VBAC Tips

I have seen many many girls here, are looking ahead for VBAC for their next delivery (i am also one of them). And for this purpose they tend to search previous threads , submit their queries etc. So I have made this thread for all such ladies who have been successful VBAC candidates and the ladies who want to coordinate with each other for successful VBAC attempt in future.

Please girls , do share useful tips , personal experience, doctor recommendations in one single thread.
JAZAK ALLAH

Re: VBAC Tips

I had VBAC. It was hard. Epidural didn't work, drs had to use vacuum and many cuts. but recovery was easy. I took medication not to get constipated and took antibiotics. and i healed within a week.

Even though i wanted to try naturally, i was happy with c section as i knew vbac wont be easy for my due to shape of my body.

Keep your old medical records with you if you are changing doctors. Otherwise, they won't even consider a VBAC.

My doctor and even my mother said to me that " tmhara bacha neechay e nahi aya" actually I had no dilation nor labor pains even post due date. Baby was also in oblique position
What does it mean by baby didn't get down in womb???

Experienced midwife can change baby position during labor...

C-section is must when placenta is low...

My placenta was not low. Neither I wen into labor

I had VBAC recently. Very good experience compared to c-section. Was walking around straight away and the difference is amazing.

My birth story is in the birth stories thread. Do read it. I researched birth positions and read baby center articles on babycentre

Humna I have read ur birth story . MA amazing such quick delivery
Plz u or someone guide me how the baby should be dropped in pelvis? In my case, the baby did not drop actually

Hi HSN05 I believed that baby comes.down when it is ready. I just walked loads and had healthy diet. Rest didnt do.anything differently. Oh yes this labour I manage to stay on all fours (on knees and elbows) and did some exercises which I read in the baby centre website such as abdominal lift. Also there is. A website called spinning babies read that too..it has some exercises too for optimal fetal.positioning . I did the easy ones.

In the end don't stress and keep an open mind.. I was prepared for c sec again. Best of luck. Any other questions ask away

When r you due?/

Thank u hamna
I m just asking these tips for future pregnancy IA

For those who have had a vbac: did your doctor take the thickness of your uterine wall into consideration ( they monitor it via ultrasound at 36 weeks)? What about precaution during vbac for risks like uterine rupture? Is it all even worth worrying about?

Hmmna how far apart were your EMCS and VBAC? And any tips for going into labor naturally

n7111 they didn't take any extra precautions with me. No one measured uterine thickness. I was a good candidate for VBAC as I had previous spontaneous labour and full dilatation. My first baby would descend into birth canal as I was forced on my back by the midwife. Then her heartbeat dropped. It was bad luck and poor management that I ended with EMCS.

I had 2 year 3 month gap between the two births.

Risk of uterine rupture is low 1:200 if u go into spontaneous labour so quite low. Also there are signs to watch out for such as pain between contractions, and increased maternal heart rate as well as decreased fatal heart rate picked up on continuous monitoring. I refused continuos monitoring and opted for intermittent monitoring with Doppler. As it was I reached hospital for pushing stage and midwife held Doppler to my tummy to monitor baby.

i go into labour early naturally. 37 weeks for my first and 38+3 weeks for second. It all happens when your body is ready. I just try to keep active and walk loads.

hope this helps.

I wish someone would tell me the authentic tip to go into spontaneous labour naturally .
Walk and..............

Yes, I've heard that walk and strenuous exercise helps, unprotected sex does too. But for some people that doesn't work either..it depends. A friend of mine, an aalima, told me to recite first five ayahs of Surah Inshiqaq in the last few weeks. It helps to start labor and also very effective when recited during delivery.

Other tips to help start labor: doodh sawaiyan (random I know, but some people swear by it), spicy food, castor oil (not very safe, research before you take it!), desi ghee in hot milk with desi egg (also very helpful if taken daily in the last month to prepare you for labor).

Also, once you go into pre labor, spend most of the time laboring at home. Going to the hospital and getting useless medical interventions only slows down labor.

Thanks a bunch!

If one did not dilate or had labour pains in first pregnancy , will she not be able to had it naturally during second time too??

hi, can anyone suggest me vbac supportive Dr in karachi, my deliveries will be 21 months apart