Unbelievable? Well believe it!

Aatif yaar, where did I make fun of this guy! I have always just presented a valid point! I have just presented my point where I have been played the religuous card!

Waisay I absolutely agree with you on the part where Hadith are interpretations! Check and see my post above!

u ppl are startin to fight like kittens..

there is no point in fighting , over a irrelevent topic..

peace..

.::. ﷲ ﻼﺃ ﷲﺃ ﻶ .::.
Allah-o-Akbar

,_ ,
(O,O)
()
-"--"--- To be sure of hitting the target, shoot first, and call whatever you hit the target

Originally posted by Aatif:
***ukhalil11* - thanks for the facts. but hadiths are just the interpretations of what Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) said, isnt it? And if you are the follower of Allah, then you know that He mentioned in the holy Quran to follow Him and His book only. I am not saying that hadiths are wrong. They "can" be correct. But I personally would follow Quran. If music was haraam and Muslims were not allowed to sing or hear music, then it must've been mentioned in the Quran. Dont you think?? Oh well, I am not trying to have an argument here. But I just want to have a fair talk on this issue coz I never thought it was haraam. Now after reading all the info from the links u provided, I am a lill doubtful. But if you see my point, DONT u think if hearing music was SUCH a big issue ... how could Allah just not mention it in Quran, and why do we read about it in Hadiths? So think about it. And before u say anything, I suggest u ask the same question to an Islamic scholar as well. If there are ppl around who care to share their thoughts on this matter, then they are most welcome to.

Alibeta and Ukhalil11 - Stop acting like kids and calling each other names! Its better if we all not make fun of each other and rather share knowledge with people. If you think someone said something wrong, then try to correct him/her. Hope you guys get my point. Grow up now!

Aatif**

True but listen, prophet mohammed(PBUH) has said that music is Al-haram! He has said it himself. Now I am aware of the fact it's not mentioned in the quran but common man, we all know music is Al-haram! It's common sense. I have provided some links and since some of you aren't satiesfied so I am gonna try getting some other links which will clearly indicate everything.

Ok, let's suppose music isn't haram but is it necessary listening to it? Instead of wasting your time on that, I am sure there are a lot of personal things to do so why not give more time to that. Get what I am tryin to say here?

BUT where does it says clearly that music isn't forbidden in islam? No where! So this is kind a doubtful, and it's better not to assume stuff which are doubtful.

I can just try to get you guys on the right... trying is always worth it... I guess..

khuda hafiz

ok I dont know if anyone has already mentioned this but FYI Will Smith utilises Method Acting just like Marlon Brando, Robert DeNeiro, Sean Penn and countless others. In method acting you try to develop the character by adopting his/her lifestyle as much as you can. So if your character is muslim, you convert to islam, and learn more about it and then you revert back to your religion; if it says you have to be mentally ill you go to a hospital for special people and spend sometime with them, observe them and use what you learnt on screen..Coppish?

Originally posted by ukhalil11:
** True but listen, prophet mohammed(PBUH) has said that music is Al-haram! He has said it himself. Now I am aware of the fact it's not mentioned in the quran but common man, we all know music is Al-haram! It's common sense. I have provided some links and since some of you aren't satiesfied so I am gonna try getting some other links which will clearly indicate everything.

Ok, let's suppose music isn't haram but is it necessary listening to it? Instead of wasting your time on that, I am sure there are a lot of personal things to do so why not give more time to that. Get what I am tryin to say here?

BUT where does it says clearly that music isn't forbidden in islam? No where! So this is kind a doubtful, and it's better not to assume stuff which are doubtful.

I can just try to get you guys on the right... trying is always worth it... I guess..

khuda hafiz **

Well, you never "waste" your time listening to music! Do you? Music is soothing at times, and you can also work while listening to music! Cant you? So I personally dont think there is anything wrong with it as it doesnt go against religion. And truly I was unaware of the fact that something is mentioned in hadiths against music. I guess if you think about it, there is no harm at all in listening to music. If you see, everything thats forbidden in Islam is for a reason! Ya? Drinking, eating pork, anything ... so whats the reason music was forbidden? So unless I get some good believable evidence about this, how am I gona believe music is haram??? Oh well. I guess I will talk about it with some scholars.

If you think it is haraam! I have a simple solution for you! DONT LISTEN TO IT! Do not implement your points of view on others! I like music and I will keep on listening to it! And a person without any knowledge of the deen like you cannot influence me into not listeing to it!

