Re: VB Series--> Pakistan V Australia (Perth)
I think Pak. can beat W.I easily...
Only Lara & Chanderpaul is Dangerous for Pakistan...
If Lara will be out no one from W.I is there to help the team...
But Remember Cricket is the old funny GAME.
I think Pak. can beat W.I easily...
Only Lara & Chanderpaul is Dangerous for Pakistan...
If Lara will be out no one from W.I is there to help the team...
But Remember Cricket is the old funny GAME.
And videos?????????
Re: VB Series–> Pakistan V Australia (Perth)
Don’t forget Razzaq and Afridi, not just Youhanna. There are
more winning “elements” in our team! I just hope our fielders to wash butter off their hands when they come to field in next game!
awesome game.. even though teh win means nothing, i reckon its gonna give the team an enormous boost! just means they can beat the aussies... and their bowlers arent that bad at all..
how good was razzaq yesterday?? when he bowled gilly out.. wow! beautiful...
and afridis batting... hahaha i was about to fall off my chair watching those sixes being hit on to the 2nd and 3rd floors
and rana, he batted really well... now here's a player u know whose gonna try his bestest regardless of the situation.. the way he batted.. Mashallah
Hayden faces the final chop
First Lleyton. Now this. Australian selectors will now face the tough decision of axing Matthew Hayden and Andrew Symonds for this week’s finals after both again failed to impress in Pakistan’s three-wicket victory over Australia at the WACA Ground last night.
Though the match had no direct bearing on the finals - Australia having already qualified, with their opponents to be determined by tomorrow’s Pakistan-West Indies encounter - the host nation’s first loss of the one-day tournament nonetheless raised several concerns for Australian selectors, most notably the form troughs of Hayden and Symonds.
Hayden again fell cheaply to a misjudged shot and Symonds failed to reproduce his form of recent seasons, the sweeping blade of Michael Clarke guiding Australia from calamity and to a respectable 265 against the Pakistanis on a lively wicket.
But led by patient half centuries to Yousuf Youhana (72 off 90) and man-of-the-match Abdul Razzaq (63 not out off 61), coupled with a blistering 30 off 13 balls from Shahid Afridi, Pakistan overhauled the Australians’ total with 16 balls to spare.
AdvertisementAdvertisement
Maybe now, with the finals commencing this Friday, the selectors will be forced to seriously consider their options following weeks of publicly supporting the embattled duo of Hayden and Symonds. Against a Pakistan team that dropped four catches, conceded 25 extras and played without injured paceman Shoaib Akhtar, the Australians rarely appeared comfortable, save for Clarke’s innings of 75 not out from 75 balls and Adam Gilchrist’s earlier 47 from 46.
The fast-medium pace of Razzaq (4-53), Rana Naved (2-49) and Mohammad Khalil (2-55) and the wrist spin of Afridi (2-55) proved troublesome for the Australians. Hayden was first to fall, playing late to a Rana delivery and top-edging a catch to Afridi. His demise for six continued his one-day woes, having raised totals of two, six, 27 and three in previous innings for the ICC World XI and Australia.
Gilchrist, meanwhile, was dropped by Yasir Hameed and Shoaib Malik before inside-edging a Razzaq delivery onto his stumps. Ponting and Damien Martyn then both fell in quick succession, Martyn dismissed by Afridi and Ponting suffering a similar fate to Gilchrist off Razzaq.
Enter Symonds. Having ended a run of five ducks from six innings in Adelaide last week, he arrived at the crease desperate for the big total that has eluded him over the past few months. He survived long enough to slam two fours before he edged Afridi to Malik for 23. Three runs later, Simon Katich, playing in place of Darren Lehmann, was out for a duck and Australia were 6-167.
Then Australia produced their “get out of jail free” card - and that card was Clarke. Assisted initially by Brad Hogg (10) and later Brett Lee (22), Clarke batted cautiously early on before accelerating, raising his half century with the only six of the innings.
Pakistan’s run chase began poorly, with Hameed falling to a spectacular, diving Symonds catch off the bowling of Lee and Salman Butt top-edging a rising Glenn McGrath delivery to Jason Gillespie at fine-leg. Symonds again starred in the field shortly after - if not in conventional fashion - by kicking the ball onto the stumps to run out Malik.
Where are all those people who were saying that we should axe Akmal and bring in the very much part time wicketkeeper Younis Khan. So called GS cricket experts.....
He was having trouble keeping to the Pakistan's B grade bowling line up. What would he have done had Akhtar, Sami, Shabbir and Kaneria been in the attack.
Sharaabi LOL (waddi jai hansi) koi wi jinna marzi siyana ho jaye, end ich honda ohi hai jo kismat wich hoye. Lokki ethe gallaN karday naiN jiwaiN oh cricket board day member hege naiN, par lokka day kehn nal ki honda hai? Kai lok hege san, kehnday san kay australia pakistan nu phenti charaye ga aur eh wi kay pakistan kadi wi jit nai sagda (australia kolo) this n that..bla bla bla,,tay tussi meri gal samjan di koshish karo motia aleyo.
tay fikar not tay zikar not.
thanda mahol tay mithay chol.
