Usli Desi Ghee vs. Nakli Ghee

Do you any of you use real Desi Ghee in your cooking? Does it make a difference in the taste?

I hear it gives food the authentic flavor but it’s kinda smelly. I grew up on canola.

What do the GS CHEF experts say?

Re: Usli Desi Ghee vs. Nakli Ghee

nothing can beat asli desi ghee in terms of taste and smell but it's only available in my pind.

haan aur fattening can kill you...canola the best :)

Once you have been away from it for while you cant go back to it. It kinda has a smell to it.

even canola can kill you if eat it in every meal without any excercise.

But i heard it's better then the nakli stuff we but in our system actually way better

yea unless u hold your breath :p it will be yummy... but its not good health wise...

Talk about smell eh. If i eat butter once ina while i smell as if i have taken shower in it. i don't know why :S

agree, but asli ghee has animal fat...more fattening than others

acha baad mein exercise kar lein gay -

but seriously does it help getting the authetic lahori taste? like a half a spoon ful or something?

If not - I'll skip the calories

What is canola oil? We always use olive oil… ghee will give you a coronary… :nono4:

Addendum: Canola oil is called rapeseed oil in the UK. Ok.

ghee is much maligned, but if it is from grass-fed animals like you used to find everywhere else in the world except for the corn and soy fed farms of north america, it isn't particularly unhealthy. might even be good for you with all the CLA in it. probably better than canola if you are worried about cancer.

it is definitely worth the taste, imho. you can make your own. buy some good butter - i highly recommend lurpak or kerrygold. melt it yourself until it loses all the water and the solids brown off. so good!

I am not sure what smell are people talking about… don’t know what milaawat wala ghee you guys had in the city but khaalis (pure) desi ghee has a “good” smell to it. Just don’t use it as a moisturizer or in hair. :hehe:

Try it in saag, gobi, etc., desi ghee parathas are amazing and nothing beats the churi.

you are right , but the people born and/or raised in west do not like the aroma of desi ghee. It is like most desi born and/or rasied in desh do not like the smell of some very popular cheeses. Or most will not like caviar.

Saag without desi ghee is no worth of eating.

Anchor salted butter makes the BEST GHEE ever! Lurpak - tasteless. Kerrygold - bland.

I still remember when my started using dairy ghee that comes in the large green and gold tins. It stank, we used to run from the kitchen to escape from the stink but we couldn't escape from it. Then we didn't like the food, but got used to it.

Only in recent years parents health made them change for olive or sunflower oil, but my mum still sneaks in a spoonful of ghee to the pan when she thinks my dad won't notice. He always can tell tho.

If u r talking about vegetable ghee as nakli ghee - that is VERY BAD for you, worse than butter ghee bcos it has even more saturated fat.

sacrilege!!!

you can get salted kerrygold and lurpak too. ghee will not taste salty anyway, so it won't make much of a difference.

^ Listen mustachio man, its not the salt, its the TASTE. Ain't nuffin like anchor. Thank heavens for New Zealand.

OMG Lurpak butter is the best thing ever! Anchor milk and butter suck! :cb:

Nido milk and Lurpak butter :wink: