"Unity" in Islam: Do we misunderstand this term?

Quran might not be clear in a lot of ways but then in a lot of other ways it IS quite clear, we just have to ‘try’ and understand it. Long time ago, I was once reading Quran and came across a verse in surah An’am, verse 159:

إِنَّ الَّذِينَ فَرَّقُواْ دِينَهُمْ وَكَانُواْ شِيَعًا لَّسْتَ مِنْهُمْ فِي شَيْءٍ إِنَّمَا أَمْرُهُمْ إِلَى اللّهِ ثُمَّ يُنَبِّئُهُم بِمَا كَانُواْ يَفْعَلُونَ

At that time, I did understand what it actually meant but today I was just searching around and found an Imam’s answer to a particular question that leads to discussing this verse in detail.

**Question: **

Isn’t it prohibited in Islam to divide into sections of the ummah as it says in the Qur’ an: And hold fast, All together, by the rope Which ALLAH (stretches out for you), and be not divided amoung yourselves;"[Al Qur’an 3:103]?

**Answer: **

We would like to state the following points:

**1. Muslims Should be United **

It is a fact that Muslims today, are divided amongst themselves. The tragedy is that such divisions are not endorsed by Islam at all. Islam believes in fostering unity amongst its followers.

The Glorious Qur’an says:

“And hold fast,All together, by the rope Which Allah (stretches out for you), and be not divided among yourselves;” [Al-Qur’an 3:103]

Which is the rope of Allah that is being referred to in this verse? It is the Glorious Qur’an. The Glorious Qur’an is the rope of Allah which all Muslims should hold fast together. There is double emphasis in this verse. Besides saying ‘hold fast all together’ it also says, ‘be not divided’.

Qur’an further says,

“Obey Allah, and obey the Messenger” [Al-Qur’an 4:59]

All the Muslim should follow the Qur’an and authentic Ahadith and be not divided among themselves.

**2. It is Prohibited to make sects and divisions in Islam **

Qur’an says:

“As for those who divide Their religion and break up Into sects, thou hast No part in them in the least: Their affair is with Allah: He will in the end Tell them the truth Of all that they did.”
[Al-Qur’an 6:159]

In this verse Allah (swt) says that one should disassociate oneself from those who divide their religion and break it up into sects.

But when one asks a Muslim, “who are you?”, the common answer is either 'I am a Sunni, or ‘I am a Shia’. Some call themselves Hanafi, or Shafi or Maliki or Humbali, Salafi etc. Some say ‘I am a Deobandi’, while some others say ‘I am a Barelvi’.

**3. Our Prophet was a Muslim **

One may ask such Muslims, “Who was our beloved prophet (pbuh)? Was he a Hanafi or a Shafi, or a Humbali or a Maliki?” No! He was a Muslim, like all the other prophets and messengers of Allah before him.

It is mentioned in chapter 3 verse 52 of Al-Qur’an that Jesus (pbuh) was a Muslim.

Further, in chapter 3 verse 67, Al-Qur’an says that Ibrahim (pbuh) was not a Jew or a Christian but was a Muslim.

**4.Qur’an says call yourselves Muslim **

If anyone poses a Muslim the question who are you, he should say “I am a MUSLIM”. Surah Fussilat chapter 41 verse 33 says

"Who is better in speech Than one who calls (men) To Allah, works righteousness,
And says, ‘I am of those Who bow in Islam (Muslim)?’ " [Al-Qur’an 41:33]

The Qur’an says “Say I am of those who bow in Islam”. In other words, say, “I am a Muslim”.

The Prophet (pbuh) dictated letters to non-Muslim kings and rulers inviting them to accept Islam. In these letters he mentioned the verse of the Qur’an from Surah Al-Imran chapter 3 verse 64:

Say ye: “Bear witness That we (at least) Are Muslims (bowing To Allah’s Will).” [Al-Qur’an 3:64]

**5. Respect all the Great Scholars of Islam **

We must respect all the great scholars of Islam, including the four Imaams, Imam Abu Hanifa, Imam Shafi, Imam Humbal and Imam Malik (may Allah be pleased with them all). They were great scholars and may Allah reward them for their research and hardwork. One can have no objection if someone agrees with the views and research of Imam Abu Hanifa or Imam Shafi, etc. But when posed a question, ‘who are you?’, the reply should only be ‘I am a Muslim’.

