my brother got 5 years multiple visa…now what is the procedure of green card? does he has to live in usa for 5 years or he has to visit usa every year or he will not get geen card despite having 5 years US visa?
Re: US green card
Visit visa has nothing to do with getting permanent residency/green card. The only way he can get permanent residency is to a) be sponsored by an employer through h1 visa 2) marry a US citizen c) qualify for an investors visa
Those days of over staying on a visit visa and gaining residency are long gone.
oh but we always heard that u get green card after living 5 years in usa or visit 5 times usa 1 visit is must every year for five years when u have five years multiple visa and u can apply for green card after five years…heard few cases even wh got green card like this ![]()
No…you have heard incorrectly. You are confusing residency and citizenship. A person who already has a green card MUST reside in the US for a certain amount of time within a five year period to qualify for citizenship. Meaning, they cannot stay out of the country for more than 6 months at a time. If you got you green card through marriage to a US citizen, than you can qualify for citizenship yourself after 3 years.
There is NO way your brother can qualify for a green card just by getting a 5 year multiple entry visit visa. That visa is for visiting only. It has a statute of limitation for how long he can stay each time. If he overstays on a visit visa, and gets caught he’s facing a 10 year ban on ever entering the US again. And what is he going to do here anyway? He won’t be able to work, drive, have anything at all in his name. You need a SS number for all that unless he plans on trying to live off of a cash only paying minimum wage job which frankly is not smart, and is not really easy to get anymore.
khatti has given u the correct info suhaina…good luck…maybe he can apply for jobs during his visits or apply for admission to a university do a degree there and then apply for job and get his immigration that way if that is his main goal or he could marry a US citizen (hopefully not just cuz she is a citizen but cuz he actually loves her and intends to spend his life with her)
There is a difference between permanent residency visa which is green card and multiple visit visa. Security is tight in U.S. never think about overstaying, you can only get green card if your brother applies for a job here.
there are more ways. he can make a baby in the US, and when the baby becomes 16, he or she can apply for a green card for his or her dad.
he can get his parents or siblings to become US citizayns, and then they can apply for hara patta for him.
but his best chance would probably be to apply for the green card lottery. i think pakistan is an eligible country.
pakistan is no longer on the list of nations selected for green card lottery.
his bet bet would be to get married to a US citizen, preferably a US-born citizen rather than a naturalized citizen.
Don’t think there is any difference in spouse sponsorship regardless of one being a naturalized citizen or by birth.
you need to find citizen larki for your bro. ![]()
no he doesnt wana live there.he already lives out of pak
our few family friends got green card like this i mean the way i told u all ..i know atleast 5 people who visited usa every year for five years and applied but its 2,3 years back story dont know new rules and law
so he thought its not bad to get a green card “avein he” if its this much easy just 1 visit every year
kia pata kabhi kam bhi ajae ![]()
i think he should give it a try. 5 visits in 5 years and ICE will give him a red card. :\
he doesn’t want to live there yet he wants the card…why?
pata kis kaam anay wala hai? ![]()
aur haan…agar itna asaan hota tau sab log hi lay rahay hotay green card…![]()
ummm…okay…even if this is going to fall on deaf ears, I’m going to say it again… It’s not “this much easy”…it has nothing to do with new rules from 2-3 yrs ago. Like Muzna said, agar itna asaan hota tho saray ke saray log yahin tahelteway aa nahin jaatay? ![]()
Ab humain kya maloom..humnay tho sirf padaishi American hain. 30+ yrs say raherain yahaan, saikron rishtedaaron ko sponsor huway or immigration kiya wa dheka hai…shaiyad aap ki jaankari ziyaada hai ![]()
suhaina…aik kaam karro
ja kar aik barra sa pathar dhoondo
aur ussay la kar khattichic kay sarr par maar doh
hmmm u didnt get it, i say it to ppl when they keep on the same thing even after something has been explained and described to them..
^ ohhhhhhh ![]()
This sinus infection is impairing my comprehension skills
Pir ji -1
khatti - 0
you are right no difference in the process and applications and such are same. the difference may come on how long it takes for the application to get approved esp in the case where the person being sponsored is male. i ve known a couple cases where the dude is still in pakistan and its been over a year they filed the case. anyway, just saying
It doesn’t matter if the petitoner/spouse is a naturalized citizen or citizen by birth. Once you’re a citizen the length of the process is the same, regardless. If the petitoner/spouse is a resident alien only, then it definitely takes longer. I used to work for an attorney who also did immigration law, and I know that there have been a lot of changes to the processing centers and depending on what jurisdiction you fall under, processing times can very.