Can some one explain to me why we celebrate valentine and how does it started? Is it a hallmark holiday
Or does it have some real history?
Re: Valentine a cultural holiday or religious holiday
http://www.mjtimes.sk.ca/News/Local/2011-02-14/article-2233689/A-short-history-of-Valentines-Day/1
Here is the summerized version of valentin’s origin.
**It was the pope who set aside Feb. 14 to honour St. Valentine in AD 496. However, the day was not often celebrated until the Middle Ages. Gift giving and exchanging of hand-made cards became common in England around the 18th century, while in the 1840s the holiday caught on in the United States.
**Regardless of history do you think we should celebrate Valentine because pope announced it. Are we Christians who are suppose to that. Just questions I am not any mullani but just doing a research.
I got this on SMS today....
Donno if its true. Have'nt yet checked.
14th February was the day when Islamic Kingdom fell in the hands of Christians in Spain. The head Churchman Pedro St. Valentino announced this day should be 'The Day of Love' to mark the end of Islamic Kingdom.
I have no idea about that but let me google it if I get some links I will post it. But as far as I know bebo has posted is true.
Well almost half the world around my part got this SMS. I mostly ignore such messages but sometimes I like to check. Anyway the Muslim world has always been against Valentine day celebrations and I guess such kind of propoganda might serve their purpose to an extent. But then who can bind Love? and Does it ever need a special day to be celebrated???
Ok lets stick to history…![]()
**aajkal to aisa hitaa hai...
10 am...boy meets girl
3 pm ... love is in full swing
5 pm ... invitation goes out for the "chat mangni pat byaah"
7 pm ... nikaah in court
9 pm ... dinner
11 pm .. couple retire for the evening
7 am ... disoute arises
9 am ... fight ensues
11 am .. divorce papers filed in court
1 pm ... divorced!
Happy Valentine's Day! :D**
^ Sounds like a person I know who got married at 12:00pm and was dicorced at 4:00am ![]()
really? wow…iskaa matlab yeh huaa k ab shaadi bhi 24-hr episode hone lagaa ![]()
My point exactly why do we have to show only one day in year
No religious intentions but my point is sometimes you are feeling love sometimes you are not and you shouldn’t be forced to do that kind of things. And after I read that pope order this holiday so now even more I don’t feel like celebrating it. Although I don’t mind christians doing it because its their holiday and they should enjoy it but we should think before doing anything.
You are funny kkf ![]()
I have seen people planning for this day even 15 days in advance when all they can do is hold each other right there, right then and express their love and feelings. Why wait???
Its just sometimes people get carried away with everything; especially people like us Pakitani people who are weak minded and cannot decide on our own what to celebrate and what not to.
Such is modernity ![]()
exactly! we should think before doing this lolz incase a husband 4get to bring flowers or any gift for her wife on this day. what will be the consequence
I got this on SMS today.... Donno if its true. Have'nt yet checked.
14th February was the day when Islamic Kingdom fell in the hands of Christians in Spain. The head Churchman Pedro St. Valentino announced this day should be 'The Day of Love' to mark the end of Islamic Kingdom.
That story belongs to 1st April the April Fools day
First i thought it belongs to 1st April but then
maybe i’m wrong. I agree bbeats ![]()
I will tell him to bring on 15 Feb when they will be on sale;) Aisi samjhdaar wife kisi ko miley gi
yeh to qismat ki baat hy ![]()