US congress blocking funds for F-16 purchase: report

US congress blocking funds for F-16 purchase: reportDAWN.COM — PUBLISHED ABOUT 4 HOURS AGO

WHATSAPP

142 COMMENTS

http://www.dawn.com/_img/icons/email.png

EMAIL

[http://www.dawn.com/_img/icons/print.png

PRINT](http://www.dawn.com/news/1255209/us-congress-blocking-funds-for-f-16-purchase-report/print)

WASHINGTON: The United States (US) administration is withholding funds earmarked for Pakistan’s purchase of eight F-16 fighter jets, BBC Urdu reported, citing an unnamed senior US State Department official.
The State Department official told BBC Urdu on condition of anonymity that the Obama administration is still willing to sell the fighter jets to Pakistan, but will not contribute US funds towards the deal.
The US administration took this step with directions from US Senate Committee on Foreign Relations Chairman Bob Corker because only Congress has the authority to dispense or withhold the funds, the official said.
As a result of this move, Pakistan may have to foot the bill of $700 million for the eight fighter jets.
As per the earlier arrangement, Pakistan would have paid $270 million while the US would grant the remaining $430 million for the purchase.
The $742 million earmarked for American military aid to Pakistan in the 2016-2017 budget has also been put on hold, but may be released if Congress changes its mind, the State Department official said, adding that the Obama administration is working with Congress in this regard.
“The sale of weapons is a long process and we cannot comment on such unique circumstances at this time,” the spokesperson for the Pakistan embassy in Washington, Nadeem Hotiana, told the BBC.
The F-16 sale faced stiff resistance in the US Congress earlier this year, when lawmakers moved resolutions both in the House and the Senate, seeking to block the sale.
The US Senate in March blocked a bid to derail the sale, but Corker had vowed to block the use of US funds to finance the deal.
Corker and other lawmakers have expressed concern about Pakistan’s nuclear programme, commitment to fighting terrorism and cooperation in the Afghanistan peace process.
The State Department, however, maintained that the sale of eight F-16s to Pakistan would assist counterterrorism and counterinsurgency operations.
In February 2016, State Department spokesperson Helaena W. White said, “Pakistan’s current F-16s have proven critical to the success of these operations to date," and endorsed Pakistan’s position that it had effectively used its existing fleet of F-16s in counter-terrorism operations.
India, and some US lawmakers, have rejected this claim, saying that the F-16s have not been useful in such operations and would ultimately be used against India.
White, however, noted that the operations Pakistan was conducting in Fata with the help of F-16s, “reduce the ability of militants to use Pakistani territory as a safe haven for terrorism and a base of support for the insurgency in Afghanistan” and “these operations are in the national interests of Pakistan, the United States, Nato, and in the interest of the region more broadly.”

Re: US congress blocking funds for F-16 purchase: report

$700M / 8 = 87.5

With US support, $430M / 8 = $53.75M.

I'd say that take a stand and drop the deal if the first scenario happens. lets have some guts to throw the whole bowl at Lockhead Martin and obviously their lobby's face in the Congress.

Now, the question is, WILL PAKISTAN HAVE THE GUTS TO DO IT ?

There are many reasons given by the US lawmakers for blocking this deal. For example, Shakil Afridi’s case. But I think the biggest problem they have is their perception of Pakistan not taking enough action against Afghan Taliban and Haqqani Network present in Pakistan.
Pakistan under Raheel Sharif denies that we now make any distinction between good/bad Taliban. But honestly, even I am not convinced that Pakistan has tried its best to stop the terrorists use its soil against Afghanistan.

Pakistani public, in general, also has favorable view of Afghan Taliban. Most of us consider TTP the terrorists but Afghan Taliban/Haqqanis as fighting the just war against Americans.

Imran Khan was representing majority of Pakistan when he said in 2012 that Taliban’s holy war in Afghanistan is justified.
(There were riots in Kabul over his statement.)
Imran Khan says Taliban’s ‘holy war’ in Afghanistan is justified by Islamic law | World news | The Guardian

Imran Khan says Taliban’s ‘holy war’ in Afghanistan is justified by Islamic law

*Afghanistan’s government has lashed out at Imran Khan after the former Pakistan cricket star, now a politician, said the Taliban were fighting a “holy war” in the country that was justified by Islamic law.
Speaking after visiting a hospital in Peshawar where Malala Yousafzai – the 14-year-old activist shot in the head by the Taliban for supporting girls’ education – was treated last week, Khan told reporters that insurgents in Afghanistan were fighting a “jihad”. Citing a verse from the Qur’an, he said: “It is very clear that whoever is fighting for their freedom is fighting a jihad …
"The people who are fighting in Afghanistan against the foreign occupation are fighting a jihad,
” he added, according to a video of remarks to journalists.

Afghan politicians have reacted with disbelief, with one parliamentarian suggesting Khan should be arrested. The Ulema Council, a grouping of senior clerics, declared his comments “unislamic”.
A Kabul foreign ministry spokesman said Khan was "either profoundly and dangerously ignorant about the reality in Afghanistan, or he has ill will against the Afghan people.
“Our children are killed on daily basis, civilians killed and our schools, hospitals and infrastructure attacked on a daily basis. To call any of that jihad is profoundly wrong and misguided.”
Hamid Karzai, the Afghan president, has written to all of Pakistan’s political leaders, including Khan, saying: “We must ask why we have been unable to counter the terrorism that is attacking our people, and the promise of a better future for our children.”

