Use of online comments, social media for opinion manipulation

If you search Imran Khan on social media today, you will find a surprising result. Twitter hates Imran Khan today. For every message supporting his “dharna” there are roughly a dozen which mock him, call him a taliban supporter or a selfish politician who is about to burn Pakistan down.
This is surprising. He is out today to do a sit in against USA’s drone strikes. We know from variety of sources that it should make him pretty popular these days. Pew research tells us that USA’s likability in Pakistan was at an all time low of 11% before their Abbotabad raid. After this raid, you can be sure the number is zero.
It is also difficult to imagine Imran Khan being so unpopular in social media. Typically he is more liked by youth and educated class. A Facebook survey asking “who would you vote for in next election” got a 100,000 plus replies, with 73% favoring Imran Khan. I know, this is not representative of general opinion but such huge sample definitely looks quite indicative of online Pakistan population to me.
In fact every single politician in Pakistan has read Pakistani opinion to be severely against drones, as is evident with all public statements.
Who, then are these people today who is so hating him on twitter and Facebook? And the answer to that is a bit more interesting than your expectation.
Imagine for a minute that you are someone with a lot of money and have an interest in influencing opinions online. Of course, it is conceivable why you would like to have that control. We have grown up with a respect for public opinion. If a lot of people are saying something they must be right. If you can “make” people hear a lot of same opinion they will probably start believing it as right. In a way if you can control popular opinions on twitter, facebook and comments sections of various newspapers, you get a kind of mind control capability.
So what would a rich power, with a lot of money, trying to control public opinion, by controlling social networks, do?
If I was one, I would build a software. I will call it umm… “Persona”. The software will “allow 10 personas per user, replete with background , history, supporting details, and cyber presences that are technically, culturally and geographacilly (sic) consistent” or in simple words it will create false personalities on the web which will look coming from certain backgrounds. These personalities will be controllable in 1 to 10 ratio. i.e. one user will be able to feed thoughts which will look like 10 people’s thoughts on internet.
I would also take detailed steps to be efficient while looking genuine, “Individual applications will enable an operator to exercise a number of different online personas from the same workstation and without fear of being discovered by sophisticated adversaries. Personas must be able to appear to originate in nearly any part of the world and can interact through conventional online services and social media platforms.”
I will also try and make operators of the service be aware of what they are talking about “The service includes a user friendly application environment to maximize the user’s situational awareness by displaying real-time local information.”
If it is becoming obvious to you that this RFP was really written by someone with a lot of money and not me, then you are right. Also, you don’t expect me to make so many spelling errors do you? This RFP was written by US military and was posted on USA’s federal business opportunities site. It has since been taken off the site but is still available here.
When a PR professionals site found out about it and considered this to be slightly off colored PR attempt, this is what US Airforce (original suspects of the RFP) had to say about it: “this contract supports activities at US Central Command, as opposed to the Air Force. The software supports classified social media activities outside the US intended to counter violent extremist ideology and enemy propaganda.”
So if you have missed what I have been trying to say up there, US Central Command has access to an online army of fake people, which walks, talks, looks like the people they want them to look like. These fake people, controlled by real people at the ratio of 1 to 10, publish twitter updates, Facebook profiles, comment on blogs, comment on news items and try to control your mind by controlling the popular opinion.
This is not a conspiracy theory. Its an above board public project. Why have you never heard about it to date? Because once US media questioned about it they were told that US citizens will never be targeted only bad foreigners will be tricked. Click here for reading this justification on Washington Post. This seems to have silenced US media, which led to a complete blackout on international media.
Could it be that Imran Khan became a valid bad foreigner today to attract this program’s interest? Seems that way.
By the way, when it comes to Pakistan, USA’s “personas” aren’t the only ones interested in influencing the opinion. I personally suspected for a long time that people commenting about Pakistan in major US news sites are a bit too enthusiastic and efficient. Doesn’t it look odd that on CNN, a benign story about Pakistan floods gets more comments than a story about university shooting in USA? While these commentators will have western names of John Smiths etc. they will typically have opinions and desires which suit someone in our neighborhood.
So I did a little experiment. I went to few of these comment sections and, using a fake persona of my own, engaged those commentators from USA (emphasis, commentators from USA). I also lured them to click on a link about the subject which agreed with their ideas. The link pointed to an empty page on my blog. Sure enough, with in 10 minutes my empty blog page got few hits. All from Indian IP addresses!
Quite obviously Indian program hasn’t been able to build enough counter-detection mechanisms. Courtesy to ASH & attemptingreason.

================

Its not just about one issue, there are various places online where one notices such flaming that one is left wondering how could this be happening with such enthusiasm. Anonymity has its own perils. Combine it with a fact that most people form opinions based on what comments and postings they read - more like a crowd mentality.

