I’m not sure if this is the right section to post… but this is a serious issue that my friend need help from US citizens…
Meri dost ka 5 saal pahlay pk mein apni khal;a ke baitay se nikkah ker diya gaya … jiss ko lardki he ne nahin uss ke maan baap ne be bachpan mein he dekha tha… girl and parents still in US when all the “khalaz” “mamon” requested girl’s parents to marry their daughter .. you know all those desi pressures as "kuri noon we khush rakhay ga tay apni family non we support karay ga " kinda anyways , due to family matters she got engage without any fuss .. so after 3.5 years when they return to pk after longgggggggg time… uss ka nikkah hogaya …rukhsati nahin hoyi… 2 weeks latter she returned to US and sponsor the dude .. (she was green cardholder at the time) the dude was not that warming but due to “Sharam” culture it was assumed that the dude is shermila , aur family ka mamla hai so no fuss .. now after 5.5 years when the dude came to the US his behavior was really strange, he was avoiding my friend like a plaque … although the strangest thing is she is superior in all aspects such as monetary , education, manners .. u name it.. she is pretty and intelligent too.. and comparing to the dude… .. he declared that he was interested to get his green card only… within 19 days of his arrival to the US he left for pk claiming he have some business to windup …
any suggestions, where she can get help or what are her rights and responsibilities as she was the petitioner … cuz they don’t want to finish everything right now and trying to give him some time… but wana know some options..
If her parents have agreed to get a divorce and cancel the sponsorship then it is not very difficult .
If her parents do not agree that she get divorce and cancel the sponsorship, she can cancel sponsorship with INS on her own and get divorce too because as per US law she is an adult and her parents have right to control her life. (I am assuming that she is 18+)
Once he got green card, its impossible to cancel his green card, you may want to google this and you will get a lot of cases. Just like Divorce, you have to prove that he did something wrong to you, like beat-up or other abuse. This green card even though is conditional one, you may never cancel it. If you try the rout to talk to immigration, it will take years for them to hear the case, it is not worth it. I would just annul the marriage and have your friend marry someone here in US who will respect her.
Yes not only 18+ but late 20’s as her 9 years wasted parents not pressuring, the issue is everything gets okay .. so that if she move’s on there are no stains on her record… and any info like which forms she should file that she is not responsible as a sponsor ?
Once he got green card, its impossible to cancel his green card, you may want to google this and you will get a lot of cases. Just like Divorce, you have to prove that he did something wrong to you, like beat-up or other abuse. This green card even though is conditional one, you may never cancel it. If you try the rout to talk to immigration, it will take years for them to hear the case, it is not worth it. I would just annul the marriage and have your friend marry someone here in US who will respect her.
so fraud case dosn't worth? or she canot report before he gains entry back to the US as his welcome notice was issued after he left for pk.. and green card may be on its way?
This information is from an US immigration attorney’s website. It better to consult with an immigration attorney who can advise her better based on all the facts .
The vast majority of immigrants to the United States must have the process started for them, by a family relation or an employer that files a visa petition on the immigrant’s behalf. (This is sometimes, but not entirely accurately, referred to as being sponsored.) The person or company that files the petition is called the “petitioner” and the intending immigrant is the “beneficiary.” But what if either the petitioner or the beneficiary has a change of mind or the employer no longer needs the employee? It is possible to cancel a visa petition.
To understand whether and how the petitioner or beneficiary can back out, you first have to understand a bit about the visa petition process. The visa petition must normally be filed with U.S. Citzienship and Immigration Services (USCIS), using either Form I-130 (for family immigration cases) or I-140 (for employment-based immigration cases).
After the petition is approved, the immigrant, with the help of the petitioner, is brought into the process and files an application for an immigrant visa (if coming from outside the United States) or for adjustment of status (if already in the United States and eligible to use the adjustment of status procedure).
Withdrawing the Visa Petition Before USCIS Has Approved It If the visa petition has not yet been approved, it’s relatively easy to cancel it. All you need to do is send a letter to USCIS, at whichever office is currently handling the petition, informing it of your decision. Enclose a copy of the receipt notice, if you received one from USCIS. That will help it trace your file.
If the visa petition has been approved but the immigrant visa or green card has not yet been issued, you’ll need to figure out which office is handling the case and send your request to withdraw to that office. In fact, they’d like you to state the reason for the withdrawal, mainly because if one party is alleging fraud by the other one, USCIS wants to note that for its records.
If, for example, the petition has been approved and the immigrant is awaiting a visa interview at an overseas consulate, the most likely office to be handling the case is the National Visa Center – see its procedures at Immigrant Visas Processing - General FAQs If the Petitioner Wishes to Cancel the Green Card After USCIS Has Issued It If the immigrant visa or green card has been issued, it’s much harder for a petitioner to withdraw support and ask that the green card be cancelled. By this time, the immigrant is considered to have acquired U.S. status in his or her own name, and a petitioner would most likely have to allege fraud to have that status revoked (taken away). You’d want to consult a lawyer who can analyze the situation based on the type of visa at issue and the surrounding circumstances.
Also note that, by this point in the process, all family petitioners have signed an “Affidavit of Support,” promising to financially support the immigrant for approximately ten years after he or she gets the green card or until the beneficiary becomes a U.S. citizen, dies, or has the green card revoked. This obligation survives regardless of a divorce.
so fraud case dosn't worth? or she canot report before he gains entry back to the US as his welcome notice was issued after he left for pk.. and green card may be on its way?
You have to prove that he did fraud, which will be very tough, he can always lie, as he did before. The application can be canceled only until he didn't get the green card, if his card is issued already, your friend is out of luck. You can check with an immigration attorney, he will charge you $250.00 and tell you the same thing or make you write letter to her senator and congressman, so he can cash more from you, but these kind a cases are hard to win.
The guy, in my opinion based on ur information, is not interested in the female in any way. further more his family is also not interested in the marriage but just adjusting the guy in US. So the better way is to get divorce from such guy after highlighting the issue with pakistani relatives.
One of these days, Pakistani parents will learn that NEVER take your daughter to Pakistan and marry her there, we have two distinct cultures, don't sacrifice your child to help out your brother/sister to bring an sob from Pakistan. It doesn't work, taking your boy back to Pak to marry works to some level, but the divorce rate is very high.
Your friend can threaten him that after divorce she will collect monies if he ever step in US, not sure if its true but at least he will get some threat.
Here are my 2 cents. Im a US citizen married to Pakistani citizen. We had our nikkah in Pakistan in 2008. I applied for my husband. He came here, we had a ceremony and all. He got his greencard in the mail. This is only a conditional green card which expires in 2 years. Once that 2 years of date come you have to apply for removal of conditions. This basically is for, they want to see if you are still together, or if the marriage was out of a good intention or not. So we just applied for the removal of conditions. They need proofs like, mutual leases, insurances, utility bills, pictures timeline and all. We mashallah have a 5 months old son. That's the biggest proof lol.
Anyways, initially when the guy gets the green card, it not permanent but conditional. And if you guys do not apply for removal of condition within 90 days before the green card expires then it EXPIRES. Lol you can't do anything to get him tht green card back.
Ppride..didn't you say that welcome letter was issued after he kept for Pakistan? So he didn't take the green card with him? If not, he can't enter back in the us. The entry visa was for entry only..he will need green card to come back.he is probably nit coming back!
You'll have to be married for more than two years to make your GC permanent . Even a GC has been issued , he'll have to go back to USCIS to renew it after 2 years , and prove that they are still together .