Veer-Zara (merged)

*Originally posted by Destinee: *
I'm not waiting to watch it. Same old stupid story. I just read the story and it sounds a lot like Gadar. If I ever decide to watch it, that will be because of SRK.

Gadar was anti-Pak from what I've heard and one guy shot down like a 100 Pak soldiers (or something along those lines). This is apparently the opposite of that. SRK playing a 50 yr old man - I hope it is worth watching.

High hopes for Bollywood musical

By Glenn Lovell

Mercury News

http://www.mercurynews.com/mld/mercurynews/living/10172493.htm?1c
And you thought Romeo and Juliet had issues.

The star-crossed lovers in the new Bollywood sensation ``Veer-Zaara’’ – starring Shahrukh Khan and Preity Zinta – have almost 60 years of cultural animus tugging at them. He’s an Indian Hindu pilot; she’s a Pakistani Muslim stranded on the wrong side of the border.

But they’re determined that love will, once again, find a way.

And American exhibitors – including Shiraz Jivani of the Naz 8 theater in Fremont – are determined that this epic, 3 1/2-hour production will break all existing box-office records for a masala musical in this country.

Of course, it helps that ticket prices at the Naz and other theaters specializing in South Asian films have been temporarily hiked for this film – from $8 to $10 at the Naz.

``We have it, and we’re going to be playing it around the clock, 24 hours a day,‘’ Jivani shouted over the din of a Thursday evening crowd, estimated at more than 1,000 by the owner.

``It’s a certain blockbuster, a guaranteed big deal,‘’ said Jivani, who also runs multiplexes in Fresno, Sacramento and San Leandro.

The Naz chain’s projected six-week take: $1.2 million.

The Bay Area is one of the three biggest metropolitan areas for South Asian cinema, after New York and Los Angeles,'' said Gitesh Pandya, the New York-based producer of American Desi’’ and media consultant for Bollywood distributors. ``And `Veer-Zaara’ is the biggest Bollywood film of the year released on the biggest weekend of the year.‘’

That ``Veer-Zaara’’ (named for the lovers) opened on Diwali, the Indian New Year, will definitely boost ticket sales. But this, and inflated ticket prices, are only two contributing factors.

Others:

• The Mumbai-made movie is in more theaters (88) throughout the United States and Canada than any previous Bollywood release. (The previous record holder, ``Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham,‘’ opened in 73 theaters in 2001.)

• It stars Indian heartthrob Khan – who, to quote Pandya’s Pakistani-Canadian wife, Rohi Mirza, is ``bigger than Tom Cruise in India and Pakistan.‘’

• Made for more than $7 million, Veer-Zaara'' boasts production values that far surpass your average masala, which mixes song, dance and melodrama. It’s an A-list film, definitely top-of-the-line for Bollywood,‘’ said Pandya.

• The never-before-heard songs, which have already topped the charts in India, are by the legendary Madan Mohan, who, even after his death, is as big a deal as Ray Charles is here.

• And, most significantly, the film pushes the theme of Indian-Pakistani brotherhood at a time when border disputes threaten to escalate into all-out war.

This is a subject the Pandyas know only too well.

I grew up on Bollywood films,'' said Rohi Mirza. And they always depicted Pakistanis in a negative light, always as the villain. This movie could inspire both sides to overcome their animosity.‘’

Theater owner Jivani put it more bluntly. ``This is the only movie that is going to bring Indians and Pakistanis together as brothers,‘’ he said.

`Veer-Zaara’Rated No MPAA rating

Cast Shahrukh Khan, Preity Zinta, Rani Mukherjee

Director Yash Chopra

Running time 3 hours, 16 minutes

In Hindi with English subtitles

Pakistanis no longer Bollywood baddies

Sun 14 November, 2004 06:23

By Mike Collett-White

http://www.reuters.co.uk/newsPackageArticle.jhtml?type=entertainmentNews&storyID=620728&section=news

BOMBAY (Reuters) - Pakistanis, once portrayed in Indian movies as extremists and terrorist sponsors, are morphing into Bollywood heroes.

Art is imitating life as the huge Indian film industry taps into a peace process between South Asia’s old rivals, spawning co-productions, stars crossing borders and movie pitches that would have been unthinkable just three years ago.

Actors, producers and directors believe Bollywood, followed religiously by Pakistanis as well as Indians, has the power to help bring the divided countries closer together.

