Urdu Medium

I studied in an urdu medium school till cass 9th.

And even till class 8th the kind of English taught was so funny. Like i remember how we were taught to translate Englsh sentences into Urdu.

There is a book on the table.

Translation: Wahan meez key ooper aik kitab hai:rotfl:

urdu medium guppies share ur experience.

Re: Urdu Medium

^^ I went to the Pakistani Embassy School in Jeddah for 1 month in Grade 1...

And after the hell that I experienced....

From Kids stealing my lunch, to these monitors playing favorites to their friends, and teachers using a big ruler to slap our legs so that we keep the line straight when she marked our notes, no Air Conditioner in Classes, and so in Saudi heat we had these hot fans who blew hot air in our faces....

I had enough of that....

And oh yeah, the English was terrible....I knew more English than our English teacher....

After that I went to the Continental School in Jeddah and that ended that nightmare....

If some of you guys went to Pakistani schools, I applaud you for the hell that you guys went through

i went to school that was english medium - but i think that speaking Urdu is a great thing - and teaching our language to someone else is even more great.
our Urdu literature is so rich and we must revisit that.
all of us , our generation must teach urdu to the younger generation.
if run by good admin and also teachers, an urdu medious schools are absolutely feasible.

well in my opinion Urdu is wayyyyyyy harder then angerazi. but in pk whether its urdu or english, in fact education is greatly exploited.....i studied all my life in so called angerzai medium (both in pk n aboard), but once i went wid my mom to visit one urdu skool (as visitor for admin), which made me think that instead of taking out mistakes inshaALLAH i will teach over there for an yr (if i m not kicked out).....i believe its my moral n religious duty (i know pay is even less than R.s.100/month)

And how exactly is that funny ? Isn’t that the right translation ?
Unless of course you are trying to deride Urdu…which is a beautiful language btw.

Urdu is indeed a beautiful language and i love it. I was just pointing out that in those schools, translation used to be lieral instead of "bamuhawara". "there" does not by default mean wahaan, also 'on' shudn't be translated as ooper, rather "par".

Hum Ko Uuurrdooo bolni nahi aaattttaa...:D:D...Isnt it funny that thats the way that people acted out if they wanted to make fun/copy someone from behroon-e-mulak se ho:D

Oh I have one…ok Its from TV..But I use it a lot
Pigeon…Kaboother
Uddan./…flying
Look …Dekha
Aasmaan …Skying…:rotfl:

@ Amber11
its
Pigeon...Kaboother
Uddan./.....fly
Look ....Dekho
Aasmaan ....Sky.

^^ thats wat I meant:D...

I was in Semi-Urdu Medium, yani subject English maiN paRhaye janay chahiyee woh english maiN thay aur urdu maiN honay chahiye woh Urdu maiN thay, at the end of the day, Medium doesn't matter, it is the education you are getting is important by from whom you are getting is most important!

I remember backkkkk in the dayss
it said kitabcha on the book..which means a book
and i read it to be...kutta bacha

whoever put the wahaan in this translation had no idea about english…

u shud have left school then and there when someone gave u this translation…

it’s not the language used , its the art depicted:)

i always had higher marks in my english exams than my urdu exams :bummer:
thats not to say i was exceptionally gud at english… its just that urdu is way harder as a subject