Re: Use of online comments, social media for opinion manipulation

I agree cent percent with you. Personally my opinion about hindu indians, after having lived near them for a couple of years and after having spent time with them and after reading their various comments is the following. Most hindu indians have a venomous hatred for muslims and pakistan and for the lack of doing anything better in their life, they spend a lot of time going on forums such as this one and writing hateful stuff about pakistan and popular people in pakistan such as Imran Khan.

It is my firm believe that they have venom in their minds against pakistan. I am sure that till the end of life on earth, I would never expect anything good from them........ just back-stabbing.

who? abay bhai, it was me. Am I a hindu indian? Infact most people on these boards feel he is a complete joke. And its not just this board, its reality. If he had any support, he'd be atleast in control of 10 or 20 seats in parliament. Why hasn't that happened?

I probably disagree with him and his ideology more then anyone i know. Pakistan is a democratic country, which means anyone opposing imran has a RIGHT to do so. It doesn't make them a "hindu indian," as gross as that is. :P

errr, I do support Imran on some issues but lets not turn anything against Imran as being Indian/Hindu, and please stop calling anyone "ugly"/"smelly", thats just wrong/racism.

^ done editing, but seriously they are really beginning to pi$$ me off.

miss your racism and hatred towards humanity is showing.

well what i know Indians like Immi bhai, I respect him as our national hero but his two three legs in different boats drowning him fastly he looks to me like all other munafiq polticians. btw I am from Pakistan:D:

^Agree with ya on that one. :)

zara nawazi ji apki:D:

not comming much on GS these days!! busy in work?

Seriously ? humanity ?
People who burned alive 2000 thousand muslims in Gujrat ? people who massacre kashmiris ? indian hindus have long fallen downhill from the definition of the word humans.

yes humanity, which i am sure you have never heard of. you wear glasses of zaid hamid who i am sure is your new nabi.
i havent called you a low life muslim, i called you racist. which you are.
and you proved my point by calling indian hindus.

And rest assured that kashmiris are living a better life than balouchs or karachiites.
rant on miss, you only showcase your personal life's frustration.

Lolz...... whats racist in calling most indians hindus for statistically the majority ARE hindus. Franky, other nations in india are sick and tired of the monopoly of a tiny percentage of brahmins abusing the resources of the country and treating others like crap.

Seriously ? kashmiris are better off ? with your coward army killing hundreds of kashmiris day and night ? if things are so great in kashmir, then what are hundreds and thousands of soldiers doing there ? please grow up and read what human right commission, UN, the rest of the world is saying about kashmir...... take your head out of the sand so that the light of the day brings you to your senses.

Facebook is owned by Jews and working against Islam. Boycott it and covey the message to others. Better not to use American websites they are used by American govt. against Islam when needed.

Read the following article
http://static.guim.co.uk/static/105734/zones/news/images/logo.gif

[ul]
[li] News[/li][li] Technology[/li][li] Hacking[/li][/ul]

**Revealed: US spy operation that manipulates social media**

Military's 'sock puppet' software creates fake online identities to spread pro-American propaganda

Jeff Jarvis: Washington shows the morals of a clumsy spammer

[ul]
[li] [/li][LIST]
[li] Share35K[/li][li] http://static.guim.co.uk/static/105734/common/styles/images/icon_reddit.gif[/li][li] http://static.guim.co.uk/static/105734/common/styles/images/icon_buzz.gif[/li][/ul]
[li] Comments (672)[/li][/LIST]

[ul]
[li] Nick Fielding and Ian Cobain[/li][li] guardian.co.uk, Thursday 17 March 2011 13.19 GMT

• Article history[/li]

Gen David Petraeus has previously said US online psychological operations are aimed at ‘countering extremist ideology and propaganda’. Photograph: Cliff Owen/AP

The [US military](http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/us-military)  is developing software that will let it secretly manipulate social  media sites by using fake online personas to influence internet  conversations and spread pro-American propaganda.

