UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL WITH USHNA SHAH

hen did you realize a career in acting was for you?
Growing up with a sibling who directed theater, another who won national awards for acting and a mother who was a renowned television and radio (voice) actress, I was always certain this was my calling.How did you get your first big break?
I did a serial called AAG for Jamal Shah which (thankfully) never aired (I was terrible in it). Then my sister introduced me to Hassan Zia and Ahmed Kamran who decided to cast me as the lead in ‘Mere KhwabonKaDiya’ and the rest is history.
Did you undergo any formal training?
I went through rigorous INFORMAL training. Because of my family I was always either backstage, behind the scenes or in a studio. When was six, I had my own children’s radio show so that helped. I’ve been a part of almost every amateur school production for theater or talent shows– either dancing, acting ordirecting.
How did your family and friends respond to news of you entering the industry?
Me entering the field was not a surprise for anyone, as they’ve always known this was what I wanted. Now they just have to deal with it. I get a lot of love, support and encouragement from family and friends and it really motivates me to do better.
How do you get inside the heads of your characters?
Now that I’ve figured out screen acting somewhat and am confident in myself as an actor, I know what I need is to understand the script. Once I can, it I will morph myself to relate to it and work incredibly hard to stay within my interpretation of the character the writer has created.
Which character was your favorite to play and why?
I did a telefilm for HUMTV that aired on March 23[SUP]rd[/SUP]. It had a patriotic theme as it was for Pakistan Day. I played a young girlwho gets married during Partition in 1947, and then we see her again in the 1960’s, where she is a woman in early Pakistan who has endured rape, and then I got to play her super-old version in present day (which wasn’t very aesthetically pleasing). I love that character because of the period aspects of it, as well as the fact that I got to make her grow and evolve. She had endured so much; it was an array of emotions.
How do you handle the fame?
It’s always humbling when people approach me with love and appreciation. Getting used to handling invasion of my privacy, good and bad criticism, tuning out negativity, not getting ahead of myself when there are too many compliments etc is a learning process and I’m getting there.
Who is your mentor?
Hassan Zia, the producer who introduced me to this industry, is like a brother and I respect him a lot. He is someone I go to for guidance. As an actor, I take a lot of advice from my Bashar Momin costar FaysalQuraishi who is one of the best actors Pakistan has produced and really knows the industry inside and out. I really look up to HinaDilPazeer, she isa once-in-a-lifetime talent. I got a chance to meet her backstage once and asked her to give me tips regarding work. I will never forget that moment. I will always treasure her words.
What are the pros and cons of being a woman in this industry?
Pros are that WE ARE WOMEN!! I love being a woman. We are fine freakin’ creatures of God. The drama industry is female oriented as opposed to the film industry, which is typically more male oriented. The cons are the same as any other industry: of course there is sexism, of course there is misogyny, of course there are attempts to exploit. But women embody certain strengths by default so we are designed to handle all of this with dignity and grace.
How was your experience performing on stage with UrwaHocane and Ahsan Khanat the ARY Film Awards?
The ARY film awards put together a brilliant show. It was an honor to perform there; the entire experience was beautiful. I got to meet so many people I admire and to be appreciated and encouraged by them was a blessing. I had a crane lift me above the stage pylons and bring me on the stage (my brilliant idea for an entry). During the performance I wasn’t scared because the audience and adrenaline kept me going but I found out afterwards that when the crane took back my platform, a bolt was loose and the whole thing collapsed backstage. That was seconds after I was in it! I could have fallen on the stage and died…. Or worse, botched my performance!
Do you see yourself heading to Bollywood?
Of course, I do. Anyone who denies they love Bollywood are lying to themselves.However, I’ve always dreamt of doing big things for the Pakistani industry and my timing is perfect because right now there’s a huge revival of cinema. My generation of actors will make history inshAllah.
What is something you’ve learnt the hard way in this industry?
When they say it’s show business, they MEAN it’s show business. A show of smoke and mirrors. I’m glad I learnt things the hard way because there is no better way to learn things.
How do you balance your personal life with work demands?
I don’t. I go into extremes. I’m notoriously unreachable when I’m doing a project. People in my line of work need very strong and understanding people in their lives, because it isn’t easy at all.
LIFESTYLE
Fav. vacation spot: I want to check out Bora Bora

Perfume you wear:
I have an EDP fetish and my signatures for years have been Coco Mademoiselle Chanel and Narcisso Rodriguez For Her. I LOVE Nuit De Tubereuse by L’artisan**
What makes you impatient?:** Traffic jams, stupid people, irresponsible people, people that take too long at the ATM**
Addicted to:** Music**
If I could change one thing about me, it would be:** My lack of patience**
I like my coffee with: Irish Cream
Brain or brawn:** Brain! Tony Stark over Captain America any day**
Love or money:My money, his love
FASHION
You hate it when you see people wearing: Crocs, paisley lawn, the SAME goddamn lawn prints, and fake brands

Your closet is a shrine to:
Heels**
Oldest item in your closet?:** A clutch from the early 1900’s
AT HOME
Fav. piece of furniture in your home: My beg
In my DVD player: These days: Queen (Kangana. WOW)
Most typically Pakistani thing about me:
Saying “I’m in the car, on my way” when I’m actually about to jump into the shower**
What makes you laugh uncontrollably?:** Family Guy. Being tickled. Babies in wigs**
When are you happiest?**When I’m working

UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL WITH USHNA SHAH

Re: UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL WITH USHNA SHAH

Ya Kon ha ? Behlol.

... ki baiwaa.

behlol kya???

The character Behlool from Turkish play Ishk-e-mamnoo.

ok

play boi....

hahahahahaha. Vasay Behlool ma ny Mahool ko bola tha

That means, Mahool = play-boi ?

Mahool … ? :5: Kuch hamain bhi to bataao.

billi , shair ko darkhat Par charhna nhe sikha sakti

her face got fat now

OMG ushna is ismat tahira'z daughter and irsa ghazal'z sister....WOW

This was not hidden secret. Unfortunately, Ushna Shah and her mother Ismat Tahira are not great actress but Ushna’s sister Isra Ghazal is best and mature actor. :cobra:

It's amazing how children of actors believe that they must follow route and convince themselves that they too can act. Just like Behroz Sabzwari's son.

How nice of her to admit that.