Re: Valentines day? - History and Islamic Perspective
Hey guys BTW today is moi B'Day ....................... Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Biryani and Qorma and Cake ....
^ Celebrating birthdays are haraam, brother, and probably bid'ah too (need to confirm from sister hareem).
Happy B'day anyway. So your birthday is 7th Safar, and 7 may be your lucky number too, unless lucky numbers are also haraam (dunno).
WalaykumSalaam
I won’t celebrate it for more than one reason, one that you mentioned above, another is that it was started by pagans not early Christians(true followers of Jesus), also I find this celebration for not very mature people, we have Eidayen to celebrate and show our love to others instead of following the West blindly.
Muslims aaj kal Eid to mnatay nahi aur valentine and new year mnanay main non muslims ko bhi peechay chor detay hain.
^ Celebrating birthdays are haraam, brother, and probably bid'ah too (need to confirm from sister hareem).
Happy B'day anyway. So your birthday is 7th Safar, and 7 may be your lucky number too, unless lucky numbers are also haraam (dunno).
Mujh se confirm kernay ki kya zaroorat hai bhai....jao baray shoq se mnao birthday or valentine or whatever.....bill main ne to nahi pay kerna.
^ I asked you a question about your repeated mentioning of bid'ah (check previous page). Look forward to reading an enlightening answer.
Muslims aaj kal Eid to mnatay nahi aur valentine and new year mnanay main non muslims ko bhi peechay chor detay hain.
Agreed.
Sis
It is a valid reason IMO if the spirit of such rituals still exists today. However there are many muslim festivals now that have paganistic or simply forbidden practices. So I choose to judge on the outcome of the event, it gives me a better understanding on how to handle it and what my opinion should be of it. However if you still find paganistic practices in these events then by all means you would be correct IMHO.
Happy Birthday USResident ![]()
I agree with what you say about the current meaning of things like Valentine or Basant having nothing to do with whatever originated it. It is funny to me that the only one commemorating St. Valentine or Garbar Singh and keeping alive their legacy happens to be the people pontificating against it.
I mark neither, for reasons similar to yours, and because I’ve never flown a kite.
Muslim scholars have cited two different definitions of Bidah (innovation). The first one is linguistic, whereas the second is technical. Those who try to understand the concept of Bidah in its linguistic sense maintain that the root of the word includes that which is new and unprecedented. Hence, they define Bidah as everything that has been introduced following the death of the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) and the golden eras of his Companions (may Allah be pleased with them all). The aforementioned linguistic definition encompasses what is good and what is bad, acts of worship (Ibadat) and others that are otherwise. Those who follow this definition argue that the word Bidah as well as the acts related to it are praised in certain religious contexts while condemned in others. This may explain why some scholars have dubbed certain innovative acts as being religiously recommended while classifying others as being religiously condemned. Imam Shafii stated that innovative acts are of two kinds: the first one includes those things that do not go in harmony with the Qur’an, Sunnah, traceable tradition (Athar) and the consensus (Ijma) of Muslims. The second kind includes those innovations that bring about that which is good and this kind is not condemned. The previous classification of Bidah is also maintained by Imam An-Nawawi.
However, Imam Al-Izz ibn Abdus-Salam classified Bid`ah into five categories:
-Obligatory innovation, such as combining and classifying Arabic sciences and teaching them.
-Religiously recommended innovation, such as building schools.
-Religiously forbidden innovation, such as reciting the Qur’an in a way that changes the meaning of its words from their contexts.
-Religiously condemned innovation, such as decorating mosques.
-Religiously permitted innovation, such as serving different dishes on one dining table.
On the other hand, those who adopt the technical definition of Bid’ah state that innovation includes things that apparently resemble Shariah, but genuinely they don’t. On the basis of this definition, all innovations are strongly condemned, and hence they can not include the five categories mentioned by Imam Al-Izz ibn `Abdus-Salaam above. This may explain the Prophetic saying, “Every innovative act is an aberration.”
