In Pakistan, the history of urdu adab, especially humor (both prose and poetry) is heavily in debt from the contributions made by the high level Army officials of that era. This contribution not only created some masterpieces, but in my humble opinion, helped in softening the image of the armed forces of Pakistan, especially during the times when Pakistan went through two major wars and handful of Martial Laws. Why is that we don’t have such writers now? Army has developed a very ruthless/selfish image lately, and I think the lack of adeeb from this group contributes to the current perception.
Name your favorite writers/poets from armed forces (please include their titles also for our knowledge). Add any comments that you can. This thread has a potential of going on many tangents, all of which can result in a value added discussion.
Read Ashfaq Hussain 'Gentlemen Bismillah' series. read Col. Muhammad Khan's 'Ba-salamat Ravi' as well.
I think such writers lose credibility among masses, as they never talked against the 'bloody civilian attitude' of their masters and always tried to justify martial laws in Pakistan either by keeping silence or justifying it.
I am not sure how much of credibility was lost. Shafeequr Rahman, zameer jaffery, siddiq salik are still considered pretty big names in Urdu adab
I don;t know whether new generation goes for their works or not. Apart from Siddiq Salik, i don't think that I've read anyone talking against atrocities of army. When you present one sided picture, you are bound to loose credibility at one point of time.
I agree with you, but then we should remember that in army, unconditional loyalty is job number one. Army never speaks against itself from any platform, and I think that it's not just true in Pakistan, but everywhere in the world.
To talk about atrocities of armed forces, we have bureaucrat adeebs like Qudratullah Sahab who have done a decent job
O yaar, apni rozi ko kon laat marta hai. It's like when you are a mod of gs, you fight for gs. As soon as you leave, you become the number one complainer, and top thread starter in the feedback forum
Anonymous****January 30, 2013 at 9:05 PM
Gen Sahab with due respect, i have a request that after enjoying all the fascilities in the army it is very easy to say anything against those who have been in the past Like Gen Musharaf,you would have been among the heroes if you would have put off your uniform and would have disobeyed those order which you say have spoiled this country. it is a humble request that every retired gen is talking against army, my advise is why these generals do not deny the fascilities and put the resign…?Reply
Replies