“The thing that prevents Pakistanis going totally anti-Indian is the films,” said leading Bollywood director Mahesh Bhatt, who wants to make two films in Pakistan set around the time of the partition of British India in 1947.

But first up is “Veer-Zaara”, a romance by another top Bombay director, Yash Chopra, that has just been released.

The film, shot in India and starring major Bollywood stars, follows a couple who bridge the India-Pakistan divide.

While Chopra seeks to play down the politics of his first feature film in seven years, he concedes that a backdrop of tension between countries that have fought three wars was key to its appeal.

“If Pakistan had not been there it may not have been so dramatic. The background has created the drama,” he told Reuters in a recent interview in Bombay offices crammed with Indian film awards.

“In my film, Pakistanis are positive characters. Relations between the people have never been bad, but those between politicians, governments and bureaucrats have been.”

Those relations have begun to improve over the past year, as India and Pakistan embarked on a glacial peace process that has seen transport links reopened and the two cricket-mad nations battling it out on the pitch.

But the central issue of Kashmir, which is disputed by the nuclear neighbours, has yet to be resolved.

India accuses Pakistan of supporting separatists in India’s part of Kashmir, the country’s only Muslim majority state. Pakistan calls the Kashmir rebellion a legitimate freedom struggle and accuses India of human rights abuses in the region.

AMBITIOUS PLANS FACE HURDLES

Chopra wanted to film part of his romance in Pakistan, but bureaucratic red tape got in the way.

“We wanted to shoot some parts of it in Pakistan, but we couldn’t get permission,” he said of the $5-million picture. “These things are so difficult, there are so many hassles, obstacles and restrictions.”

Bhatt’s plans are more ambitious, but face the formidable hurdles of Pakistani officialdom and a small film industry worried about being swamped by Bollywood.

The veteran is the Indian half of “Nazar”, an unprecedented co-production with Pakistan due to hit the screens in January.

It stars Meera, a leading light in Lollywood, Pakistan’s answer to Bollywood based in the eastern city of Lahore.

“This is the first co-production between Pakistan and India, but it has nothing to do with India-Pakistan relations,” Meera told Reuters by telephone from Bombay, where she has just finished shooting.

Whether the movie ever makes it to Pakistani cinemas is unclear. Although Bollywood films are readily available in video stores across Pakistan and are watched by millions on cable television, they are officially banned in theatres.

“Inshallah (God willing) we will release it in Pakistan at the same time as internationally,” Meera added.

Bhatt has two more films in the pipeline, both of which he insists must be shot in Pakistan.

“Ultimately it is up to the government of Pakistan and the local industry there which has to feel comfortable and not see this as cultural colonisation,” he told Reuters. “The arts have always been in the hands of politicians.”

“Partition” tells the story of a wedding train travelling from the city of Rawalpindi, now in Pakistan, at the time the partition of British India was announced.

A Muslim boy helps rescue a Hindu girl from the communal violence in which tens of thousands were killed. He remains in what becomes Pakistan, and is slain by his brother for helping to save the life of an “infidel”.

The second venture, “Lal Haveli” (Red Mansion), portrays a Muslim dancing girl and a Hindu lawyer who fall in love in Rawalpindi, but are torn apart by partition. Meera has signed up to play the female lead.

“It is one baby step to use an icon of their country and make her part of Bollywood,” Bhatt said in Bombay. “I feel there is untapped human capital in Pakistan.”

The projects mark a shift from action-based, jingoistic blockbusters portraying Pakistan as a country that breeds and supports terrorism in Kashmir, the trigger of two of the three wars that India and Pakistan have fought.

Many have proved popular, although the 2003 epic “LoC Kargil”, based on a brief military conflict between India and Pakistan in 1999, bombed at the box office.

In fact new plotlines focusing on star-crossed lovers reflect real-life dramas being acted out across South Asia.

In one celebrated case this year, an Indian woman spent months fighting deportation from her husband’s native Pakistan.

In a happy ending worthy of Hollywood, Bollywood or Lollywood, she won Pakistani citizenship in September – a month after the couple had a baby boy.

Veer-Zaahra

i love this movie its songs…BRAVO:clap: now that the real love.pata nahi kahan hota hai yai:konfused:

Yaar I love its song Teray liye hum hain Jiye Honthoon ko siye ......... plus shahrukh khan Gr8 acting ! a Nice sad story but with a happy ending ..........!!!

