update on my marriage issue!

As salaam aliakum.
Salaam to all Gupshup members!

I wrote about wanting to marry this girl who converted to Islam, but my family being a problem on this website… a while ago… around May..
I am not sure how many of you remember me…

But, I have an update. :slight_smile: and I wanted to share the news with brothers and sisters/members here.

We are getting married!!! Allahamdulillah.
I did my best talking to my family, and they understood that she was a wonderful and sincere sister.. and my father was against it a lot in the beginning, but now he adores her as my future wife!!! In the beginning, I thought I only had less than 1% chance convincing my family, but I talked to them a lot, and prayed a lot, and Allah did answer my prayers… Allahamdulillah..

She accepted my proposal, :slight_smile: hewwww , :0 :slight_smile: and we are engaged. We will be getting married in fall.
I got some private messages supporting my decision to go for it, and I wanted to say Thank you for all of you who gave me such warm words..

My parents are now very happy that she is a converted sister who loves Islam so much and they are proud to have her, and accept her with great pleasure and a lot of smiles..

My mom, said to me last night that “as long as Allah says it’s fine, there is nothing wrong in marrying someone who is not Pakistani” and she said this girl taught her indirectly about the importance of uniting us as Muslims and not falling apart becaus of ethnicity differences, etc. And I am a 30yrs grown up man, but hearing her say that put tears in my eyes…
Today, we are happy that we decided to value Allah’s words more than our cultural practice…

My dad said we will spread Islam out of Pakistan too, (since she is from non-islamic country) and he is already thinking about a baby… :0

I just wanted to share this news with you here, since this website was the only place I posted this issue a few months ago… when I didn’t know what to do. And you guys gave me great feedbacks etc..

Again, for those who supported me through P.M, thank you so much, and Jazak Allah..

As Salaam aliakum.
:slight_smile:
ali30

Hey congrats.Best of luck.:flower1:

I remember your post! Congratulations!!! I’m so glad you found the strength to stand up for what you thought was best and your parents came around. If I remember correctly, you were more concerned about the reaction of your extended family. I hope they did not give you any grief.

:flower1:

good for you dude.

Congratulations.

ps. Please stop calling her a 'sister' now.

^ :hehe:

Yea, I remember you. I think I was the one who told you that you weren’t man enough to stand up for her…I guess you have proven me wrong…good for you!
btw..what is our sister’s ethnic background…just curious (for gossip purposes)

Faisal Bhai,:smash:

Damn you again, you stole my words!!

PS: Do admins/mods have a preview of posts before members, coz if so I am gonna start a whining thread about it.

:smiley: :smiley:

BTW ali30 wish you all the best

yes i remember ur thread :)…

Congrats n good luck …thats indeed very good news ..

lol @ sister :halo:..

mashaAllah! :slight_smile: thats wonderful news, i knew you’de pull through :k:

inshaAllah you will have a wonderful life together :flower1:

Congrats Ali ! Good to hear you followed your heart and prayers to Allah. May your marriage be true and may Allah bless your family and its growth. Ameen.

Wasaalam.

Congratulations!

Best wishes for a happy future together. :flower1:

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Congratulations.

ps. Please stop calling her a 'sister' now.

ok, I just didn't wanna write her real names etc here. That's all. I do not call her "sister" when I see her. :)

MehnazQ, yeah, I was concerned about the reaction of my family and relatives. But they are all fien now. Not that we have that many relatives here in US, but they are happy now when we are happy. They are really excited for the wedding too.

Hey, Fayz.
Her ethnicity,, She is East Asian, as I wrote in my old thread (but it was a while ago, so I know people wouldn't remember.)

Yea, I remember you. I think I was the one who told you that you weren't man enough to stand up for her...I guess you have proven me wrong...good for you!

Thanks, man. Your words ^ mean a lot.

Alalh hafiz.
ali30

hey ali

salamz

i remember u :slight_smile: and i think i may have pm’d u as well… neways im really happy things have worked out for both of u.. all the best in the future :k:

hey congratss!! may Allah bless u both with a happy life n umm i wouldnt call her sister.. hehe

CONGRATS :flower1: and may Allah mian unite the two of you with future happiness and much joy.

Congratulations :)

Thanks, everyone.

And yeah, Sadzzz,:) I do remember your PM, and reading it really encouraged me a lot. I mean it.

T H A N K Y O U!

ALI30

That’s exactly what I wanted to say.

Congratz man :k:

Asalaamalaikum.

Congrats!:)
She is one happy girl who has a man who can stand up for her..

Happy blessed marriage!

Aik tum hi humaray na howay
Warna dunia main kia nahi hota

Congrats.