** True but listen, prophet mohammed(PBUH) has said that music is Al-haram! He has said it himself. Now I am aware of the fact it's not mentioned in the quran but common man, we all know music is Al-haram! It's common sense. I have provided some links and since some of you aren't satiesfied so I am gonna try getting some other links which will clearly indicate everything.

khuda hafiz **

Originally posted by Aatif:
***ukhalil11* - thanks for the facts. but hadiths are just the interpretations of what Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) said, isnt it? And if you are the follower of Allah, then you know that He mentioned in the holy Quran to follow Him and His book only. I am not saying that hadiths are wrong. They "can" be correct. But I personally would follow Quran. If music was haraam and Muslims were not allowed to sing or hear music, then it must've been mentioned in the Quran. Dont you think?? Oh well, I am not trying to have an argument here. But I just want to have a fair talk on this issue coz I never thought it was haraam. Now after reading all the info from the links u provided, I am a lill doubtful. But if you see my point, DONT u think if hearing music was SUCH a big issue ... how could Allah just not mention it in Quran, and why do we read about it in Hadiths? So think about it. And before u say anything, I suggest u ask the same question to an Islamic scholar as well. If there are ppl around who care to share their thoughts on this matter, then they are most welcome to.

!

Aatif**

are u aware of the fact that for a muslim Quran and Hadith are equally important.. u cant deny one or the other..

Originally posted by eddy:
** are u aware of the fact that for a muslim Quran and Hadith are equally important.. u cant deny one or the other..**

PERFECTLY SAID! but ahmed said hadeeths are BS! (Astaqfiruallah)

Jhoote mat bolo! Islam teaches another thing called. That lying is haraam! Aahmed said that Hadeeth are interpretations by the Sahaba of what the Prophet (PBUH) had to say! Dont lie alright.

You love to sensationalize stuff! Now go ahead and call me Ahmedi or shia or whatever... Like you always do!

People who consider music haraam should stop listening to it.. PERIOD.

Next time you listen to it.. just think how rotten a hypocrite you are.

Besides, no one received a license from God to impose their moral values on others.. so keep your views to yourself and for the Copy Paste Forum (more commonly known as the Religion Forum).

The Mothership is now boarding

Ukhalail, you must be such an idiot to believe in that... hahahaha

BTW, do you even know who Muslims in America consider their Prophet? Its Elijah Mohammad... Their Nation of Islam is alot different than our Islam. Before jumping like a rabbit on fake news (which pleases you just becoz u hear the name Islam in it), you should do some research on whatever you might come accross. I hope you were not amongst the few Mollahs in the 'Jang' Staff who kept on declaring Michaeal Jackson became a Muslim and Armstrong heard 'Azan' on the moon.

As for this rumour, it was like so long ago, and this stupid link u gave, its A USER COMMENT AREA!!! There are lots of perverts on the net that go on pasting false news, doesnt mean that they are all correct.

gROW uP

Check this out yara!! hahaha

True but listen, prophet mohammed(PBUH) has said that music is Al-haram!

Ok, point taken... (without proof ofcourse)

He has said it himself.

Ok, but wasnt that what you said in ur last statement?

Now I am aware of the fact it's not mentioned in the quran but common man, we all know music is Al-haram! It's common sense.

Ok, if the Quran does not stop you from doing something, you can tell others to stop doing it through 'Ukhalils common sense'

I have provided some links and since some of you aren't satiesfied so I am gonna try getting some other links which will clearly indicate everything.

Just like the links from IMDB, the user comment areas... hehehe

No we do not get what you are saying, IF MUSIC IS NOT HARAM, THEN TUMHE KYA TAKLEEF HAI? Tera bill aaata hai jo tujhe takleef hai? If its not haram, what problems do u have? Maybe you ought to look at your mollah brothers in Pakistan, who do not listen to music, but goto netcafes (which have spurred up) and watch u know what. And dont tell me they dont, I have seen them with my own eyes, netcafe waloon ki amden hi ab is tarha hoti hai.

Spare us of that misery. There are much more intelligent, rational people who undestand Islam way way way better than you. All you know is Islam means killing goras; worshipping osama and Pakistans rockets. And latest addition -> music haraam. Whats next? Mullah Omer for Caliph?

No Response, heh

Since the thread relates to a show business personality (and music) so it is being transferred to Shor Sharaba.