Also, Imam Malik stated that he who innovates something in Islam while deeming it to be a good innovation has alleged that Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) was unfaithful in disseminating his message as Allah Almighty says: “This day are those who disbelieve in despair of (ever harming) your religion; so fear them not, fear Me! This day have I perfected your religion for you and completed My favor unto you, and have chosen for you Al-Islam as religion. Whosoever is forced by hunger, not by will, to sin: (for him) Lo! Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.” (Al-Ma’idah: 3)
Hence, the innovations that are unlawful in Islam include the following:
-Being innovated, in the sense that the innovation does not take place during the early Islamic period.
-The innovation is considered unlawful when it contradicts one of the primary sources of Islam, such as the Qur’an and the Sunnah.
As a result, things that are new and unprecedented, but go in line with the spirit of Islam, and do not contradict its basics are not considered innovations. It is recorded that some of the Prophet’s Companions (may Allah be pleased with them all) would say the Talbiyah (during Hajj) in a formula different from that said by the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him). For example, Anas (may Allah be pleased with him) would say, "Labbayka Haqqan Haqqa Labbayka Taabbudan Wa sedqa." ‘Truly I am at your service O Allah; I am at your service in true worship of You.’ Also, Umar (may Allah be pleased with him) is reported to have gathered people to perform Tarawih (Ramadan night prayer) in congregation. It is noteworthy here that the same act did not exist during the lifetime of the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him).
Because Valentine’s Day has paganistic origin related to it that’s why celebrating this ritual comes under imitating mushrikin and that’s how contradict Quranic teachings and that’s how it is a wrong bid’ah according to the Scholars.
If your intention is to only make your wife happy by giving her flowers or sweets do so on a different day out of caution…I wanted to go out today for a meal but bcoz of Valentine’s I cancelled it.
Valentine's Day shouldn't stop you from giving gifts any other day of the year. Why would it?
Its become a completely commercialized holiday, and it has no pagan underpinnings to it anymore. Rejecting it because its pagan is a complete farce.
As for whether its bidah or not - I ask you how many bida's do we do and why not blame those things? Do we get so heated up about niyaaz or going to darghas, or basant, or nau roz (Irani holiday), or the Chinese New Year?
Hareem you mentioned you'd rather throw a feast. Why do you not classify that as bida'a? Any tradition you set up, even celebrating your anniversary would be deemed haraam by your analysis of Bida'a.
Many things are Bida'a. Your friggin car is a bida'a, so please do sell it immediately and begin walking around on foot to go everywhere, as this was the noble way of the Prophet.
Really. I'm quite serious about it. Walk to the grocery store - might give you a chuti from GS. In fact, GS is a bida'a and so is the internet and you can't deny that the internet is often used in negative ways by people - so why do you use it? It doesn't become Bida'a when Hareem uses something? Should that be my guiding beacon?
May Allah reward us for our good intentions and guide us all and give us the wisdom and understanding.
So, if people want to celebrate Valentine's Day by spending some time in each other's company and getting each other a gift or however they want to spend it, then why is that good intention NOT RECOGNIZED by you and in fact, SPAT ON?
Please allow me to remind you that these things are very personal and between a couple and God : and if God doesn't have a problem with a couple celebrating their love and marriage however they want (as its clearly ordained in the Quran), then it is NO BUSINESS of yours to insult those who do celebrate as such.
Can anyone post some more scholarly opinions regarding this topic?
Thanks in advance.
sarcasm is over flowing in some of the posts here in proving their islamic understanding. May I remind to such posters that they should also be aware of the islamic view point regarding sarcasm of such type?
Can anyone post some more scholarly opinions regarding this topic?
You sure do seem to have a dependency on "scholarly opinions". There have already been plenty posted here that have been debunked by most. Surely there is a hadith out there that has been dissected by some sunni scholar you respect about Allah giving us brains to figure out the simple things in life. Or that the Quran is the perfect book and has all the answers. Or Allah did not make Islam so difficult so as to not cause confusion over giving flowers and chocolates.