Real love >>>>>>>Aik taraf tak ka tu hosakhta hai dono ka Pyar sacha ho dont know…waisay :konfused:

aaj kaal tu Real Love kay naam per Sauda hota hai …so janay kahan hota hai Real love Or True love!!!

anything anti pakistani in it?

This is a godo movie. I don't think it is pro/India or anti pak either.. it is a story of two humans and story is so tragic if they tried to put any anti-pak thing in it, it would flopped the movie and defeat the story.
No one India or Pakistani is shown bad in it. everyone is goodie goodie, only one bad act and that too driven by a very humanisitc emotion..no violence in the whole movie. In fact Pakistanis and Sikhs are shown in a very positive way.
This is a break from usual bollywood crap.

i havent watched an indian movie for MONTHS now, last i saw was hum tum in ummm july?

mere ghar pe toh cable pe indian movies waise FREE aati haen

btw i LOVED LOVED LOVED LOVED LOVED LOVED LOVED gadar :stuck_out_tongue:

the story of ameesha and sunny was real cute n sweet :stuck_out_tongue: they shuda cut down on the violence n politix tho spoiled the ambience of the movie :stuck_out_tongue:

but i dono if i m gona watch this :konfused:

songs to waise is ke achay haen … hmmmm

lekin

aik toh i have started HATING shahrukh khan [even tho i used to be a big fan of his] coz he has become SO GIRLY and preity is OK but i dono not a huge fan of her

so i dono if i’ll watch it :rotato:

Here is a question.. WHY do all Indian films that have this cross border Love theme, always have an Indian guy and a Pakistani GIRL!!!!!!!!
Its never an Indian Girl with a Pakistani GUY.
It not like I have a problem with this theme, but why is it ALWAYS a Pakistani girl and Indian guy, what are they implying?
Just once I would like to see a Hindu, Sikh girl fall in love with a Pakistani guy.. But NO, its always the PAKISTANI GIRL who gets swept away by the dashing INDIAN Hindu or Sikh guy.
Its like they think all Pakistani women just waiting for some Indian prince charming to sweep them of thier feet.
If Indians think this film is gonna make us open our hearts to them, im sorry it does not.
My two cent:)

You loved one of the most anti-pakistan movie of all times? :eek: :yukh:

saby hey, how u doin, eid kaisi guzri?

i fast fwded the anti pak n politics walay parts after the first time, i just like the story of sunny and ameesha and the songs were also good :smiley: ive seen it like 5-6 times :stuck_out_tongue: i like the part till before they get married us k baad movie bore ho jati hae

beautiful film, beautiful clothes.. loved it, loved it. :k:

^ Mem Saab - shaadi se phelay itni movies dekhna baand karo :D

I like the song "Main yahan hoon yahan" gives me goosebumps.

hehe lukily un ko bhi filmai pasand hai.

Shah rukh khan is so yum yum yum.
everything in that film was beautiful!

hate all those people who do nothing but take the pi$$.

priety was beautiful.
Rani was powerful.
Hema and Amitabh.. :k:

Songs - lajawaab..

clothes.. Priety’s red lehenga was wowowowowowo
anyone got pictures.
zabardast

*Originally posted by Atlanta: *

so if it's not roza it's okay to go to movies but not during roza. Hmm, interesting. Never thought about it that way.

I don't feel comfortable watching movies and stuff during ramazan.

I saw the movie. Very sweet, tragic and very unrealistic! SRK looked nice(read gorgeous) . Outfits were very nice too. I think it was inappropriate of them to use the Hayaat Khan family name knowing well that it is an actual political family. I enjoyed SRK's parents (taaya taai) scenes, that was quite a surprise. I wish they had cast Rekha though.

waisay i have noticed preity looks tolerable mainly cuz of her good dressing. she is real good in that department. warna she looks so yuccccck, the sensitive sweet gurl act is all that can for that chubby face.

aur kiya india may pathanoan kaa kehet par giya hai, kai yeh bhuddhay replace nahi ho paa rahai. Shahrukh is such a wimp, right from day one.

:mad: ghUlaIL.. :mad:

khud aisay ban ke dekho -

Riduculously unrealistic? Yes. Anti-Pakistan? No, Not at all. A Yash chopra movie? Doesnt have the feel.

Bhai still, the though of that movie makes me wanna puke :rolleyes:

p.s eid was hectic but fine masha’allah. :=)