Someone post a tried and tested recipe for urad daal please ![]()
Re: Urad daal recipe
the mash ke daal.... right. i cook it like karahi... boil the urad daal with salt and haldi..take out when it's half done. just like we do the rice for biryani.
in another pan add oil, brown 1. 1/2 onion chopped. brown. add tomatoes, tomato puree. and bhonofy it till the oil separates. add masalas, salt, red chili, garam masala, haldi, zeera pwd.dhania pwd.3-4 green chillies. and now add the daal.mix and bhoon for a while.add 2pinches of kasoori methi. mix now cover and simmer till the daal is done.
you dont need to do tarka. but if you like just take a TBSP of desi ghee add moti darder mirch, hari mirch and zeera and pour on topwith dhania.
The first part where you just boil it with just haldi is it cause you dont soak it Overnight??
Soak daal for like 20-30 mins.
In a pot add daal, salt, red pepper, haldi, corriander masala, ginger garlic paste, and little garam masala. Add water almost double the amount of daal. Rest of the cooking is just like you make chawal. you cook it b/w medium low and medium heat. When the water has almost dried or very little left, reduce the heat and leave it on dum. Make tarka with onions and cilantro. My mom also garnish it with sliced boil eggs then add the tarka on very top. It is yumious.
We cook it very simply and I think its far better than a spicy version but very much tasty. Soak daal (250 grams) in double quantity of water for 1 and half hour. Now put some sliced ginger (20 grams) and 8-10 bullet chillies.(salt to taste). Boil the daal till water evaporates and daal is tender. Now fry the daal with some oil, thinly sliced onions and zeera.
I make it 2 ways:
Spicy:
1 cup maash dal soaked for 1 hour
1 onion, sliced
3-4 cloves garlic smashed and chopped
2" piece of ginger chopped
salt
sabut lal mirchain 3-4
haldi
namak
lal mirch powder to taste
1 med tomato chopped
Fry onions till golden. Add ginger garlic. Fry for a few mins. Add tomatoes and all the spices. Cover and cook on med. When oil separates, add soaked daal and just enough water to cover it. When it boils, turn to low and dum it till it cooks. Granish with dhaniya and hari mirch. Make sure it stir it gently somewhere in the middle so it doesn't stick.
Regular style:
Soak daal for 1 hour.
Boil daal with just enough water, garlic ginger, 2-3 whole peppercorns, sabut lal mirch, namak and lal mirch. Turn to low when it starts boiling. Be sure to check that it isn't sticking. It should be khilli khilli when tender.
Tarka:
Fry 1/2 tsp. zeera and 1 onion sliced thin until brown. Add green chillies and a chutki of kashmiri mirch for color to oil right before pouring over daal.
Now stir in the tarka gently. Done. Add dhaniya if desired.
The first part where you just boil it with just haldi is it cause you dont soak it Overnight??
you dont need to soak it all night. just soak it for an hour or 2.
i posted this recipe in the other thread a while ago…
That appears very yummy!
Okay guys that is not the daal Im talking bout, Its not yellow. Its Black.
And it wont change color after I cook it.
Okay guys that is not the daal Im talking bout, Its not yellow. Its Black.
And it wont change color after I cook it.
you must be talking about the urid daal which is not washed,i mean has the 'chilka'....right..??
my MIL made it once when she was here..she mixed it with chanay ki daal...to make a salan out of it ....
I duno, Im confused.
I dont think it has any chilka on it, its just black.
I had it for iftari a few days back at a restuarant, tasted yum so I went to my indian grocer and told him that Im after the black daal and he pointed the one to me. I know it doesnt have any chilka on it. I know what the chilka wali daal looks like.
ohh wow my fav daal
just finished it yesterday , yum
^oh haan woh daal hum nahi kahtae...uska naam bhi nahi pata..sabot whole urd ho gi shayad
laikin mein nai grocery store mein dheki hai...bilkul black hoti hai.
so you did have it with chilka :o
Urad (bean) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
are you talking about the daal which black/brownish and round in shape… sabat masoor?
does it looks like this? http://www.sugarandspices.info/wp-content/uploads/2006/10/sabut.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y246/shyam69/More%20food%20blog%20pix/masur2.jpg
If it is that one then all I do is throw that daal in the pressure cooker with water, salt, green chilli, haldi, corriander powder, and ginger garlic paste. When the pressure starts let it cook for 2-3 mins Make tarka with onion, zira, and cilantro. Some people make lasan tarka for this daal. (if you don’t have a pressure cooker, then just let it cook in a regular pot on medium heat till the water gets a boil or two…then reduce the heat and let the daal get tender…
OK, you are talking about sabut urad daal which is small back oval shaped. It’s used in dal makhani dishes in Punjab. If that’s the one, I can give you a recipe.
the daal she is talking about is sabut maash.
the top black one if you are talking about this one.
and the daal lusi showed is sabut maser.
the sabut maash kali daal is cooked either alone ,with rajma, or with chana daal.
for that u dont have to do anything either way just add garlic pods and boil. add salt, red chillies and do tarka at the end.you add a bit of adruk to tarka also.
Okay Im talking bout this daal ![]()
The beans are shaped like kidney beans but the size of normal daal beans and each one has a white center. Argh they look exactly like the daal in the pic above.
Now tell how to cook it cause i have it soaking in a bowl ![]()
Yes that is kaali maash or sabut urad ki daal.
Now that you have soaked it, put it with twice and a half the amount of water in a pressure cooker, along with adrak lehsen chopped or paste, sabut surkh mirch, salt, lal mirch, and boil for 20-25 mins after seeti. Make the burner low-med after seeti.
When cooked, do tarka of onion, zeera, tomatoes, hari mirch and garam masala and butter/ghee. Add to daal.
Daal should be creamy when cooked. Add extra water if it swells to correct consistency.