[Moved from Image Gallery]

For those asking for proof that music(which is found EVERYWHERE today...) is hara, please read on:

“And of mankind is he who purchases idle talks (i.e. music, singing) to mislead (men) from the path of Allaah…” [Luqmaan 31:6]

The scholar of the ummah, Ibn ‘Abbaas (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: this means singing. Mujaahid (may Allaah have mercy on him) said: this means playing the drum (tabl). (Tafseer al-Tabari, 21/40).

*Al-Hasan al-Basri (may Allaah have mercy on him) said: this aayah was revealed concerning singing and musical instruments (lit. woodwind instruments). *(Tafseer Ibn Katheer, 3/451).

*Al-Sa’di (may Allaah have mercy on him) said: this includes all manner of haraam speech, all idle talk and falsehood, and all nonsense that encourages kufr and disobedience; the words of those who say things to refute the truth and argue in support of falsehood to defeat the truth; and backbiting, slander, lies, insults and curses; the singing and musical instruments of the Shaytaan; and musical instruments which are of no spiritual or worldly benefit. *(Tafseer al-Sa’di, 6/150)

Isn't singing most of the time falsehood and UNTRUE statements said over and over again with accompany of Music?

Ibn al-Qayyim (may Allaah have mercy on him) said: The interpretation of the Sahaabah and Taabi’in, that ‘idle talk’ refers to singing, is sufficient. This was reported with saheeh isnaads from Ibn ‘Abbaas and Ibn Mas’ood. Abu’l-Sahbaa’ said: I asked Ibn Mas’ood about the aayah (interpretation of the meaning), ‘“And of mankind is he who purchases idle talks’ [Luqmaan 31:6]. He said: By Allaah, besides Whom there is no other god, this means singing – and he repeated it three times. It was also reported with a saheeh isnaad from Ibn ‘Umar (may Allaah be pleased with them both) that this means singing. There is no contradiction between the interpretation of “idle talk” as meaning singing and the interpretation of it as meaning stories of the Persians and their kings, and the kings of the Romans, and so on, such as al-Nadr ibn al-Haarith used to tell to the people of Makkah to distract them from the Qur’aan. Both of them are idle talk. Hence Ibn ‘Abbaas said: “Idle talk” is falsehood and singing. Some of the Sahaabah said one and some said the other, and some said both. Singing is worse and more harmful than stories of kings, because it leads to zinaa and makes hypocrisy grow (in the heart); it is the trap of the Shaytaan, and it clouds the mind. The way in which it blocks people from the Qur’aan is worse than the way in which other kinds of false talk block them, because people are naturally inclined towards it and tend to want to listen to it. The aayaat condemn replacing the Qur’aan with idle talk in order to mislead (men) from the path of Allaah without knowledge and taking it as a joke, because when an aayah of the Qur’aan is recited to such a person, he turns his back as if he heard them not, as if there were deafness in his ear. If he hears anything of it, he makes fun of it. All of this happens only in the case of the people who are most stubbornly kaafirs and if some of it happens to singers
and those who listen to them, they both have a share of this blame.* (Ighaathat al-Lahfaan, 1/258-259).

**The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said:

“Among my ummah there will certainly be people who permit zinaa, silk, alcohol and musical instruments…” **(Narrated by al-Bukhaari ta’leeqan, no. 5590; narrated as mawsool by al-Tabaraani and al-Bayhaqi. See al-Silsilah al-Saheehah by al-Albaani, 91).

The exception to the above is the *daff* – without any rings (i.e., a hand-drum which looks like a tambourine, but without any rattles) – when used by women on Eids and at weddings. This is indicated by saheeh reports. Shaykh al-Islam (may Allaah have mercy on him) said: But the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) made allowances for certain types of musical instruments at weddings and the like, and he made allowances for women to play the daff at weddings and on other joyful occasions. But the men at his time did not play the daff or clap with their hands. It was narrated in al-Saheeh that he said: “Clapping is for women and tasbeeh (saying Subhaan Allaah) is for men.” And he cursed women who imitate men and men who imitate women. Because singing and playing the daff are things that women do, the Salaf used to call any man who did that a mukhannath (effeminate man), and they used to call male singers effeminate – and how many of them there are nowadays! It is well known that the Salaf said this.

