Vancouver, is it hip?

So my bro’s got a job offer from an international co. their headquarters are based in Vancouver, CA. He hasn’t yet said no or yes to them yet, he’s thinking it over, anyway are there any folks here from that part of Canada who could share a little on rental/property costs, is cost of living their reasonable/expensive, things to do, places of interest. etc. etc.

Thankyou kindly. Orpheus’s bro. Ivory. :smiley:

Re: Vancouver, is it hip?

I've only heard good things. The winter olympics are there in 2010. It's pretty and has a growing film industry.

it's prettier. it's not as snowy as ontario or alberta. it's got victoria island right next to it which is like...gohjeeous. weather's mild.

rest i'll let BCians fill in.

prolly one of the best cities to live in the world. I remember in the early 2000s, it was ranked as number 1 on various standard of life indicators.

I've visited a few times... the only downside to it is the rather gloomy weather. It just keeps on raining... and raining... and raining...

In terms of cost of living, it's Verrry expensive as compared to the rest of Canada.

:hmmm: so not many here from that neck of the woods.

Lucid, oh wow. To be given such a distinction, it looks promising.

^ yep… for sure. When I moved to Canada, Toronto was ranked as number 1 in the world… but soon after, Vancouver took over the title. Here’s the excerpt from Wikipedia:

Thankyou Lucid, i'll ask my bro to read this. Hopefully this info. shall be of help in his decision making.

tell him go for that job, Vancouver is one the best cities to live work and enjoy. living cost is same as other cities live in surrey with shared accommodation and make and save money, it is not just one city vancouver, it is the whole mainland expanded over several hundred km's, all the sports including cricket is there, masjids are there desi bazaars are there, in vancouver mainland you wont miss pakistan as much as you do sometimes in other parts of the canada especially in small town. tell him to go vancouver and enjoy the life.

^ so is their a large desi community in Vancouver, than say Toronto?

^^ yeah the first desi ship arrived at vancouver in 1891, more than hundred years ago. As lucid said montreal, vancouver and toronto keep on getting high ranks as best cities in the world to live in. and specially in vancouver there is so much stuff to do, its an amazing with gorgeous beaches, nice buildings and aquariums. it also has the biggest chinese garden in he world. and the best thing is that there is no heck alot of snow like other parts of canada. Ur bro is gona love the city as i did when i visited.

oh wow I didnt know vancouver was that nice. the things you learn on GS :D

Perhaps he could take up sailing. :hmmm:

Ugh! My bro, made the decision today to decline their offer. :disgust:

I would have loved to have made a visit at his expense to Vancouver. :hinna:

^ chalo - np... wish him the best nonetheless - and you should just visit Vancouver yourself sometime. Just give yourself 5 days to explore... that should be plenty to go around town and visit Whistler as well.

what a party pooper! @ ur bro

Vancouver is very unique - specifically talking about the city and the North Shore suburbs - offers a very high quality of life coupled with ample out doors. Even, if it rains relentlessly, you never get bored as there's plenty to do and explore...once you live here, it's almost impossible to live any where else..the cost of living is brutal..I guess all good things come with a price-tag....