May I remind you of the Islamic view that one shouldn't tamper with God's message to mankind?
Hareem: May I remind you that as of yet, you've given no substantial evidence that suggests muslims are prohibited from having fun with their spouses on any day besides Eid.
^^ that explains Hareem's social life :)
Peace mercenary2k
I don't think you should even pretend to know what my wife's social life is like. Unless you know her you have no idea.
As for Valentines ... straight forward consumerism ... if you want to celebrate it, do so. But cautious Muslims will follow things that we have been prescribed already.
Celebration is a social act it sends a message into society and there is a group association to it. The fact that Muslims are celebrating a non-Muslim festival today means that tomorrow they will do more than that. We are but only following the trends that came before us.
As I said ... you can do it all you like, as if anyone here can stop you ... we can't.
Hareem is your wife?
Didn’t know that and besides she has already posted in a dozen threads what she does and doesn’t do, so it sort of builds a picture of her social life
In regards to consumerism, you mean to tell me that Eid is not consumer driven?
What holiday is not consumer driven?
I personally find no harm in celebrating Valentine’s Day
Infact, we decorate our house with christmas lighting when its Christmas, and we eat a turkey during thanks giving, and we celebrate when its Canada’s Independence Day and we celebrate New Years and I celebrate St. Patrick’s Day with my Irish Friends by drinking Coke while they drink beer.
So what is the harm in that?
The problem with your argument is that you are saying that me by celebrating these events, makes me a non-Muslim or gives a bad image to Muslims. That is utter nonsense.
Infact it shows muslims in a good light that we are open and welcoming to other cultures.
Found this about valentines history on islamonline...
First of all, we’d like to shed light on the origin of this festival, known as "Valentine Day" or "Festival of Love":
The Festival of Love was one of the festivals of the pagan Romans, when paganism was the prevalent religion of the Romans more than seventeen centuries ago. In the pagan Roman concept, it was an expression of "spiritual love".
There were myths associated with this pagan festival of the Romans, which persisted with their Christian heirs. Among the most famous of these myths was the Roman belief that Romulus, the founder of Rome, was suckled one day by a she-wolf, which gave him strength and wisdom.
The Romans used to celebrate this event in mid-February each year with a big festival.
One of the rituals of this festival was the sacrifice of a dog and a goat. Two strong and muscular youths would daub the blood of the dog and goat onto their bodies, then they would wash the blood away with milk. After that there would be a great parade, with these two youths at its head, which would go about the streets. The two youths would have pieces of leather with which they would hit everyone who crossed their path. The Roman women would welcome these blows, because they believed that they could prevent or cure infertility.
The connection between Saint Valentine and this festival:
Saint Valentine is a name which is given to two of the ancient "martyrs" of the Christian Church. It was said that there were two of them, or that there was only one, who died in Rome as the result of the persecution of the Gothic leader Claudius, c. 296 CE. In 350 CE, a church was built in Rome on the site of the place where he died, to perpetuate his memory.
When the Romans embraced Christianity, they continued to celebrate the Feast of Love mentioned above, but they changed it from the pagan concept of "spiritual love" to another concept known as the "martyrs of love", represented by Saint Valentine who had advocated love and peace, for which cause he was martyred, according to their claims. It was also called the Feast of Lovers, and Saint Valentine was considered to be the patron saint of lovers.
One of their false beliefs connected with this festival was that the names of girls who had reached marriageable age would be written on small rolls of paper and placed in a dish on a table. Then the young men who wanted to get married would be called, and each of them would pick a piece of paper. He would put himself at the service of the girl whose name he had drawn for one year, so that they could find out about one another. Then they would get married, or they would repeat the same process again on the day of the festival in the following year.
The Christian clergy reacted against this tradition, which they considered to have a corrupting influence on the morals of young men and women. It was abolished in Italy, where it had been well-known, then it was revived in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, when in some western countries there appeared shops which sold small books called “Valentine’s books”, which contained love poems, from which the one who wanted to send a greeting to his sweetheart could choose. They also contained suggestions for writing love letters.