Re: Urdu
In the future i c my kids speaking spanish more than urdu ![]()
I came to Canada when I was really young...and alhumdulillah i can still speak urdu, cuz my mom and dad would never talk to me in english.
Although I mix-up a few words here and there, its still understandable, and I consider it a great asset.
My kids will learn Urdu, Arabic, Spanish, English!
As Many As I can teach them , and as many as they are willing to learn :p
but Urdu and Arabic Definitely should be taught!
If not urdu, atleast Arabic...
Although I mix-up a few words here and there, its still understandable, and I consider it a great asset.
My kids will learn Urdu, Arabic, Spanish, English!
As Many As I can teach them , and as many as they are willing to learn :p
but Urdu and Arabic Definitely should be taught!
If not urdu, atleast Arabic...
agreed.....at least arabic is more universal then urdu (majority muslim countries speak arabic etc). Learning to speak and understand urdu is def a plus...although in my case im not sure how realistic that woud be.
I’ll just have to wait and see what happens when she starts school. ![]()
^ hmm…well look at it this way…Urdu is essential in cases where your kids will have to interact with other desis.
Basic Urdu is enough , you don’t have to make them lil Ghalibs ![]()
just keep at it…dont give up. at least she will understand it if not speak it.
but by the time they start interacting with other desi’s they wont have to worry bout urdu since every generation will be speaking english in the first place AND majority of their parents will be english speaking. Look at us for instance…we spoke mainly english to each other. so just imagine generations from now.
[quote=Crescent
Basic Urdu is enough , you don’t have to make them lil Ghalibs
Lol ur right:D I cant imagine her speaking such perfect urdu esp as i dont…mind u it wud freak ppl out if she did!
*AE: * Yes, but if you speak in urdu to me, I would speak in urdu to.
I speak english, sure..but I can still speak urdu, wudn't you want your kids to have this advantage, regardless of others only speaking in english.
incase they go to Pakistan or something.
Thats why, they should know as many languages as they can hehe,, languages are a good asset...i regret not learning that many myself..
majority arabic countries speak arabic not southasian muslims and urdu is spoken by more ppl then arabic:) ......ofcourse its nice to learn the language of quraan but not at the cost of our language.:) .....
^ yes at the cost of our language!!
I took like beginners classes in arabic........mAnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn, as soon as im on break, inshAllah I will finish them.
Arabic is the most complex, yet simple...the deepest langauge I've ever learned in my life.
I can NOW understand why the Quran was revealed in arabic in the first place.
SubhanAllah!!!
I took like beginners classes in arabic........mAnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn, as soon as im on break, inshAllah I will finish them.
*Arabic is the most complex, yet simple...the deepest langauge I've ever learned in my life. *
SubhanAllah!!!
exactly....u described it perfectly.
Arabic is the most complex, yet simple...the deepest langauge I've ever learned in my life.
SubhanAllah!!!
wish u luck:) ..... every muslim should love arabic simply quraan is written in it but as muslim we aren,t obliged to learn arabic....in arabic 1 word has hundreds of meanings so saying u will understand quraan is not entirely true...if that was they case arabs would understand the meaning of whole quraan and we wouldn,t be in situation in which we today are:) ..my dad could speak,write and read arabic but still when he red the quraan and wanted to know the exact meaning he had to take books called seeratein in which every ayah is exeplained apart:) ......so quraan isn,t that easy to understand just cuz u know arabic:) ......
InshAllah my kids will learn urdu/punjabi fluently since thier dad is fluent in it :biggthumb
I want my kids to have roots in Pakistan and I dont’ want them to feel like idiots whenever they return and have everyone laugh at them ![]()
Cresscent–its defnitely easier for kids to learn something when they’r eyoung, coz their brains are still developing..the younger htey are, the more of a sponge they are..
oh as for kids jab hoongai to dekha jai ga:clown: …abi sai ye sar dard nahi lagana chahta.:halo: …
spoken arabic is entirely different from Quranic (classic arabic):)
edit
You can't force your kids to learn Urdu (or anything else for that matter) if you don't value it yourself. You'll be a hypocrite in their eyes. Speak it yourself, cherish it, go to concerts, read literature, and introduce your kids to all that's beautiful about Urdu.
I have family/relative who were never educated in Pakistan but speak, read Urdu well, can understand poetry and take thier kids to concerts etc.; the youngsters love to bhangra and sing tooti phooti desi tunes. :D
If they learn to associate the language and culture with fun and festivities, it'll set them in the direction of further discoverty and learning as they grow.
Brother, Its not that you can understand the Quran, no, since Quranic Arabic is a bit different. its just that, you can get the **essence **of the meaning, and ..well for me, it gave me a whole new perspective towards the Quran.
ofcourse i can't understand every word, but it helps nonetheless.
The way I see it, our kids will learn English anyways so we might as well do our best to teach them Urdu.