and prepare for them each and every ambush. But if they repent and perform As-Salat (Iqamat-as-Salat), and give Zakat, then leave their way free. Verily, Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful"**

the problem is that in today's global world, travel has become easy and people move from one country to another country all the time ... and therefore people of different cultures, faiths and colors live together almost in every big city... if our generations will read such messages at an early age, how do you expect them to react to globalization, respect for different religions and faiths in a favorable manner? who will teach kids the whole historical background.....they will apply them in perpetual manner.

why cant we teach them more conciliatory verses and suras?

you are missing reactionary part in the context. Breaking of promising, plotting wars and even after all that they were forgiven by the Prophet and was given time to re-consider their position, whether they still want to create havoc like they created in past or chose to submit. It very much relevant in today's world.

Globalization is an excuse in itself. In the name of same globalization developed countries attack undeveloped countries to literally make them thousand years backward.

muqawee bhai jan...i am not ignoring those points....i am saying that why do we need to occupy kids (less than 15 years old) with these topics even in a contextual context? these are formative years for children....and who will guarantee that teachers will provide enough tafseer to kids? and even with tafseer, the final underlying message is a tough one for kids....why cant we focus more on conciliatory suras and verses?

and globalization is the biggest reality...i cannot believe that you are denying that. what western powers do on the name of globalization is a different topic but today in every city, millions of people of different cultures, faiths and colors live together... now come on...

I don't think that message of Quran is irrelevant and against harmony between different cultures. simple as that. As far as guarantee is concerned, nothing is guaranteed for any ideology when people (teachers) are adamant to give a negative message.

we should show our kids this video in the class rooms in which sushmitaa sin is pronouncing sura asar perfectly…can you imagine how positive kids will feel towards other religions? i thought it was so beautiful when she narrated sura asar…

that is the message we need to give to our kids…so that the country in which we live can become more tolerant. jazak allah.

Recitation of Sur-e-Ikhlas by Rehman Malik v/s Recitation of Sur-e-Asr by Sushmita Sen

and la howla walla quwata illal billah on rehman malik! deep sigh

where did i say that quaran is against harmony? but Quran is a very loaded book with deep meanings, cues and tafseers and many from historical context....so isnt this our responsilibity to teach our kids between age 5 and 15 those quranic verses which promote harmony, love, respect for other religions in a direct manner? teaching them **"Then when the Sacred Months (the Ist, 7th, 11th, and 12th months of the Islamic calendar) have passed, then kill the Mushrikun (see V.2:105) wherever you find them, and capture them and besiege them, and prepare for them each and every ambush" **is a bit tough one for young kids no matter how you look at it...

Not tough for 15 years old. 15-17 years old people used to conquer world. Don't underestimate today's generation and their thinking capabilities.

ok brother....we have made our respective points in detail..so no point to elaborate more. obviously we want the best for our kids but our approach is different.

I think it's outrageous to think that teaching these verses without appropriate context and proper training is ok, and it's ludicrous and pretty much fantasy thinking to believe that in villages across the Afghan border that are plagued by war, that these verses are even being taught responsibly, in context.

One takes a lot of time to learn the meaning of Quran, people have to pull their kids out of regular schools just so they can focus on this stuff, and people take years and years to properly learn and understand these verses.

You take a 15 year old who is used to seeing gunned men in his neighborhood sometimes Taliban, sometimes Pakistani Army, fighting one another, and hear rumors about how America is behind all this, and people in America want your people to stop having babies, and get sterile and egging your family on to not get polio vaccinations, and you see your sister not able to go to school and hear sermons at your own school about how women need to stay at home, then these verses take on a different meaning.

I can easily see how a kid would take that to mean literally what it means - that when this month rolls around, the kid thinks they should pick up a gun and join the jihadis, and plan terrorist attacks.

good job JI and PTI, there is no need of excluding any part of Quran/Islam from anywhere. just because someone doesn't like it you don't need to alter your deen and feel bad about your belief.
just keep everything in context, if other provinces had altered books because "enlightened" ones and their masters didn't like it, they should follow KP govt.