Value addition by current Muslims

I was thinking on this topic. Muslims are about 20 percent of the world population, what value addition are they providing the world these days? Barring the golden period of Islam, I don’t see the Muslims providing any useful thing to the world. Have we abandoned the world completely for the hereafter?

Re: Value addition by current Muslims

I won't be sure about hereafter either, considering the level of corruption and human rights violations in 'Islamic' countries.

define value addition with examples (to be more specific)

Any innovation in the Islamic world in the past 300 years? We can quote examples from the western world, china, Korea heck even India but what about Muslims?

innovation is a very wide term. Even latest Mitti-cool from Indian Gujarat is an innovation. The concept of Eat-oye in Pakistan is an innovation.

if we think about it, current Muslims are “dharti pay bojh”. The only innovation coming out from our countries these days is in fatwas, new and innovative ways to declare others as kafirs.

Its not always black and white.

Pakistani innovation project wins top prize at global contest - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

In the Islamic world, we can only see two countries which are somewhat better than the rest (Malaysia and turkey, both are secular in nature). The Muslims of their golden age were also tolerant of others. Music and culture flourished in that period and so did the trade with the whole world. We don't need to go far, Pakistan of 60s was much better than today. Is our decline due to over emphasis on religion? Why do we have to involve religion in each and everything we have to do?

I think there is a misconception that religion is overemphasized in our societies. There is a huge difference in emphasizing religion and using it as an exploitation tool. Every society where there is marked gap between haves and have nots use some ideology to keep that gap intact. One of the tool is religion.

As far as involving religion in each and everything is concerned, its not the case in Pakistan. The name is Islamic republic of Pakistan and constitution is still far away from being Islamic. Where are the clauses in constitution making state a welfare state (a major symbol of early Islamic state)? Is our penal code Islamic? We are the Muslim country where we got 'Muslim Commercial Bank'. Most of our rulers have been follower of so called liberal tolerant philosophy and everyone knows their karnamas.

No. We have abandoned the hereafter for the world. :)

Muslims are going through thier low cycle in the continuum of civilization for various reasons.
That's how nature works.
Others have gone through similar cycles of their own.

correct. can you add some value to this thread and create a link for this sorry state of affairs of Muslims.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/culture-literature-and-linguistics/651409-izzat-lootna.html

Aap fohosh kalaami kay chasskay laina aur uss ki isha’at band karain. :nono:

aap ko jo kuch kahna hai. fohush baten identify karni hain aap udhar aake karen. America main baith kar Lalu Khet walon ki tableegh nahin ho sakti :nahi:

Main nay kab kaha hai keh main Amreeka main baiTha hoon ? :smack:

Muslims will eventually get there once they settle their debates on the size of beard and length of men's shalwars and legitimacy of Eid Milad un Nabi. Once they have figured which particular bunch or individual is the true parapet of Prophet's sunnah and has the magic wand to take the clock back to 7th century Arabian desert, their good days will start.

buri baat bhutto was islamoist socialiast !:ast:

I know I know. I also know usse ye patti kis ne paRhai

Not much I think apart from Abdus Salam I don't think there is any prominent scientist and absolutely no mathematician that I know of

Dr Salimuzzaman Siddiqui

Dr Abdul Qadeer Khan?