Atal ji has problem with communication skill.Remember during GujjRAT Muslim killing spree he said somthing like Muslims every where are troblesome meaning plaestine Kashmir Bosnia etc being hot spots.Nincompoop does not realize there are 60 muslim countries & 60 more times chances of political differences than ONE & lonely INDIA who by its self is at odds with ALL its neighbiours China Sri Lanka Bangladesh Pakistan Nepal ,Bhutan…
Anywayze now Atal Bihari says itsnot what he said…He did not call mUsharaff LIAR ![]()
http://www.newindpress.com/send/sentStory.asp?id=IEH20020916135400
Vajpayee denies actually calling Musharraf a liar
IANS
NEW YORK: Indian Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee on Sunday took resort to linguistic nuances to deny that he had actually called Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf a liar.
He clarified that he had only used the Hindi phrase “jhoot bolne ki had par kar di,” (crossed all limits of lying) and had not actually termed Musharraf a liar, at a meeting organised Saturday by, among others, the Overseas Friends of the Bharatiya Janata Party (OFBJP).
Asked whether that did not imply he called the general a liar, Vajpayee said it did not, adding: “Hindi mein bhashan dene se yahi hota hai (this is what happens when I speak in Hindi).”
He then went on to make light of the incident, which was widely reported by journalists travelling with him. Vajpayee was speaking to journalists before leaving New York for New Delhi at the end of a six-day visit.
“Mein kaun hota hoon unko ek aur designation dene ke liye? (Who am I to give him another designation?),” an oblique reference to the many designations that Musharraf holds – chief of army staff, chief executive and president.
However, according to those present at the BJP supporters meeting, what the prime minister said is a clear retraction of what he said there.
Musharraf had, in his speech at the U.N. General Assembly, sought to cloak the terrorist insurgency in Jammu and Kashmir in the garb of a “freedom struggle” and had described the election in Jammu and Kashmir, which started Monday, as a “farce”.
In his riposte during his own address to the U.N., the normally unflappable Vajpayee had accused the Pakistan president of “logical acrobatics” and of indulging in “nuclear blackmail”.
Clearly, Vajpayee, who has apparently decided to take the battle to the Pakistani camp, was not done with Musharraf.
Addressing what was an openly pro-BJP crowd, Vajpayee found an audience that responded to his every charge against Pakistan.
Referring to the September 11 attacks in the U.S. as a “milestone”, Vajpayee asked rhetorically: “Where have all those responsible for the September 11 attacks gone?” and elicited a loud response from the 500-strong audience: “Pakistan.”
As the applause and laughter died down, Vajpayee said: “You people seem to know more than me. Yes… the answer is right.”
Focusing on terrorism in Jammu and Kashmir, the prime minister said India would continue to wage the war against terror till those fomenting it are “uprooted”.
“We have known of terror before September 11. We have been suffering from before.”
He recalled he had told the U.S. Congress during his address to a joint session two years ago that no one could consider themselves safe from the scourge of terror.
“I told them that anyone could be a victim. This was before September 11, and they all knew what was happening (in Jammu and Kashmir).”
Referring to the terrorists in the state, Vajpayee asked: “Who are these people who are fighting for freedom? They did not fight for freedom before 1947.”
Vajpayee who addressed the gathering after releasing a book to commemorate saint-philosopher Swami Vivekananda’s 100th death anniversary, seemed to be speaking more as a party leader than the prime minister.
Defending what is often described as the “saffronisation of education” - of the rewriting of history textbooks allegedly from a Hindu nationalist perspective – he noted that the Supreme Court had dismissed the case challenging the changes made in the curriculum by his government.
“What is wrong with the saffronisation of education? Is saffron a bad colour? Is black better, or red?” he asked.
“Centuries of our history is linked to saffron,” Vajpayee said, adding: “If education is delinked from culture, what is the value of such an education?”
Send this Story to