Urdu

Re: Urdu

urdu in west is just like a bull elephant without tusker...american pakis dont care abt wht their children speak...all they care abt is dollars

urdu is a good language . yes teaching your children is how much you value it

well i think we should teach our childern urdu beause its our national language as well as our mother tongue.so, i think its our foremost duty as pakistani's to teach our childern urdu as PiyariRani said they will learn english anyways. :)
if you talk about arabic its also very important for us too because we have to understand QURAAN n i also agree with Cresent said that we have a prespective of our own when we know arabic.:)
take care all of u n remember me in your prayers.:)

i don't know if anyone's noticed it, but urdu is a form of butchered arabic
someone was telling me that roughly 80% of urdu words come from arabic, and urdu speakers still can't understand arabic

if you understand urdu, try paying close attention to each arabic word when reading the Quran and you'll be surprised at how easy it is to understand the gist of the ayaat
on top of that the pronunciation of urdu speakers is horrible, like Wazoo should be Wudoo' and Riaz should be Riyadh, etc.

it's probably easier to go from arabic to urdu, than going the other way around and if I had a choice I would have learned arabic first

Myth.

Urdu vocabulary borrow heavily from Persian and Turkish languages. Classic Urdu literature (prose & poetry) is rife with Persian vocabulary.

ditto!!! I sit across a turkish and farsi speaking co-worker....It is shocking how much similarities are there in Urdu and these two languages. I am learning few sentences from her :) Learning Farsi/Turkish is super easy if you have learned a good deal of Urdu literature.

[quote=Sara516]

I want my kids to have roots in Pakistan and I dont’ want them to feel like idiots whenever they return and have everyone laugh at them :bummer:
quote]

That is the key right there. I have seen my own cousins who were born here and barely speak Urdu, struggling when we talked in Urdu. And if they ever go to Pakistan, I don’t think they will survive even for a day alone. You definitely need the confidence. I would not want my kids to be called ABCD.

i speak urdu/punjabi/tooti phooti english :stuck_out_tongue:
she english/unkown language/gulabi urdu+punjabi :blush:
kids : WTF…confused…:phati:

^Best of both worlds

Since when do I speak spanish? :naraz:

well urdu is a mixture of languages like turkish,arabic n farsi according to my knowledge and i agree with sherafghan when we recite QURAAN with dedication we can understand some words easily.

jal_pari the thing is that it was founded from these languages that's why these languages have so much similarities.

take care n remember me in your prayers.

Typical arrogant fob, NOT a single person here has said they would not want to teach their kids Urdu, aur phir bhi you come out with such stupid statements that show your ghataya mentality. If all we care abt is dollars, then ure a typical Pakistani, lazy pig who’s never lift a finger but :teary2: abuot not having any paisa. Itz okay keep burning, eventually ppl like you will die out :phati:

64 par lagi??;)…yes,i do consider americans pakis as useless production as they have done nothing for pakistan…all u people care abt is dollar…just dollar…

by the way,apnay future kay “honay walay” ko pig to na bolo…zamana kia kahey ga??hahahaha

Apparently all YOU care about is the dollar since that's the one thing you cannot get out of your head. AND mera honaywala is nothing like you, woh accha banda hai :)

woh kahein choudhry parvez elhai say to nahi milta??...yah kahein woh bhens kay paiye ka "business" to nahi karta

I'm single anyways but would like to teach them Arabic and urdu aswell.

http://www.haryana-online.com/urdu.htm

This article shows that the origin of Urdu was near Delhi and is a mixture of Sanskrit/Hindi/Persian or called Hindustani.

^ great read Malhot. Thank you for posting.

Can any of you distingiush between hindhi and urdu
example for wife in hindhi is pathni and in udru it is bibi
Please tell some words ............

I think Biwi is also Hindi word which is used commonly. Other words for wife in Urdu are: Sharik-e-Hayat, Begam, Zojaa etc