In a similar vein is the hadeeth of ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her), when her father (may Allaah be pleased with him) entered upon her at the time of Eid, and there were two young girls with her who were singing the verses that the Ansaar had said on the day of Bu’aath – and any sensible person will know what people say about war. Abu Bakr (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: “Musical instruments of the Shaytaan in the house of the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him)!” The Messenger of Allaah had turned away from them and was facing the wall – hence some scholars said that Abu Bakr (may Allaah be pleased with him) would not tell anybody off in front of the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), but he thought that the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) was not paying attention to what was happening. And Allaah knows best. He (the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him)) said: “Leave them alone, O Abu Bakr, for every nation has its Eid, and this is our Eid, the people of Islam.” This hadeeth shows that it was not the habit of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) and his companions to gather to listen to singing, hence Abu Bakr al-Siddeeq called it “the musical instruments of the Shaytaan”. And the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) approved of this appellation and did not deny it when he said, “Leave them alone, for every nation has its Eid and this is our Eid.” This indicates that the reason why this was permitted was because it was the time of Eid, and the prohibition remained in effect at times other than Eid, apart from the exceptions made for weddings in other ahaadeeth. Shaykh al-Albaani explained this in his valuable book Tahreem Aalaat al-Tarab (the Prohibition of Musical Instruments). The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) approved of young girls singing at Eid, as stated in the hadeeth: “So that the mushrikeen will know that in our religion there is room for relaxation.” There is no indication in the hadeeth about the two young girls that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) was listening to them. The commands and prohibitions have to do with listening, not merely hearing, just as in the case of seeing, the rules have to do with intentionally looking and not what happens by accident. So it is clear that this is for women only. Imaam Abu ‘Ubayd (may Allaah have mercy on him) defined the daff as “that which is played by women.” (Ghareeb al-Hadeeth, 3/64).

AND WHEN IT IS SAID TO THEM: "DO NOT MAKE MISCHIEF ON THE EARTH", THEY SAY "WE ARE ONLY PEACE-MAKERS" VERILY, THEY ARE THE ONES WHO MAKES MISCHIEF, BUT THEY PERCEIVE NOT"-[Qur'an-2:11-12]

[This message has been edited by Serial Guppy (edited April 29, 2002).]

Thanks a lot Serial Guppy! Thanks for proving that these morons are wrong.

Alibeta/Spock, what you think now? Now you're probably gonna say that some mullah probably heard about this thread going on in gupshup so he added in the quran that music is haram recently! LOL

What it sounds to me is that you people are still gonna say its not haram cause of some lame excuse which you guys come up with regurlarly.

LAST THING: GROW UP!

Serial guppy and ukhalil, all the above are either interpretations or quotes from other people. The quran doesn't directly forbid music. If Allah wanted music forbidden, he would have said 'music is forbidden' not 'idle talk'. There IS a word in Arabic for music. Are you saying that Allah, the Almighty, the master of the Universe, the Omnipotent, the omniscient, the Alpha and the Omega, didn't know the arabic word for music and thought hmm... maybe I'll just call it 'idle talk' and they'll know?? What kinds of dumbasses are you?

Mr. ukulaili and cereal, it proves diddly squat.

Had X1 known there'd be copy pasting in this thread he'd have moved it to the Copy Paste forum instead.

Interpreting lahv alhadees as music is one of the worst case of misinterpretation i have witnessed; "idle talk" is NOT music.

Had Allah willed to declare music haraam, no one was stopping HIM from doing so.

Post Qur'anic attempts at interpreting the Qur'an are just that, attempts. It doesn't get etched into stone and doesn't become everybody's religion; only those who choose to follow it.

Rejoice in your Talebanistic sectarianism as that's exactly what it is.. bunch of lemmings behind someones misinterpretation.

The Mothership is now boarding

Originally posted by aahmed:
Serial guppy and ukhalil, all the above are either interpretations or quotes from other people. The quran doesn't directly forbid music. If Allah wanted music forbidden, he would have said 'music is forbidden' not 'idle talk'. There IS a word in Arabic for music. Are you saying that Allah, the Almighty, the master of the Universe, the Omnipotent, the omniscient, the Alpha and the Omega, didn't know the arabic word for music and thought hmm... maybe I'll just call it 'idle talk' and they'll know?? What kinds of dumbasses are you?

By calling us dumbasses, it shows how immature you are so please grow up!

Second of all, for a muslim hadeeths and quran is equal. So when you're saying hadeehts are BS, you're saying the similar thing to quran as well.

Please get your facts straight and hopefully it'll make it less embarrasing for you next time!

Thanks!

One more thing, GROW UP!

khuda hafiz

What else is one supposed to call dumbasses?

Your Wahabism will be rejected by all Muslims soon. Right now, you wahabis have a few caves in Afghanistan, soon you will not even have that. Pack up and go back to the House of Saud.