The Glorious Qur’an mentions in several verses, “Obey Allah and obey His Messenger”. A true Muslim should only follow the Glorious Qur’an and the Sahih Hadith. He can agree with the views of any scholar as long as they conform to the teachings of the Qur’an and Sahih Hadith. If such views go against the Word of Allah, or the Sunnah of His Prophet, then they carry no weight, regardless of how learned the scholar might be.

If only all Muslims read the Qur’an with understanding and adhere to Sahih Hadith, Inshallah most of these differences would be solved and we could be one united Muslim Ummah

I’m not sure if this verse has been discussed before, and if it has been, I guess mods must have closed that thread down by referring it to be offensive to some particular people. I’m not sure if this is offensive in a way, but we’re here to learn and bring knowledge upon those who post questions here and there is nothing wrong with that I guess.

So, regarding this information; I was wondering if our sunni/shia and other alims, such as those who show up in Alim Online show, who are so educated and knowledgable, have given this verse a thought? I have seen them giving quranic verses as examples but then no one in that show questions this fact.

I was with this friend of mine two years back and she asked me what kind of muslim are you? and I paused for a sec and smiled back and said…doesn’t being just a “muslim” explain to you well enough that i AM a muslim and nothing else? because that is what followers of islam are called. She got so confused that she kept asking me that how can that be…are you sunni or shia or ahmadi or anything else? I told her to give this topic a stop because I am none of that and NO I am not a wahabi if that is what you’re thinking of asking me but then again just to make it clear to you, I’m closer to being a sunni.

I often wonder that why do people follow the footsteps of their ancestors and parents when it comes to religion? They read quran, they do what Allah tells them to do but Allah also says in quran to not follow your ancestors blindly without questioning their religious deeds. People don’t go and read everything themself rather than just hearing things from their parents and following it. Even if my mum tells me to read this this and if im still not satisfied I go find it in quran. What’s wrong with questioning? Why are people offended when you question your religion? That’s another broad topic but lets just stick with what I want to discuss here; unity in Islam and how religious sects and groups disunite muslims.

Any thoughts?

[Mods, please be fair. I really want to know what people have to say about this]

Re: "Unity" in Islam: Do we misunderstand this term?

The contents of this post is something that everyone of us should think about seriously.

We have to be just Muslims.

Alhamdulillah, I have no sect. I am a muslim only. I respect anyone who can tell me anything about Islam, any scholar or anyone who can explain islam to me.

Typical wahabi behavior :D !

^ Quran is not a wahabi book chanda. Every muslim follows it. People ignore these things. Since you're quite neutral, what do you have to say?

Very good topic started
I am sure every sane muslim agree with your point of view
However to be realistic we have to all decide on a "roadmap" as to how to achieve unity
Regarding the common themes One God one Book and the belief in the last Prophet(PBUH)
I am sure all muslims agree.It is the history of Islam after the Prophet(PBUH) that the conflict really starts there are a few options
either ignore these historical events altogather and just focus on the basics it will be a good start intially but is certainly not enough
Try to decide on a single honest unbiased version of history(which is a big problem in itself considering the widely differing traditions) whose focus would be to bridge the gap as much as possible between the opposing sides.As far as I know the different Fiqahs evolved centuaries after the Prophet(PBUH) before that the different sects of muslims just started of as political rather than religious groups.
Some other changes should be to discourage the many innovations(Bidah) that have taken root amongst many sects of the muslims over the centuaries,some of which clearly violates islamic injuctions.
And please stop calling each other kafir or apostates who are we to decide who is kafir or not?

I'd say ur 100% right & thanks for sharing xcellent info. Uv proved urself yet again.

I'd say I call myself a Muslim, without visas & passports, my head bows to Kabah, MadiNAh is my destiny, our great Prophet (SAWW) guided us with a divine book. It truly has every answer Destinee.

Our Prophet (SAWW) didnt know how to read or write, yet he was instructed by Allah Almighty to Read (Iqra). Quran means Book meant to be read (parhe janay waali kitaab), understood. We shouldnt be dividing ourselves, but unfortunately this is part of the Signs.

We should try & understand the Quran in English/Urdu whatever language ur fluent in.

excellent info, thanks for sharing. Thanks for sharing , Destinee.

Great topic and thank you for sharing.

It surely has a strong message that many of us are in need of following including myself. It has surely served as a great reminder and would definitely help me be more cautious in the future when presented with such a situation, as well as it will refrain me from asking anyone a question of such a nature.

