Uple

Once we asked our Islmaiyat teacher, what subjects they study in Madarsa besides Quran o Hadees. He told us about Sarf o Naho and Mantaq. We asked ‘whats Mantaq’. We were then in 6th or 7th class.

Our teacher replied let me give you an example of mantaq. Once a student of mantaq passed by a village street and saw uple on wall. he immediately thought ‘how buffalo climbed the wall to do all this’ from that day we all students started calling Islamiyat teacher ‘Sain mantaq’ :omg:

Jokes apart, how do you see this upla culture in villages? these were used as fuel before introduction of gas. but after introduction of gas, people who used to cook their food using uple as fuel (alongwith wood) started saying ‘ab hamen uplon per bane khane se boo aati hai’ :bummer:

Re: Uple

It was an indigenous and economical use of bio-fuel. But not sure how healthy it is. Has there been any research into health concerns due to smoke exposure while using this? It is still being used in remote villages in the subcontinent.

I think that was more environment friendly. I have seen people using it for keeping mosquitoes away. The smoke due to burning of uple is considered helpful for keeping away mosquitoes.

I think many of the villages today dont have suigas facility. so they use uple for cooking. as for as taste is concerned that differs from that cooked on suigas but not bad at all. I went to village in my childhood furing summervacations. and we had food cooked on upl but no problem.

One more advantages of uple: its still alternate source of fuel for cooking during long duration gas loadshedding

yes but this alternate be used as gas is mainly available in cities where live stock is not allowed to be retained. so who is gonna import upl from villages during gas load shedding

True. There was a time, when small towns and outskirts of big cities had homes where live stock was maintained. My Dadi had buffaloes and cows, but that town got gas and I hardly saw regular use of uple for cooking. Some people in the town, who didn't have sui gas facility used to come our home and got these uple for nominal amounts.But now all the homes sold out their buffaloes, because new generation is not ready to keep them.

Waow you earned money from uple. I once was sitting in my mamoo's house where a aldy came in and handed over some vegetable to my mami and said that she was coming from farm so though of having some vegetables. I asked mami do u pay something. she said no no many times ladies coming from farm get vegetables and distribute these to some houses. in return mamoo's house was used for getting water as there were not many water motors in the village so many people availed water facility from that house. I think dt called barter trade.

Not me but my Dadi used to sell, but for a nominal amount. A 20 kg ghee ka dabba full of uple was given for Re1 or less than that. Sometimes, neighbors took that without paying any thing.

You are right that in rural areas barter trade still survive. There are still some houses in our town which give Lassi to neighbors free of cost.

Uple ke alwa janwar ke gobar ka istemal pani me mila kar ghar ki lipa poti karne me bhi kia jata tha....

Watch from 5.51

I have a question here is it like all paak animal's waste is also paak? I mean we cam touch it?

Coz when womans use it to burn when they are cooking they are also touching it to put in fire again n again,

Also I read somewhere that jinaat ke Jo janwar hotay hain wo paak jinaat ka waste khatay hain?

It's likh in our Culture when someone is coming from village they will bring saag,Mao, beyh, rice flour as a gift.

I also heard about Jinnat eating haddi and gobar. I don't know about Pak waste, but if its on your clothes, I think you can't pray with such clothes.

exactly in villages everything was cooked on uple wali aag. In Sindh, its not easy to find wood for burning.

Its also used as fertiliser in fields. There is a concept in old people that due to used of chemicals as fertilisers, 'sabziyon main se maza nikal gaya hai'

Pas to sabit huwa ko Islamiyat wale molvi sahib bollywood ki movies dekhte the :omg:

Ji nahi saabit yeh hua ke har mazaahib ke manane wale mantiq me maharat rakhtein hain:D

Uples are still widely used in North Indian villages. When I was young, my dadi/nani used them for cooking. Nowadays there is a "Gobar gas plant" in my village, for making bio-gas, which is then piped to different houses. But very poor families still use uples.

BTW, in UP it is called "kanDe", with a hard "da" sound.

In Sindhi, they are called ChheRa ( R =d in Gudia / GuRia)