US marines reduced to handouts

And this is suppose to be a superpower…

Iraqi civilians feed hungry US marines
1 hour, 47 minutes ago Add Mideast - AFP to My Yahoo!

CENTRAL IRAQ (AFP) - Iraqi civilians fleeing heavy fighting have stunned and delighted hungry US marines in central Iraq (news - web sites) by giving them food, as guerrilla attacks continue to disrupt coalition supply lines to the rear.

Sergeant Kenneth Wilson said Arabic-speaking US troops made contact with two busloads of Iraqis fleeing south along Route Seven towards Rafit, one of the first friendly meetings with local people for the marines around here.

“They had slaughtered lambs and chickens and boiled eggs and potatoes for their journey out of the frontlines,” Wilson said.

Wow! Amazing. This is really interesting. “Hungry US marines”… well this is one thread, where don’t expect the US-can-do-no-wrong crowd to post. :k: :slight_smile:

I really wonder what kinda conversation took place between the marines and the fleeing locals.
GI Joe: Assalam O Alaikum! Ahlann-wa-Sehlann… I am GI Joe. I hope all of you are in fine health.
Iraqi: Holy moly coly.. .Look at this homeless dude.
GI Joe: I am really sorry to be bothering you at this inappropriate time, but do you have any spare boiled eggs by any chance? :yummy:
Iraqi: Ofcourse we do. You want some?
GI Joe: I’ll appreciate it. Me and my friends over there, have not eaten since yesterday. :bummer: And some water too, please. :teary1:
Iraqi: Ay lay baita… khaali pait marna sehat ke liyay acha nahi hota. Chal khaa le, shabaash (Take this son, Dying on an empty stomach is not good for health. Eat some. Good boy!) :k:

I bet the Iraqis stole it… :hehe:

Third Infantry “Worried” About Food And Water
“Critical Supplies…Are Unaccounted For”

http://businessweek.com/bwdaily/dnflash/mar2003/nf20030328_4776_db071.htm

:hehe: yaar you kill me :hehe:

Re: US marines reduced to handouts

i am more amazed at the fact that these Iraqi civilians - who have left their homes due to this illegal invasion - are willing to share their food with anyone, let alone US marines.
There's Arab hospitality for you - if someone asks you for food, you do your best not to refuse. Were the tables turned - i would like to think that American civilians would have done the same.

Originally posted by Abdali: *
**Iraqi civilians feed hungry US marines

Iraqi civilians fleeing heavy fighting have stunned and delighted hungry US marines in central Iraq by giving them food, as guerrilla attacks continue to disrupt coalition supply lines to the rear. Sergeant Kenneth Wilson said Arabic-speaking US troops made contact with two busloads of Iraqis fleeing south along Route Seven towards Rafit, one of the first friendly meetings with local people for the marines around here.

Re: Re: US marines reduced to handouts

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *
were the tables turned - i would like to think that American civilians would have done the same.

Good point. In my opinion, if the tables were turned, being that the good 'ol USA is the most racist country on earth, I doubt that American civilians would do the same, if they were in the same situation as these Iraqi's.

Fret :flower1:

i think there are some American civilians who would have done the same for Iraqi soldiers, just as i am certain there are some Iraqi civilians who would have denied sharing their food with the US marines. i would like to think that is the way it would have worked - when one is in that particular situation, where food is such a precious commodity, hopefully one’s humanity comes out and ethnic barriers crumble. NOT true for everyone, but hopefully true for some of us. A bit optimistic belief, but who knows? :~)

No wonder the Anglo-Saxon invaders have delayed their push north to Baghdad for upto six days, as reports state their soldiers are surviving on just one meal a day. The brave Fedayeen fighters and Iraqi populous has obvioulsy succeeded in blocking the Anglo-Saxon supply lines. :k:

:rotfl: especially the last line…

:k: Arab hospitality! It takes a lot to feed those who given half a chance would have killed you…

What effect does this have on the morale of the US soldiers?

IS this true? How can supply lines be cut of? Can't they just air drop the stuff...this sounds bogus to me.

If true, of course it is a huge moral defeat for the US

*Originally posted by aravamudhan: *
IS this true? How can supply lines be cut of? Can't they just air drop the stuff...this sounds bogus to me.

If true, of course it is a huge moral defeat for the US

Moral and US are two opposite ends of the spectrum.

a sign of being a great nation :-)
unfortunate to read that americans are using this incident as as propoganda tool to tell the world that iraqi's are feeding us only because they hate saddam regime and this is an act of defiance against him :-)

Trust the US to use their dismal situation to put a propaganda twist to it…:rotfl:

*Originally posted by EntityParadigm: *
a sign of being a great nation :-)
unfortunate to read that americans are using this incident as as propoganda tool to tell the world that iraqi's are feeding us only because they hate saddam regime and this is an act of defiance against him :-)

I would feed them too but I would only add little bit of jamal goata in the delicious food .... :D