I personally don't think there's anything wrong with questioning what we are being preached, what our elders say, and that which is not clearly understandable to us. It is often very difficult to follow that which does not make sense and I can't imagine how it could make anyone feel comfortable with what they are following, unless they feel there is some authenticity attached to it.

I hope we do manage to attain unity within the Muslim ummah. The way things are going it does not seem like an easy task. It would require a lot of patience and tolerance on everyone's part, as well as it will require strong and thorough understanding of the Quran, which many of us lack (foremost myself). I would agree that reading the Quran in Urdu and English is very good, however, for myself, I feel it is vital that I learn Arabic, as I feel much of the meaning is lost in translation as well as it loses its essence. I have very little grasp of Arabic language (a word here and there), however, whatever I could I understand in Arabic just sounds so much better and is a lot easier to comprehend than it is in English.

Also, moderators don't randomly close down threads as some may have assumed. Threads are usually closed down if they are irrelevant to the forum they are posted in, or the message is inflammatory, disrespectful, or has been beaten to death in the past and would only cause chaos if moderators decide to leave it open.

Re: “Unity” in Islam: Do we misunderstand this term?

This is the part I understand the most. Each and every word is worth weighing in gold. It describes the feelings of the mods very well… :smiley:
Nice selection of words :stuck_out_tongue:

God topic. I posted it already in this forum…:D. Yes, I have no sect either. I am on the religion on which prophet Mohammad was and which he preached. Very simple, Islam.

No one is allowed to say that he/she is on the sect because his/her parents and family believe on that sect. Allah will not forgive anyone on such excuses. As you can read in Quran. You have to chose your path by your own will.

Well said, I agree with this.

*Quran is not Wahabi and Sayyedna Mohammad was also not Wahabi. He was muslim.

Oh bhaijan, relax. I was pulling her leg. Gosh.

If all are muslims (no sect differences) then why do wahabis go blowing up mosques and cafes just because those “other” muslims might not agree with their point?

I said that as it’s a sensitive topic. I mean, whenever we talk of a sect(s), a lot of people (who believe in sects) are offended. I will not point out any particulars because they know that I’m pointing at them. Aqalmand ko ishara hi kafi hota hai. So, I thought someone might complain if they’re offended.

But as for most of those aqalmand people out there, they’d still follow their “baray, imams, alims” etc. We do get a lot of information from our alims, but they’re not farishtay, they could be wrong. Even prophets made a few mistakes, hum to phir bhi aam insan hain and we’re big sinners. Sorry to say, but alims are there to create confusion and curruption as well. They’ve filled our brains with so much sh*t that we can’t even bear a shia, wahabi, sunni infront of us. Where our caliphs and sahabas did A LOT for this religion and Mohammad (saww), wahien, they made a lot of changes under their leaderships.

I just want to add something that I’m sure everyone knows; Islam was spread by Mohammad (saww) and other prophets. As Mohammad was the last prophet, anything that caliphs added or changed in Islam after his death is not a part of Islam that Mohammad taught. There might not be anything wrong with it but then again, why do things that were added or changed after Mohammad’s (saww) death?

Anyhow, I better shut it right here. May Allah guide all of us. Ameen.

Who said wahabis are doing it? Why was this question directed towards The Game?

assalamu 'alaykum

It is Haraam to make sects in Islam. (the ruling by all the 4 schools of jursiprudence OF sunni Islam"

Now the definiton of a “sect” is often confused. What is a “sect” in Islam? Why are there dozens of shi’a sects today, while a few wahabi ones and one sect calling themselves sunni? Are Shafi’i, Hanafi, Maliki, Hanbali sects? Are “deobandis”, “barelwis” sects?

The answer to the last two is No. This is a long discussion. For a quick and thorough understanding please visit www.sunnipath.com

Because that is their usual plan of action (try to bring people to “orthodox islam”, whatever that is…) BUT THEN THEY ARE THE MOST INTOLERANT OF ALL GOING KILLING PEOPLE (IT IS ALLOWED IN THEIR CULT TO GO KILL POLYTHEISTS THAT DON’T BELIEVE IN THEM, EVEN FELLOW SUNNIS!!!).

The problem how to reconcile the differences?

Not to be rude but instead of being stuck in the past, we need to figure how to deal with stuff for today AND THE FUTURE!!!