urgent - how to network with router?

salaam people
I have a GNET INTERNET GATEWAY IP0006
now the prioblem is that beyiond this I know nothing
now I have 2 pcs both of which have Windows XP, I have high speed cable connection with rogers and I dont have the cd I got with this router
please please please
help me network

Re: urgent - how to network with router?

you dont need any cd to setup a LAN using this router.

Is this the router you have?
[thumb=H]gvc4po11689_4100853.JPG[/thumb]

If yes the, the router you have has a built-in 4 port switch. So you can connect upto 4 PC to the router and share a single connection on all 4 PC's.

just do as follows:
- connect both PC's using a patch cable to the router
- connect the Modem to the router on the port which says: WAN

That's it you're done. Switch on the Router and you should be able to go online..

errrrrrrrrrr… as tradition goes, jaldi say gizzi ko CHAPPPPPPPPPAT maar ke bhaaging

oh .. sorry.. i was gonna say (before i run, cuz aajkal gizzy ki KAFI take ho rahi hay**:hehe:**) was that put all the ‘workgroup’ name of all computers as same.. this way when u enable file/print sharing and open network neighborhood, those computers will show up..

abbay faizy teri toh :smiley: yeh ‘take’ kya hota hai? Karachi ki lingo hogi.. mai itna expert nahin hoon :halo:

Is that ‘take’ as in when u start feeling something in ur back on a crowded 2d bus? :bailan:

are Thanx for reply pai log leken Faizan bhai u have seen our connection, now the thing is file printer sharing not a problem got that workin in no time
but one thing that is troubline me is the net
all I care bout is the internet and nothing else
and gizzy yes hats the router I just dunno how to set the friggin thing up, and faizan bhai u know Kaun is as useless as useless can be
so no help from there all he keep's saying is "kal kardoonga" leken woh kal Kayamat se pehle to aane wala nahin
ultimately faizan bhai he is gonna call u up and say "yaar faizy kuch kar" so instead of him sayin I am just gonna ask u all myself and DO IT

ok yeah thats the router now I have once RJ45 cable runnin from “kaun’s” pc and one from mine to the router. Kaun"s is connected to port 1 and mine on port 2 , the cable modem’s cable is goin to wan, now on computer search I can c the other pc and on other pc I can c my pc’s name but internet is not happeneing
I have also tried sayin "Khulja Sim Sim " 3 times but hat hasnt worked either, now if that didnt work I dunno what will

DO you have make a connection using a username password before connecting to the net? I mean if there is no router and your modem is connected directly to the PC???

temme this first.

its cable modem therefore no user pass
as soon as u plug it ur nets on

miyaaNNN! .. wo CHAKKAR say aap bhee waqif hain .. jo CHAL chuka hay.. iss liay AHTIYAAT shart hay!

take eXtreme precaution whenever he/u call .. :wink:

yeah faizan bhai got ya
now what should I say
no words
tryin to think of something...... no nothin comes to mind

internet cable goes to modem, cable FROM modem, goes to “wan” or “uplink” port of the router. from those 4 ports, connect one cable to your computer.

restart THAT computer.

if its xp, go to dos (cmd,enter) and type ipconfig /all
if its like 98, type in (start>run) winipcfg

what u need is ‘default gateway’ parameters.. for example mine is a 192.168.1.1

WHATEVER that address is, enter that as a web-address in browser: http://192.168.1.1

this (hopefully) brings a setup type screen for administrating the router.. dig into your manual/book of router, it will contain a DEFAULY admin-pwd or no pwd for first time..

DO NOTTTTTTTTTT lose that pwd..

browse around those web-screens, and hopefully u will be able to figure out to set that router for:
. dynamic (dhcp) connection and
. type of connection = dsl (userid/pwd/account info required) OR cable (no parameters required since cable is a HARDWARE solution, where dsl is “MOSTLY” a software-RECOMMENDED solution).

---------------------thats PRETTY MUCH the way “ALL” home-routers are setted up/configured..

though it SHOULD work by plug-n-pray (and single restarting)..

Faizan bhai thanx for the reply, sorry for replyin so late but I did exactly what u said the problem is that after I restart the default gateway does not show up at all and the ip address is 0.0.0.0 what should I do please help

1. make sure dhcp is enable on the router
  2. on the router, set to synamic IP
  3. on the PC's remove any default IP address / static
  4. Depending upon your cable ISP, you may have to CLONE your mac id into the router

he bought a new router, normally dhcp is always on by default..

hmmmmmmmmmmmm.. if u’ve restarted and it shows four zeros.. then.. :bummer: i dont know how from “text” (gs/msn) or phone i can help u..

i guess bhaijan ko tang kartay raho.. :frowning: u r ONE person i cant visit to get it up’n running..

sorry bro :bummer:

not a problem thanx for the reply
will have to break this cookie myself I think
will do it some how thanx neways

Don't know much about it myself, but check if windows firewall or any firewall application is enabled. Disabled it and retry.

^^ thats not the case here :-) four zeros means his routerbox isnt enabled with dhcp or b)somehow the DHCP isnt working rite..

last chance sunny, try switching diffferent types of cables? sometimes its the PHYSICAL connection itself.. sarr phor kar samajh main aata hay :-)