Unappreciated

I had called my GrandMa up today (in Bombay) and I dont usually talk too long with her…coz on the phone I really can’t think of anything to ask her other than the usual… how are you…are you taking your medicenes…are you eating right..blah blah. Then I usually hand the phone back to my mother.

Today was different…we talked and she was telling me about how she once caught one of my uncles sneaking out of the house, to go play football, without doing his chores :smiley: She laughed and then she just went silent.

My GarndMa is the thoughest most bravest person I know, she’s intelligent, beautiful and above all a real loving and graceful woman. Been through rough times and raised 6 kids. Walked through waist deep flood water, seacrhed through thug ridden alleys for a lost brother of hers, picked up her drunken uncles from gutters and cleaned em up..all on her own, taken care of her sisters kids when she died…amazing lady..absolutley no nonsense… 100% all heart.

Well..on with the conversation..well after 10 seconds of silence she said…you know what..“I just feel so lonely right now…so unloved”. For the first time in her 87 years I think my GrandMa was lookin for appreciation..for love…for kindness for all that she had done for her kids and everyone around her… her old age..her depndece for love, friendly conversation and support that had made her reliant on her children. Children who I think have forgotten exactly how special their mother was..and is.

My heat broke..I have NEVER heard my grandmother make even the slightest sound even in intense pain…never heard her complain…but to hear words lie ethat from her…I couldn’t bear it. I’m an emotional person..but no ones mere words have ever moved me to tears..coz I know..if my Grandma has said this much..then it must feel a thousand times worse in her heart.

Just feel so awful right now..so very awful.

Sorry for rambling. :flower1:

hugzzz

i understand wat ur talking about :(

mannn...i dun even know wat to say...

yeah she DOES deserve a lot of love and appreciation...

mashAllah...

LK, you have a very sweet Granny. You should introduce her to Abdullah.

:jhanda:

Thats really sad. Even a tough person needs to feel appreciated everynow and then. No person should be left to fend for thier own in thier old age (even though thats probably not the case here). Also, you can learn so much from your grandparents about life, about everything, just by being around them. They are a barkat to your homes and every family should adopt one, if you dont have one already.

Naah she’s too ravishing for him :smiley:

that was a sweet post...and I can tell you thats exaclty hoe my grandmother is...we dont have much to talk abt but i love her...and I hope once i go back to Pakland I can show her that i truly love her...
she says one thing which i do no know if its true
"keh larkion kee life ajeeb hoti hai...1/3 guzartee hai abba sey dartay huay...1/3 husband sey and 1/3 bacchaun sey "

i love her

sigh
Generally talking, it's sad how some old people are being ignored by their own children. It doesn't happen much in our desi societies but it does happen. Of course they do desire to see their children and grand children and want to live with them, but it isn't possible for everyone to do that.

Can't your grand mother visit you guys and live with you for a little while? Environment will change and she might feel better with you people.

Re: Unappreciated

bombay. :konfused:

wow, all this time I thought you were paki.

Re: Re: Unappreciated

u aint much of an observer, r u… :nono:

LK, talk to her more often…

Sorry Atlanta...I'm Indian and I'm catholic too

Amry..yeah I do say like very 2-3 days I give her a lil ring..

Destineee - I wish I could bring her here..bu ttheother kids of hers are against it..as her health is very fragile...before she used to come over frequently.Destinee she has like many many people around her..she's living with one son and the other son is right next door..but you knwo relatives and relations..sometimes they're good and sometimes not so good. And she's caught in the middle of it all.

Awww.Its true...once in a while we all need to feel loved.All this sweet grandma talk is going to make me cry!

:hug: MQ..it’s the flu hun