Valimah vs. Nikaah

Is it just me or do Pakis have a better dress sense on the day of their reception (Valimah) as comapred to the wedding day (Nikaah) when they forget all class and style?

All the Paki weddings I’ve been to, all the vids and pics I’ve seen the couple and even the guests look so elegant and refined on the day of the Valimah but they look ludicrous on the wedding day itself.

For one I hate the gawdy attire we Pakis wear on the wedding day, even the men dress in Sherwanis like a Hijrra/Khusrra, suits and tuxedos like those worn at the Valeemah look so much better, they might not be a big part of our culture but they look better so we might as well make them a part of our culture.

Even the bride seems to be dripping with gold and bright colors on the Nikaah, I guess if it’s done with style then it’s quite pretty on women but not on guys.. I’ll still say though that the dresses brides wear on their Valeemah are more tasetful than what they wear on their Nikaah, I really don’t find overly gaudy stuff very sexy at all on women or men for that matter.

It seems to be true for all Pakis, I’ve even noticed it on Raj TV weddings.

Does anyone else agree with me?

Re: Valimah vs. Nikaah

i disagree -- i've seen some look better on wedding day and some on the valima day. and i've aso seen very different looks that both look gorgeous, when done in a very classy way.

and i love sherwanis and ghararas. so classy.

OMG WE GET IT! YOU HATE PAKI OUTFITS! Now can you please quit polluting us w/ your hatred! :p

the brides dont dress to make u HAPPY or show how sexy they look!!!so betta keep ur eyes off em if u dont like em!!

Gharaaras, Lehngas etc. can sometimes look quite classy but men never look good in Desi wear.

difference in opinion :hmmm:

No yaar, I think those modern type women's Shalwar-Kameez looks quite good, I also think Lehnga etc. that are not too gaudy and are worn with light-jewellry look quite sexy on weddings, especially if they're in sensible elegant colors.

I admit I hate Saaris (so outdated and cocoon) but they're not exactly Paki.

I don't like ethnic clothing on men though, regular men's Shalwar-Kameez looks scruffy, formal-wear looks suffocating and wedding-wear (whether its pretty sherwanis or kurta-pajama-ajrak) looks plain gay.

They should listen to me or they wont look sexy to their husbands either.

I mean, I'll be kind of turned off if my bride looks like a carnival freak, and I can't see many women finding effeminate Sherwanis with koreshiyey ka kaam all over a turn on either.

You know what else I hate? When Paki women wear heavy jewellry to show their wealth, like those BIG nath, jhoomar or tikka. If you've got wealth to show off then buy an elegant diamond set instead. If they must wear traditional jewellry then please don't wear a jhoomar *if you're going to wear a *tikka and vice versa, Pakis really over do it sometimes.

Hamaarey siwa sab ki opnion ghalat hai. :snooty:

I should become a fashion designer to help you tasteless Pakis out a bit.

Seriously though, get rid of this SK pehn’nay ki riwaaj for men, I’m off to Pak and I don’t want to wear it, it’s so ugly and uncomfy. :crying:

hmmm

hello! you just insulted me…without even finding out my taste.. :confused:

Uff don’t be so touchy yaar.

It was meant towards Pakis/GS-readers in general, not just you personally and I said it in jest.

xx

]

ok i get it u r scared of THOSEE heavily dressed and loaded with gold brides trends r changing yaar i guess u havent been to modern weddings or i should say u havent seen the modern brides yet

its alright…i know where you re coming from…i ve seen people wear some weird outfits…
but i do agree with criticizing the over load of jewelery and whatnot…
in any case…I LOVED my husband in his shervani…he looked like a prince… :blush:

They dress perfect and modern at Waleemah's but a lot of brides still wear heavy gold and horrible reds/maroons on the wedding day on the insistence of their Saas.

I'm glad trends are changing, I've not been to a wedding for a while.

I still think men shouldn't wear Desi clothes at all though. Does anyone watch Raj TV? My mom watches the weddings on there and there was this Lahori couple getting married recently, the dude looked so handsome in his dark suit but he looked a right clown in his white Sherwani doing bhangra.

:slight_smile:

To me a bride just isn't a bride w/o those few extra things..everyone can wear a tikka only and small set but only a bride can pull off the big stuff w/o looking idiotic.
For a valima, it's just two different looks, one day traditional and big and fancy and the next day cool and understated, more streamlined or "westerN"..neither of them are bad or yucky (in the overall sense) but different.. different does not equal BAD!

i know my hubby looks great in desi stuff :) want em to post some pix ;)

i would have to agree!!!
I love desi wedding !!!!

AAAAaWWWWWWWWw!!!