A Californian corporation has been awarded a contract with United States Central Command (Centcom), which oversees US armed operations in the Middle East and Central Asia, to develop what is described as an “online persona management service” that will allow one US serviceman or woman to control up to 10 separate identities based all over the world.
    The project has been likened by web experts to China’s attempts to control and restrict free speech on the internet. Critics are likely to complain that it will allow the US military to create a false consensus in online conversations, crowd out unwelcome opinions and smother commentaries or reports that do not correspond with its own objectives.
    The discovery that the US military is developing false online personalities – known to users of social media as “sock puppets” – could also encourage other governments, private companies and non-government organisations to do the same.
    The Centcom contract stipulates that each fake online persona must have a convincing background, history and supporting details, and that up to 50 US-based controllers should be able to operate false identities from their workstations “without fear of being discovered by sophisticated adversaries”.
    Centcom spokesman Commander Bill Speaks said: “The technology supports classified blogging activities on foreign-language websites to enable Centcom to counter violent extremist and enemy propaganda outside the US.”
    He said none of the interventions would be in English, as it would be unlawful to “address US audiences” with such technology, and any English-language use of social media by Centcom was always clearly attributed. The languages in which the interventions are conducted include Arabic, Farsi, Urdu and Pashto.
    Centcom said it was not targeting any US-based web sites, in English or any other language, and specifically said it was not targeting Facebook or Twitter.
    Once developed, the software could allow US service personnel, working around the clock in one location, to respond to emerging online conversations with any number of co-ordinated messages, blogposts, chatroom posts and other interventions. Details of the contract suggest this location would be MacDill air force base near Tampa, Florida, home of US Special Operations Command.
    Centcom’s contract requires for each controller the provision of one “virtual private server” located in the United States and others appearing to be outside the US to give the impression the fake personas are real people located in different parts of the world.
    It also calls for “traffic mixing”, blending the persona controllers’ internet usage with the usage of people outside Centcom in a manner that must offer “excellent cover and powerful deniability”.
    The multiple persona contract is thought to have been awarded as part of a programme called Operation Earnest Voice (OEV), which was first developed in Iraq as a psychological warfare weapon against the online presence of al-Qaida supporters and others ranged against coalition forces. Since then, OEV is reported to have expanded into a $200m programme and is thought to have been used against jihadists across Pakistan, Afghanistan and the Middle East.
    OEV is seen by senior US commanders as a vital counter-terrorism and counter-radicalisation programme. In evidence to the US Senate’s armed services committee last year, General David Petraeus, then commander of Centcom, described the operation as an effort to “counter extremist ideology and propagandaand to ensure that credible voices in the region are heard”. He said the US military’s objective was to be “first with the truth”.
    This month Petraeus’s successor, General James Mattis, told the same committee that OEV “supports all activities associated with degrading the enemy narrative, including web engagement and web-based product distribution capabilities”.
    Centcom confirmed that the $2.76m contract was awarded to Ntrepid, a newly formed corporation registered in Los Angeles. It would not disclose whether the multiple persona project is already in operation or discuss any related contracts.
    Nobody was available for comment at Ntrepid.
    In his evidence to the Senate committee, Gen Mattis said: “OEV seeks to disrupt recruitment and training of suicide bombers; deny safe havens for our adversaries; and counter extremist ideology and propaganda.” He added that Centcom was working with “our coalition partners” to develop new techniques and tactics the US could use “to counter the adversary in the cyber domain”.
    According to a report by the inspector general of the US defence department in Iraq, OEV was managed by the multinational forces rather than Centcom.
    Asked whether any UK military personnel had been involved in OEV, Britain’s Ministry of Defence said it could find “no evidence”. The MoD refused to say whether it had been involved in the development of persona management programmes, saying: “We don’t comment on cyber capability.”
    OEV was discussed last year at a gathering of electronic warfare specialists in Washington DC, where a senior Centcom officer told delegates that its purpose was to “communicate critical messages and to counter the propaganda of our adversaries”.
    Persona management by the US military would face legal challenges if it were turned against citizens of the US, where a number of people engaged in sock puppetry have faced prosecution.
    Last year a New York lawyer who impersonated a scholar was sentenced to jail after being convicted of “criminal impersonation” and identity theft.
    It is unclear whether a persona management programme would contravene UK law. Legal experts say it could fall foul of the Forgery and Counterfeiting Act 1981, which states that “a person is guilty of forgery if he makes a false instrument, with the intention that he or another shall use it to induce somebody to accept it as genuine, and by reason of so accepting it to do or not to do some act to his own or any other person’s prejudice”. However, this would apply only if a website or social network could be shown to have suffered “prejudice” as a result.
    • This article was amended on 18 March 2011 to remove references to Facebook and Twitter, introduced during the editing process, and to add a comment from Centcom, received after publication, that it is not targeting those sites.

[/ul]

• Re: Use of online comments, social media for opinion manipulation

Lol... a racist is a born racist. Its like me saying that people are tired of sunni monopoly on other sects of islam who get killed in hundreds like they did at ahmedi mosque.
    you have something wrong with your upbringing. you cannot comprehend what you see on video but you want to believe in something you cannot see but which is told to you by your coward leader like zaid.

ha ha... making up facts now. what killings of kashmiris? whatever happens in kashmir is our problem, we dont ask american and isralis to come and kill our brothers and sisters.

http://i53.tinypic.com/2zyda2g.jpg

Simply, be responsible when you go to such websites. Places like “Facebook” and other social websites can’t harm you if you don’t harm yourself by adding people you don’t know, limit the circle to your known friends and you will be okay, the ‘fake identities’ can’t do much if you are responsible enough.