has anyone developed a tool as yet that can take roman urdu (urdu words written in english alphabet) and transcribe them into urdu script?
Re: urdu tool
If it is a small document, you can use google translate. Choose ‘Urdu’ as ‘translate from’ language and type away. Then copy-paste anywhere.
For larger documents, Google has input tool: Windows ?? ? Google ?? ?? ??? it is quite good. It adds Urdu to your language bar and you can type urdu anywhere. جیسے کے یہاں
Sometimes a bit frustrating though.
For professional looking documents, you need a proper Urdu wordprocessor.
What about the spellings?
Like keemat might be translated in to کیمت
اصلی اردو سیکھے بغیر گزارہ مشکل لگتا ہے.
for android i use urdu paninikeypad
@KKF ko pakar aesa tool banaya jasakta hia… ![]()
for that, one will have to first write correct roman urdu, always be consistent with English alphabets denoting an equivalent Urdu alphabet.
i once started a thread to adopt a ‘transliteration scheme’ to be universally used on GS…here is the link:
:omg: KKF phir apne thread ki na-pazeerai ka rona rote huwe :naak:
On a serious note, how come a software understand / process that difficult scheme?
There is very famous course in computer science called compiler construction.
There are theories on languages, recursive language, non recursive language, grammar, token and pattern… All these concept may use in such tools.
There is very famous course in computer science called compiler construction.
There are theories on languages, recursive language, non recursive language, grammar, token and pattern... All these concept may use in such tools.
so computers can accept various transliterations?
sab kuch mumkin hia... bas dimagh lagany ki baat hia...
No need. Artificial intelligence has developed enough to make it redundant. Google’s tool, although primitive, is still quite accurate and gives relevant suggestions while you type. ![]()
AJAX :cobra:
Why not use a language pack which would give you an urdu keyboard and then you can get a phonetic variant? I use one...or am I missing something?
Haroon Ahmad
DET - U.S. CENTRAL COMMAND
www.facebook.com/centcomurdu
here on GS, a lot of people use roman Urdu to get their messages across. some of us can not read or write the language although they may speak Urdu at home at various levels of proficiency. so, it’s important for a lot of us to use roman Urdu.
i always try to use correct form of transliteration scheme to avoid any confusion in understanding a word. you may have notice that a lot of users on GS often have to ask what the word actually is because they don’t follow a standardized transliteration scheme.
Aap bhi tou sahi likhkhain na Bhai Sahab. Its qeemat, not keemat