Re: VB Series Match 7: Pakistan vs West Indies
koi baat nahi... final ke harne mai maza hi kuch aur hai
^ Itnay final harien hain kay aab jeetnay par shock lagta hai. :(
Pakistan need to lift their game, says captain Inzamam](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/050127/3/8q7t.html)
ADELAIDE, Australia (AFP) - Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq said that his team would need a dramatic reversal of form if they were to give Australia a decent challenge in the tri-series competition.
Pakistan face the West Indies in a crucial match at the Adelaide Oval on Friday and were favourites to join Australia in the best-of-three finals series.
Unbeaten Australia have already qualified for the finals while Pakistan, with just one win, have not confirmed their place, although they are two points ahead of the West Indies on the qualifying table.
Inzamam said Pakistan needed to beat the Windies on Friday then win their remaining two qualifying matches in Perth to ensure they went into the finals with the confidence needed to beat the host nation.
“If we are through to the finals we need some victories, because the last couple of months, the last two months, we are not playing good cricket,” Inzamam said on Thursday.
"If we win, then winning is I think a habit and we will continue this, that’s what will help in the finals.
“If we reach the finals, it is very important for us to win a victory against Australia before that.”
Inzamam estimated Pakistan was still 20-30 percent below playing its best cricket.
He said that was largely due to the absence of injured pace trio Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami and Shabbir Ahmed, and also to spinner Shoaib Malik’s being ruled out with a suspect action.
The captain, himself under pressure in his current role, also noted that his side’s fielding had been poor.
But he said a long batting line-up, including all-rounders Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Azhar Mahmood and Mohammad Hafeez, could give Pakistan the edge over the West Indies on Friday.
West Indian skipper Brian Lara disagreed, saying his side had the better bowling attack.
“I think we’re bowling better, we’ve got wicket-takers,” Lara said.
"On a couple of occasions in the three matches we’ve played against Australia we had them four wickets down for little runs.
“But I think overall both teams will have to improve to beat Australia, whoever meets them in the finals.”
Left-arm swing bowler Pedro Collins has been the standout for the West Indies in their past two matches, taking 5-43 against Australia in Adelaide on Wednesday following his 3-8 against the world champions in Brisbane last week.
Although the West Indies are winless so far, Lara said his team was confident they could overcome Pakistan on Friday and again in Perth on Tuesday to make the finals.
“We’re looking forward to the two games, it’s a do-or-die situation, we have to win both, I’m sure that the guys are going to be up to it,” he said.
The Windies’ biggest concern is Lara’s bruised wrist, which he has played with since being struck in the opening game of the series, against Australia in Melbourne.
Lara said the injury was preventing him from training, but he expected to play in the remaining matches.
West Indies (from): Brian Lara (capt), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Christopher Gayle, Wavell Hinds, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Ryan Hinds, Courtney Browne, Ian Bradshaw, Pedro Collins, Mervyn Dillon, Reon King, Xavier Marshall.
Pakistan (from): Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Salman Butt, Taufeeq Umar, Yasir Hameed, Mohammad Hafeez, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Azhar Mahmood, Kamran Akmal, Naved-ul-Hasan, Mohammad Khalil, Rao Iftikhar.
Pakistan aim for VB Series final
Pakistan will take a major step towards clinching their place in the VB Series final if they beat West Indies at the Adelaide Oval on Friday.
The triangular tournament has so far been dominated by Australia so far, but Pakistan have their noses in front for second place in qualifying.
They came out on top when they met West Indies in Brisbane last week.
"Winning is a habit, that's what will help in the finals," said Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq.
But he believes they are playing 20-30% below their best, a situation he attributes largely to the absence of injured paceman Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami and Shabbir Ahmed.
Inzamam keen to stay as skipper
Their replacements have not proved up to the task - Rao Iftikhar Anjum conceding 22 from three overs against Australia last weekend, and Mohammad Khalil going for 51 from six against a Prime Minister's XI in Canberra on Tuesday.
West Indies have yet to win a match, although they were unlucky when bad weather rescued Australia in match four of the competition, when the hosts were 43-5 chasing a target of 264.
Left-armer seamer Pedro Collins has found conditions to his liking, and has a strike rate of a wicket every 18 balls.
"On a couple of occasions, we've had Australia four wickets down for little runs.
"But I think overall, both teams will have to improve to beat Australia, whoever meets them in the finals," said skipper Brian Lara, who will continue to play despite a bruised wrist.
After taking on Pakistan, they will meet Australia in Perth next Tuesday.
"It's a do or die situation - we have to win both. I'm sure the guys are going to be up for it," he added.
In all of these Bullshiit press conference interviews of Inzi, does any reporter have the balls to ask him why isn’t Younis Khan playing? ![]()
ab tou aadat si hai mujhko ese haarne ki ![]()
We also need to play Taufeeq as opener. Kamran is too risky at that spot, also that the matches now are playing on faster tracks.
koi mujhe ye bataaye, against PM XI how come Malik was allowed to bowl?
Play this team on Friday, there will be a good chance of winning.
Salman
Taufeeq/Kamran
Malik
Younis
Inzimam
Yohanna
Hafeez
Afridi
Razzler
Naveed
Rao/Khalil/Asif
Have Inzi and Salman share 5 overs as sixth bowler.
Pakistan jeet gaya to Pakistan mai “official enquiry” hogi headed by one and only
whistle blower Rashid Latif. ![]()
WI have exposed their reluctance to accept JCB’s offer for the player’s contract and monies, and B.Lara bites the bullet with this pethatic bunch. ![]()
Pakistan will loose to Aussies in Final
don’t play kamran akmal as opener pleazzzz i beg of u
the guy is 2 risky with all shots and the risk of a early wicket loss with him around is very high and losing early wicket isn’t good for the team. play him down the order and put tufs in his place.
hopefully younis khan will play
god knows’ why he isn’t playing already???
-------------x----------------
Have you seen Inzimama bowl? Man! he’s a pure butta maar, chucker is too good a word for him,![]()
it was a side match yaar, it wasn’t an ODI.
Inzamam jaag gaya, ho jamalo :bhangra:
so now he realises that we have to lift our game, shabash… wait, what were they thinking in previous game that they could provide some challenge to Australia with their form then? ![]()
Inzi nay "urdu’ akhbar mai parha hoga,so he used the ‘line’ right? ![]()
Look at the impact he’s already having ![]()
phir to jeetna hi nahi chahiye puri qaum ki tabiyaat kharaab ho sakti hai…
Do you know the fact, Inzi is the only Pakistani bowler who has taken a wicket on his very first career ball. ![]()
^ and he was opener batsman for the first time in that match against likes of M Marshal and Ambrose!
I hope Pakistan include Younis instead of Hafeez but like we all fear it will not happen because of our extremely shallow and inexperienced bowling attack.
yaar hafeez koi top class bowler to nahi hai.. butt can do his job
yaar wait for 2 hours and you will know the team. :D