Re: Untraditional wedding
Good luck with your tea and pastries!!!
I like PCG's ideas. I hate buffets at weddings - it's so tacky!! I mean you're all dressed up, it's a shaadi and then a buffet?? The desserts can be served buffet style.
I really don't want to have the traditional biryani, kebabs and korma ... but I doubt desi guests would appreciate foie gras or sashimi.
My family telling me, “He is too old for you.”
I think I’ll do that ![]()
What difference will it make? In the end, everyone is stressed out and tired, 2 aunties are no longer talking to each other, 1 auntie is annoyed because she wasn't called for the group photo, 10 babies are still crying as they were at the beginning, the waiters are pissed because they didn't get enough tip, everyone said the food sucked, and 2 uncles can't stop carrying on the debate about India vs Pakistan. Then the bills start coming in and you wonder if all that was really necessary.
^haha, that is too too true...that ended up happening at throughout my cousins wedding. shaadis are so fussy, the family members turn quite militant knowing they have so many responsibilites and then handling DESI people on top of that.
keep it simple folks!
Some things I've seen at weddings I've been to:
At my friend’s wedding two weeks ago the menu was delicious. they had a variety of rice, couscous and pasta, with a baked chicken in some sauce, roast beef in strips, a really tender fish, and lots of stir fried veggies in different mixtures. and lots of cheese :D.
i loved it.
and they actually did the assigned seating thing. people started off in place. when they tried to get people to wait until their tables were called, that’s when things went mad (despite the fact that there had been plenty of appetizers and such). you’d think these people had never been fed before.
of course i was at table two so it didn’t make a difference to me ![]()
Have the couple do a dance together.
Have the hubby make a speech to his new wife.
^ SOmeone did these few years back in our town, now they have kids but the familys still mad at them:D
http://www.zeerum.com/gallery2/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.ShowItem&g2_itemId=2364
i think making a slide show or something would be pretty interesting too…u can put hte pics of the hubby nu from childhood to now…or before the wedding pics together..if the wedding is not arranged…something like that…got the idea from this picture
Everybody seems to do the powerpoint presentation these days. Personally, I am sick of it and find it boring especially if I’m not that close to the bride and groom. It’s fun for close friends and family … lekin I never liked the idea of it.
Giving short and funny speeches is good. Having an MC is also good, especially if they are funny.
I’ve been to a few weddings where they had a seating plan, or attempted to do a seating plan and it didn’t work cause everybody went and sat wherever they wanted.
Anything goes these days … I’ve been to weddings/walimas where they hired dhol players, sitar players, professional dancers, belly dancers, etc. etc.
It would be nice if the bride and groom actually got off the stage and talked to their guests, walked around the hall, and yeah, even danced together.
Although, I recently went to a wedding where the bride and groom danced to a Shania Twain song as soon as they came into the hall and it created a lot of
:faints:
amongst some of the guests. Of course, nobody said anything about the dulha, but the dulhan got a lot of bad things said about her.
desis are known not to show their emotions *sigh -
why why and why
Here is what I thought of my wedding day...
After gettin dressed in Traditional clothes, both bride and groom should go to studio and have a FUNNY photo session! I will be like holding bailan in my hand and posing as if I am already sick of my hubby and He would be making BAYCHARA face OR make him sit in a GHADHA position and sit on him like a Maharani smoking
Dancing on a first day I would LOVE to take a chance BUT since I love my parents I don't want to give them Heart Attack either. You guys can play some games like musical chair/hide and seek lol and cricket...aight aight im just playin' around.
Just do watever is suitable and ACCEPTABLE among the people you invited :)
Hubby and i did a 1st dance and ive been to loads of weddings here where they seem to do a 1st dance. I didnt really care abt what ppl thought of me cos i was just so happy to be married2my hubby.
Powerpoints seem to the rage here as well but i have to admit we do get bored of looking at so many pics.
ok wait.. what kind of power point presentations people do?!?!
Isn't it going to create a lot of fuss if the bride and groom were dating together and did a power point presentationof their not-so-halal pictures?!?
If not that, then whats the point of doing power point presentation of their childhood pictures?!?!
As a bride, I would be pissed off if anyone dared to share my childhood pictures with a whole bunch of strangers especially on my wedding day and also why should I let other people see my hubby's childhood pictures!! that's just way too much!!
also, as a guest, why in the world would I be interested in looking at their childhood pictures?!?!
I am just wondering hwo does it go in a desi wedding?!?
or try this…on each every table in a guest hall…have a small PATAKHA planted in flower vase and some how have a timming set up for the arrival of a bride in a hall. Funny thing people sittin on a table wouldn’t know and as soon the bride enters the hall…let the fire begins ![]()
Bibi saari umer paRi hae shohar ko unglioN pe nachane ki, aik din tou bakhsh dou becharae ko. Aaj kal ki laRkian...
i like for the valima that the bride and groom walked around the treated the guests..i went to one of those weddings..it was nice....i dont think no one mentioned a cake cutting ceremony...those are alwasy nice...for my cousins, when they had the cake cutting part, a bunch of balloons were dropped from the ceiling...it was very nice and a surprise, since no one knew about it....
..i went to one of those sit-down paki weddings, but i didnt like it...it took them forever to serve the food...i like to eat my food wtih everything on all one plate..not the chicken first, then wait...then rice...then wait...then salan...etc...buffet style al the way baby!! lol...appetizers are alwasy good..keeps the moms and their hungry kids from going crazy...another thing for kids is maybe hiring a clown or some sort of entertainer in another room...i dont know about anyone else, but in our family, the kids are the crazy ones...alwasy running around and breaking something...
when i did the slideshow for my brothers wedding, it wasnt about my brother at all...we had the wedding here in toronto, and my bhabhi came from pakistan and all her family was there...so in order to make it feel like her family was with her, i made a slide show with the jawad ahmad song (yehi to hai apna pan) and had pics of her and her family , and then her wiht our family....
..i also think that the first thing you shoud do at the wedding is have someone read from the quran...i dunno...it just seems to start things off on the right foot...
For my sister’s cake-cutting ceremony, I got my dad, but then my mom disappeared so I sent him to find her … she was at the back of the hall chatting with somebody and by the time I turned around, both the dulha and dulhan started cutting the cake on their own without anybody around them.
It was over with by the time ammi and daddy came. People didn’t even know they cut the cake, hehehe.
Thanks guys!
By untraditional I mean unusual. I am so not into having hindu rasmein at my wedding and will not have the usual mehndi either. I m just going to have all girl party instead and will have fun with my closest friends.
At the wedding I want cake too yes. I would love the couple dance but dont wanna give my parents heart attack so I'll wait with that till I am m home with my hubby:D
invite orthodox jews and jehovahs witness to your wedding.