Hun wekho assi aglay match ich ki gul khilanaiN aaN.
tay inzimam di khala wargo sab mitra tay sajnaN nu salaam
tay sharabi ik gal yaad rakheen, expert koi nahi honda, siraf rab tay rab di zaat hondi hai.
rab rakha tay buleyo mat kay kal nu asa tv uttay match wekhsaN , tay jin lokka nay bijli da bill jamma nai kitta oh chetti chetti kara lan, warna eh na howay bijlee nu picho band kar ditta jaye.
Brian Lara’s huge score was a result of our miserable bowling and fiedling. Not to mention Inzimams utterly defensive strategies.
You doubt over Lara’s batting skills? He can spoilt any bowling line up when he is in form.
Lara is the greatest batsman of our generation. I have never doubted his batting skills. But what i do doubt is...would he have been able to compile 156 against Australia?
congrats to everyone in here.. today was the best day i hav had after a long time… i hope we continue to play like this… we need to work in our fielding and the extras we give in every game.
i will say this again that afridi should take the responsibility and stay untill the end…i hate when he get out specially when its a catch out
no doubt he is a great player mashallah.. and is improving very well but stilllllll why cant he remain unbeaten ![]()
once again congrats to everyone… this will def give a great moral boost to our team and insahllah we will be on our way to finals…
it would be an awesome if we beat ausies in the final
rana played a nice inning too.... i am glad we have some good tail enders to finish off the game....
Australia Update …(7)……january 31st (perth)
Our victory over Australia last night while greeted with joy was tinged with sadness with the news that Younis Khan’s father died yesterday. I never met him but can only say that he spawned a wonderful son, endowed with true kinship spirit, wonderful all round sporting ability and a man with lovely manners. He goes in the knowledge that he made the world a better place.
My and the team’s heartfelt sympathies go with him and his family in this testing time, we offer them all our deepest condolences.
After our game in Adelaide against the West Indies there were some harsh words spoken in the dressing room and in the meeting before this game. The VB series is all about organization. We spend our time packing and unpacking getting on buses getting off buses, going through security checks and getting on and off planes at such a rate that at times it is difficult to think straight. It is a time for disciplined minds.
The Adelaide performance wasn’t even a circus it was worse.
We were caught out at Sydney on a tough track but didn’t make enough runs and not batting through the 50 overs is always a crime in itself, Instead of bouncing back at Adelaide our no balls ground fielding went totally to pot. Giving or even finding a reason is tough. Inevitable we all had to look in the mirror. Rana spent an afternoon with me working on his run up and that paid dividends as he bowled really well with no No balls and bowled exceptionally well against the Aussies.
The inconsistencies in performance come from a mixture of fear of failure and complacency. This has to be stamped out and Inzamam and I are working on this all the time. There are signs that we are making progress. The talent is there the experience is being gained. The learning curve for everyone is very steep and it is important that we do learn.
Azhar Mehmood hurt his shoulder diving at Adelaide and while he is responding to treatment rapidly was not fit for the Perth game and we gave Kamran a rest while we continue to experiment with Younis as our one-day part time keeper. Khalil recovered after a nightmare start and bowled very well in his second spell. Rao must be the unluckiest bowler with no fielder supporting him. Our catching left a lot to be desired. It is difficult to understand when the players practice a lot that they still drop catches. I guess if we all look back on our own careers that we dropped them too.
After the game Inzamam made the point quite correctly that the players can spend time on there game outside the regulated practice times, a half hour a day with catches is nothing.
After last night’s match we had a swim this morning water training relaxes the body and helps the recovery process, there was an optional practice at 0830, the boys are keen to do well.
The West Indies are not a push over and Lara’s innings was a gem, he is probably the most destructive player in the world when he gets going, in line with Gilchrist and Michael Clarke, what a player he has become in a short period.
WE have batted well in all but one of the games and if we beat the West Indies on Tuesday we will make the finals. We must always encourage and back the players to perform and ensure that they remain confident in there ability.
Finally because we have traveled and moved a lot recently I have not been able to answer many of your questions but will be doing so shortly. Thanks to all of you for your suggestions and thoughts and for all of your support.
Bob
Re: Australia Update …(7)……january 31st (perth)
who is giving you this info...:D
Lara played BIG BIG innings against australia in c&U 1997 and in test series. He seldom fails when his team needs him to score.
Afridi is given the role that suites him the best. And he has been playing really good since his come back last fall. :k:
game mian, where are your insulting comments over the ‘sheeps’ and ‘schmucks’ bowlers? Without the God ‘Actor’??? Didn’t I tell you, if someone is carving for victory and utilizes the blood and sweat, they get the results. These inexperienced medium pacers (except Razzler) are struggling and will struggle for a while, because they lack experience and that penetrating fire. But one thing is VISIBLE, they want to win. They want Pakistan to be successful. Despite of worst fielding and mountain of extras, in last three matches, the bowlers always seem to fight till the last ball. Jigar, this is the kind of thing that makes you learn from your mistake to deliver better and better in every next game. Irfan has not been sent from heavens to pace-ill India. He has listen to the seniors (including Akram) and is completely focused on the art of swing and LnL. Thus, we see improvement every passing game in that medium pacer. And we all know where actor stands when it comes to basics of bowling. He seems to have forgotten everything 2Ws taught him.
Despite of all the loses, I will back these youngsters. Atleast they are trying and giving their 100%. We have seen worse times before (WC03 and Ind-Pak 04) so I won’t lose my heart just now. It will take some time to get the right combination. I hope we do better in remaining games and specially against India in Feb.