Re: Uncle and Aunties - A rant.
knockout_artist so if you are same as of my father's age then in that case only i can call you uncle?
lol...i bet not all my father's friends are in a same age group, so you wana say i shouldn't be calling them uncle?
knockout_artist so if you are same as of my father's age then in that case only i can call you uncle?
lol...i bet not all my father's friends are in a same age group, so you wana say i shouldn't be calling them uncle?
zobia phuppo aap rehnay daen is Knockout artist ko, yeh emotional insaan hai
my bhai sometimes when hes mad at my parents..refer to them as auntyy..uncle..which my parents absolutely hate.
and then this other aunty..she is almost my ami's age..and her kids are abt the same age as us..but just couple yrs back..she had a baby...and all of a sudden she started callin my mom baji ji..even sometimes aunty..which i think is kinda funny and silly.
I don't know whats with paki imposing culture. HOW COULD BE POLITE TO ME WHEN I THINK ITS VERy IMPOLITE.
PLEASE EXPLAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My friend called a restaurant manager aunty, girl/women could be few years older/younger then us.
Even my friends thought it wasn't appropriate to call some one aunty. So was my fried being polite??
Mirch bhai… there’s an older thread that might interest you:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=243532
I was surprised to learn that for some ppl, someone being married is reason enough for them to be called uncles and aunties.
My rule of thumb again (mentioned in that other thread also) - which works most of the time for me at least is to think of my own elders in the family and the youngest uncle or aunt that I have out of the bunch… if by comparison, the person in question is similar age or older, only then would I even think of calling them uncle or aunty.
Having said that… I usually stick to bhai or baaji or bhabhi with strangers.
Wow so I am not loosing it. What do you say now CP ?
the only thing i hate abt "aunty" is that i look like one. when ur 16 or 20 and lil kids keep calling u aunty cz ur fat..well that's just not fun.
Don’t let it get to you Mirch bhai
LoL seriously though, even if someone means it as to make themselves feel younger etc, ignore them. They can’t get to you (if they’re trying to) unless you let them.
Anyway, I’m 16 and my cousin’s son calls me ‘khalaaaaa’ all the time (he’s 4) and I find it so cuteee ![]()
:hinna:
the only thing i hate abt "aunty" is that i look like one. when ur 16 or 20 and lil kids keep calling u aunty cz ur fat..well that's just not fun.
I get called aunty alot too, and i'm only 17..
Its mostly the little kids here.. and alot of ppl assume that my younger sister is my daughter.
Personally, i don't want to be called aunty until i'm married and have 2 kids.
**Mirch Uncle,
**I think the majority of us teenagers today to tend to call everyone older aunty or uncle, and yes, most kids call them aunty or uncle as a way of an insult rather than out of respect.
But, i don't think all kids do this. I can say, that when i call someone an aunty or uncle, i mean it out of respect. And i only call someone aunty or uncle if they are significantly older than me.
I guess kids my age have lost a lot of respect for their elders, but i don't think everyone has.
Also, i don't mean to be rude or anything, but your complaining about a stereotype about uncles and aunties, yet your stereotyping us teenagers?
just a thought.
zobia phuppo aap rehnay daen is Knockout artist ko, yeh emotional insaan hai
ok dada jee :D
There's a few little kids that call me Aunty... :/ it's shocking at first...! but meh..what the heck?
same here :(
little kids used to call me uncle when i was young cuz I looked older.
But now they don call me uncle that often
of course, it is strange to call a daada jaan, an uncle. ![]()
i'm not old enough to be called an uncle and no one has called me that in real life save a couple of kids who were like really young. Even if someone did, it wouldn't bother me that much. I added the prefix chacha in my nick just for the heck of it and to make it more interesting (though the fact that 'ghalib' was already taken might have had something to do with it :D). Now the whole GS community calls me chacha even those who are like 10 years older than me and i never give it a second thought. It just seems like another nick.
I don't think being called an uncle or aunty in real life is always meant to be an insult the way you described it. I have called older people uncles and aunties but that was because calling someone who is older than me by their name just seems rude in the culture that i come from. that is especially the case with aunties :D Calling someone i don't know baaji just seems weird so aunty is the generic term i use if i have to call them.