With jerky people you have to act like jerks SOMETIMES.
I know its hard, especially when its not your personality to be rude and mean, but somestime some circumstances invite you to go off all limits and to step to their level. A jerk person will not get the message till you tell him back in the same manner. A nicer person would be shocked if you reply in a rude manner but a bad person will understand that you mean it real. So its OKAY to be jerky at sometimes.
Btw now, I understand why working females in offices are seen as a good profession in our desi environment, its because of some jerks like your co-workers. I would have slapped him, if some had tried to get near me in a flirty manner.
Irem, the workplace is unfortunately a dog eat dog world. Either take it or dish it out :D
Teach the guy a lesson and that bai-jamaalo bibi too.
Kaafi bardaasht kar liya hai aap nai. Next time you don´t need to be "too nice".
Irem, you should quit and lock yourself in your house. It’s a scawwy world outside. :shudder:
Matsui loser, you should lock ur self in a minimum security mental facilty.
oh yeah i think that J guy will give you nice company. two dummies.
*Originally posted by irem: *
i think i'll try to be as patient as possible and if someday it becomes impossible to maintain my cool then itll hapen but ill try to avert that situation inshallah
That´s the best way for sure. Try to avoid those two as much as possible. But working in the same office, that´ll be hard.
Sister irem,
I think, its better to ignore that jerk if he keeps a distance. If he tries to be cheeky and gets closer like he did that day, he deserves a slap. I would still say, its better to avoid him. When he shouts don't even look at him and act as if you are not listening.
Regarding the be jamaalo, its better to make some stuff clear to her. Its better if your group speaks out.
Re: unprofessional/rude co-workers
Dear irem. I’ve not been to the workplace yet but just felt like replying. Forewarning just becuse you question was s’thing like 'what do you do when this happens to you in the work place.
What hurts you? sarcastic remark or saying such thing ‘in front of everone else who was present at the lunch table’.
You are making a mistake here. You see you there is s’thing which makes you uncomfy and you are not letting others know about it. First this is as a professional you should have first asked her politely [as you are a polite person] Are you talking about/to me? suppose her reply was yes. You could have said anything like “people can have problems and might get late for whatever reason, who gave you a right to talk about the issue. Even if I did it without a good reason, there are people to take care of that. So you should mind your own business, please be careful next time”
And suppose she was saying it to you and was not brave enough to face it she would have said “NO” even then you could have easily said “people could have problem and you are no one to comment on people coming late, you may hurt s’one so be careful.” : )
Good and Bad goes togather, if you still at working at a place where your one email turned things for you, then you must realise it happens like this. I mean, I really doubt anyone in the world has co-workers who are all “good and all”. One of my teacher once adviced me to work [on group projects] with those who you dislike most, it will prepare you for the practicle work. Well incase some of your study part is still left thake it as an advice, hope it will help : )
What I understood from the situation is that you and your “well behaved” friends are mixing up things. I mean if you say s’thing right in the public or if you ask for your right or if you raise a voice against s’thing you dont like this doesnt mean you are not ‘well behaved’. I dont understand why you wrote: " we won’t publically answer ".
Point two: Men are not suppose to raise thier voices while addressing the ladies, you should keep that in mind and who so ever done it you should pinpoint that person right at the spot. If you would have answered him back, politely, it would have conveyed the message not to talk in this manner again. Since you have not done it before, you’ll face another of such situation, and when you do, please dont be stunned and do talk to this man about it. And doing it infront of people helps in conveying the message to almost everyone hearing you. But dont be disrespectful. I hope you are not one of the sort. : )
Be paitiant, dont shout or raise your voice. Just try to convey your message in a sober commanding tone. It will help, hopefully
Tell him not to do that. Simple
Running away from problem like ‘got up and left’ doesnt help much. At least not in the long run. What seems to be more appropriate is that if you dislike s’thing he does tell him “Can you please mind xyz habbit of yours? if you cant stop atleast dont do it with me.”
make sure you inform someone superior to you (in the office) because later your boss will blame you for it. I was in sh!t like this once but I informed a superior and later when my boss came know about it he was happy. And its true you gotta put up with various types of people @ work ... its part of the job. BUT, with someone like J .... a hardrock slap should do the trick ;) ..... man I feel agravated thinking about the dude .. khair .. not my battle :p
Irem,
About the guy ...
Schedule a meeting with him and go over your company's sexual harassment policy :D
I hope this will help