Ustad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and other renouned mucians

Well I was listening to UNFAK’s songs today. And what I noted was that the Late ustad got to work with many great musician’s especailly from the west. Names like Eddie Vedder and Peter Gabrial still remember the legend that was Nusrat!

What I noticed was there are many names unnoticed. Like Ustad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan got to perform with London symphony Orchestra. I dont know if someone is intersted in Orchestras but the London orchestra is one of the most prestiguous Orchstras and ustad they performed together. The song tujh bin Aftabiyan is beautiful and truely brings the east and the west together!

I also heard that The Ustad also did some work with Joane Osborne and also believe it or not Nine Inch nails! If somebody has any knowledge on this could they provide me with the names of the songs or the albums?

Also for Nusrat Fans who like hard rock! Listen to Signal to noise! This is a duet with Peter Gabrial and Nusrat and how the Ustad plays with “surs” is beautiful!

Ustad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan will always remain alive and dear to our hearts! May Allah bless his soul and provide him with space in the highest of heavens!

i have always felt that NFAK should have worked with kishore kumar. i like NFAK as musician and kishore as singer and it would have been great to see how they do together. now both of them are no more. so no point.

You are right dost Ali. Late Ustad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan was a legend. One my favorites by him is the soundtrack/music score for the film "Bandit Queen".
Late Ustad Nustrat Fateh Ali Khan strongly believed in one thing and that is that, "Music has no boundry and it needs to be shared otherwise it not a music."

Regards

And yet he was such a patriotic man yaar Musafir! /Thats one of his qualities I admire. Allah sach main apnay pyaaray bando ko Zameen say jald uthaa letaa hay!

shaayad such hai. Tell me, do you think if his talent was under estimated or over estimated and why?

Regards

yaar Musaafir,
I think Musrat Fateh Ali Khan's music well before time. What he has worked on with Micheal Brookes and other directors when I heard several years ago I didnt like. But now when I listen to his music. Its like there is not a single thing which sooths me more than Ustad Nusrat's voice! The way he handles the Surs is what no man could ever do! When you listen to his voice you can feel his devotion to his singing. As if every word that he is singing is coming out of his heart.

Even though its Iqbal's poetry or any other poet when you hear him its like Nusrat's sings every word coming from his heart!

Being only a musician is one thing. In real life Nusrat was a great man too! Dedicated to his Religeon and His Country. Such a renouned singer but still very Humble.

I surely thing Nusrat's Music was under appreciated when he was alive. Our Mullah's putting a Fatwa on some of his lyrics, even though he clarified what he meant.

I got a chance to meet Nusrat Fateh Ali once. While talking to him, I mentioned one of my uncles who used to tell us how he used to be Musrat's class fellow in a primary school in Faisalabad. Ustad Nusrat nay mazaaq main mujh say kaha. Beta Ali, jab say main mushoor hua hoon, mere ab kaye class fellow ban gaye hain! Pehlay to koyee dekhta bhee nahi thaa!

NFAK is apparently very popular in France…saw it on an episode of “Gulls and Guys” (the one with JJ

)

Sure.Fine.Whatever.

He was just Great!!
i call him The King.
wish the man would have been still alive and giving more and more to the world with his powerful voice. i miss him and his voice and work.
May God bless him.

You are right Ali. Its sad that we underestimated his abilities and talent. I think we Pakistani were not able to take as much advantage of his talent as others did. I think we are still "lakeer ke faqiir"
Hum se duniyaa chaali gai aur ham ne mu.d kar na dekha, dariyaa khushiq ho giya magar pe kar na dekha.

I think we have a very few people out there who appreciate talent and most of them may not be literate but atleast they are not bais. Everyone out there learns from mistakes and lets hope we do the same. Time never stops and we should not try to stop it either but lets hope we can learn how to appreciate it.
You were lucky that you met Late Ustad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. This memory will stay with you forever. I met his brother and Rahat Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan when they were touring USA last year.
Tell me dost, have you heard of Mukhtar Begum? Looking forward to your reply.

Regards