*If this is our attitude towards the killers of innocent Afghan people then it is no wonder many Afghans hate Pakistan government, and it is no wonder that America is blocking the sale.
Especially because Taliban are winning and Afghan government is on the verge of collapse. Thanks to our support?!

*April 21, 2016
Analysis: Afghanistan must recognize Taliban are winning
By Nick Paton Walsh, CNN

But at this moment Pakistan now should look for alternative source of jets. Obviously, Russia.

Pakistan should look for alternative deal and reject American deal. Nothing new on part of America, once their interests are served they run away. If they are suspicious of Afghan Taliban and Haqqani networks presence in Pakistan, they have been shielding TTP leaders like Fazlullah in Afghanistan who have been operating from there. They can find TTP leaders in Pakistan and drone them but somehow cant find the ones operating right under their noses. yeah Right.

JF-17 is the answer - deals with amreeka there are kick backs/greasing the wheels and god knows what else. Amreeka would be the last country I would buy from...

Soya Beans, anyone??????

Faulty foreign policy is the reason. No one else to be blamed. Modi once denied entry in the US because of his genocide of 1000 Muslims, now he is being invited to address the US congress. Can you see the difference?

If we think that Pakistan has taken genuine active against Afghan Taliban, that they don't have sanctuaries here from where they plan terrorist activities against Afghan civilians; that US lawmakers are blocking this sale despite our best efforts against those terrorists; then Pakistan should not go for this F16 deal.

Russians have proven that their arsenal is as good as American. If not better.

bheek mangna chor do then everything will fall in place. i thought ishar dar recently said that we have destroyed our begging kashkol.

and now we will have excuses such as oh pakistan has lost so much in the war on terrorism and that we wanted these planes to fight war on terrorism, so americans better give us a grant.

bhai sahib, bheek bheek hee hotiee hai. there is not excuse for it

anyway, usa has not stopped the deal. it is saying that we are not going to pay for it. why are we upset?

why cant we understand that bhakarie kee koi izzat nahieen hotiee. every newspaper in pakistan is reporting it as a major headline without pointing out that this was usa money and they decided not to issue it to us for whatever reason.

if we were paying the money on our own like a self respecting nation, no one would have embarrassed us like this.

matlab bheek bee zaroor mangniee hai, aur shor bee karna hai..wah jee wah

oh meray payaray bhai, it is not about russian arsenal or usa weapons

hamaray paas to paisa hee naahiee hai to buy 8 planes on our own... americans were giving us a grant. if tomorrow russia offers us the same deal where russians are willing to subsidize majority of the deal, we will immediately run to them. hamara kashkol har kasiee kay layee khula hai

we are acting as if we were paying the full money to the usa and they refused to give us the planes... americans are saying poora paisa lao aur maal lay jao :)

kiyon khojie bhai, will you sell your call by paying 60% of the price from your own pocket ;)

also, can anyone please point out if our greatest friend china has ever offered us a subsidized deal or a a grant in any way? they always give us a loan with strict conditions as far as i know. please educate us.

Phoenix:
"oh meray payaray bhai, it is not about russian arsenal or usa weapons"

hmmm. Yes, you are right that it is not that America has refused to give us planes, and now we may get from Russians.

I think my post was focussed more on why they refused to give the 'bheek'.

Khoji you know why Russian arsenal? Because they are good with iran :D

Well, there are only two advanced military equipment manufacturers in teh world, US and Russia. China still has not reached that level. So if America is dissing Pakistan then what Russia is the only similar alternative left. Unless we decide to compromise on quality and get Chinese stuff.

But on the serious note ... you can even go with Black Daesh, ISIS equipment; or the White Daesh, Saudi equipment. If you can. lol.

malik kee marziee...dil may aya to khiskol may dal diya, mood badal gaya to nahieen diya........hum kis cheez ka shor macha rahay hain. i just pray for the days when we will buy by paying 100% and behave like a self respecting nation. world will then respect us automatically.

waisay sarkar, if you go and talk to our army generals, they will tell you that russian arsenal is "bloody crap". yes that i have heard it from the horses's mouth few times. and all of our existing weaponry installed base is american. so it is not that simple

The honorable gentleman from Phoenix desh says "i just pray for the days when we will buy by paying 100%"

I just pray for the days when we wiil focus on what is important - roti, kapada, makaan, health, water, public tfansportation, infrastructure, less waste by affluent who get into weapons and wars discussion while the poor work 24 / 7 to barely get enough food to eat.

Your dream of Pakistan joining Russian-Iran forces to do genocide of Syrian wont come true.

A WHAT? Lol.
Your dream of me dreaming that won't come true either.

Intolerance knows no bounds and no boundaries. Be it ethnic or religious.

I know what has pi**ed this boy off.

Southie, really?
It's all romantic and stuff but we have history to tell us what happens to such pacifist cultures. Remember what happened to Indus Valley people. They also didn't care about military and only worked for the betterment of common people. Great. Except that when white Aryans arrived, they were swiftly taken over and subjugated.

I feel we don't need f16 at the moment.

Then how the army and civilians will survive? :)