I have come across this service
callpakistandirect . com
and I am very impressed with the quality of sound. I currently have the device package and would definately recommand it.
And I tired their NON-Device pakcage too for Unlimted Calls from Pakistan to US and its awesome too … but with device package you can also call to Pakistan and recieve unlimited calls from there…
Its worht giving a try and if it really helped somebody post me a reply… I l be glad to know…
So you came across this service and joined Gupshup to tell us about it? Gee, thanks!
Personally, I think the technological solution (getting a Pakistan phone number in US) is interesting and compelling, but this $35-50 monthly charge is quite outrageous. **Braintel**charges a measly Rs 150/month for the same service, albeit, they have temporarily stopped giving new connections for capacity reasons and they require a Pakistani ID card. And they don’t charge 11 cents per outgoing minute either, rather it is 75 paisas per minute for local calls. You can’t beat that with this rip-off.
One friend of mine uses this Brain set up, complete with a Vonage-like box and phone set. Works like a charm, with excellent sound quality, cheap-ass rates and best of all, is working for 2+ years now.
A few weeks ago, Brain opened the service for new subscriptions and during that window another friend got into the action. He was in Pakistan at that time, and got two accounts: one for himself and one for his brother in Canada. Now he is back in US and is using Brain's software solution, where you download a software to your computer and from there, make calls to Pakistan a la Net-2-phone style and it works very well as well. Though, ofcourse the downside is that you won't get calls if your computer is off.
So, all in all, the call quality is excellent and the box-solution with a real phone attached is really the best deal out there.
When I visit Pakistan, insha allah, next month, I will check it out myself and hopefully if new connections are being offered at that time, will let you know.
Yes Faisal you are rite but i m not saying to buy any kinda of phone , they have Phone-to-Phone service too so "ur phoppo from layari can also call if she want to she dont have to have that braintel phone ox- kinda thing... she can just use her land line and dial ur local number for pakistan"
What you are talking about is a device setup , even with tht solution I ve bought tht here in US and ppl in pakistan dont have to buy any thing except a cheap regular phone will a dialpad attached to a telephone line.
And by the way , $50 @60.0= PKR 3000 which nowadays is nothing for unlimited calls from Pakistan to US UK or CA as compare to ppl here in US spend to call for limited minutes to Pakistan.
Do the math then talk ... there is nothing cheaper then Call pakistan direct . com
And wth abt limited connections due to high volume , cuz the service i know dont have any limitations. so if you pay more you get more facilities or just stick to your measly Rs. 150/month plan and wait when they give u one connection activated
just find me few more names next time and let me know ...
^ Hain ji? Say that again. That Braintel thing is exactly similar where you hook up a regular phone to the box. Pay Rs 150/month and have anyone in Pakistan call you from their regular phone. All they have to dial is a local Lahore number. And if you want to call them from America, the cost is Rs 0.75 per minute for local calls and Rs 2.25/minute for calls to Karachi/Islamabad/anywhere else in Pakistan.
Now tell me again, why should I pay $30 to receive unlimited incoming calls and pay 11 cents for each outgoing minute?
Kamal, I have checked and Braintel is still offering new connections, but someone in Lahore has to get it for you, by going there and providing copy of their national id card. You can have your credit card set up so monthly bill is paid automatically, else they will want a deposit.
Now tell me again, why should I pay $30 to receive unlimited incoming calls and pay 11 cents for each outgoing minute?
Kamal, I have checked and Braintel is still offering new connections, but someone in Lahore has to get it for you, by going there and providing copy of their national id card. You can have your credit card set up so monthly bill is paid automatically, else they will want a deposit.
"...regular phone to the box" by the way which box ?
I did use braintel for while but had so many problems with their connetions that I cancelled. And, this company CallPakistanDirect really sucks. I am thinking about suing their behinds. Their service really really sucks and they don't have anything called Customer Service. And they advertise something and when you signup you find our that they can't offer what you signed up for. They charged me $150+ for one of their plans and the stupid device. It has been 3 months and the service is not on and the device does not work. I am tired of calling and emailing, but they look like they ran with everyones money. No calls and no emails. Please take my advise DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT DOING BUSINESS WITH THEM.. CALLPAKISTANDIRECT SUCKS..
MY goodness ! thts wht they did to you awwwwwww .. i feel so sorry for you...but listen first of all there is no $150 kinda a plan and about customer service that is available offcourse its not 24hr. but they atleast have it thts for sure...
And Last but not least ... about Sue them ... it will take more to sue to get wht u lost.... and still I think you are just a big fat lair..... arent you from Lahore.... because 90 women out of 100 are like that(FAT&LAIR) and 99 out of 100 try to sue companies for some kinda trouble they encounter....
Oh 1 more thing.....The use of Capital Letters really wont help too convince poeple....n e ways nice try ... better luck next time.....
FYI: I m a CPD user and I am still talking to my family everyday ... so one thing is for sure....they never ran off ....
www . call pakistan direct . com
" Unlimited Incoming Calls from Pakistan To US, CA, UK. "
is expensive but still its worth spending......
I use Pak voice . com . Unlimited calls from pakistan to USA, Canada or UK to my family for only $10 month. They also have a two way calling plan for 19.99 for unlimited calls. don't think there is a better service out there. I love it!
Try them, you'll like it.
SZ
[/Shazia]
[quote=Shazia]
paklinks.com/gs/images/statusicon/post_old.gif
May 12th, 2006, 09:16 PM Join Date: May 2006
[/Shazia]
If you were already enjoying and loving Pak VC in May for $10 then wht made you signup Call Pakistan Direct for $150!!!!!!!!
Your Recent post was in JUN about Call pakistan direct that is sucks....in Big Letters...like you were really frustated....then Tell me one thing... How in the world keeping one plan in MAY 2006, for so cheap serving same purpose made you signup for another plan for way high price ($150 ) from CPD in JUN and then you came here to post a negative remark about the service.
Conclusion:
What I think is if lets suppose you were telling truth in May about Pak voice but then next month you singed up for Call pakistandirect and start giving wrong information about it....which hopefully no body is going to buy you story .... as u r a L A I RRR!!!
Personally, I think the technological solution (getting a Pakistan phone number in US) is interesting and compelling, but this $35-50 monthly charge is quite outrageous. Braintel charges a measly Rs 150/month for the same service, albeit, they have temporarily stopped giving new connections for capacity reasons and they require a Pakistani ID card. And they don't charge 11 cents per outgoing minute either, rather it is 75 paisas per minute for local calls. You can't beat that with this rip-off.
wow !! [size=2]**
BrainTEL Services are Temporarily suspended due to the Server Upgradation.
.........Cool thts wht happens when u go for measly Rs. 150/month....
Lo kar lo baat ..............."[/size]You can't beat that with this rip-off[size=2] "**[/size]... i think u are right... nobody can beat them now.... as they are gone with the wind....
Keep that BOX kinda thing in your showcase......it might look better their now...
[size=2][/size]
sanam.. you are taking it way too personally. Do you have some kind of vested interest in this service or are you just a very very happy and satisfied customer and want to make sure every one gets it, otherwise they are called names, like you called shazia a "big fat liar"?
Will any body tell me that is there any option there without Voip or without using pc…to receive calls from pakistan..i m in uk..and have only mob…and land number…i hope some one will help me reguarding this..i asked from directpakistan..they said they r offering only for can and usa now…so some one let me know is it possible…