Umrah and Shopping

Okay, so what is with this selling of designer purses for as high as 400 dollars right next to the Haram in Makkah?

What do you think of pilgrims who spend so much on something like a purse when they’re there for Umrah?

Re: Umrah and Shopping

good question.....apparently the ruling elite thinking of themselves as great art connoseiurs have turned the clock back to days of jahilliyah when the Quraish would boast of the exotic goods to dazzle the thousands of pilgrims visiting the kaabah ....the present day descendents of abu sufyan are trying to do the same thing to Hajj ...may God disgrace them

only someone with illgotten wealth will spend $400 for a purse ...such hoarders of wealth "whose lives revolve around collecting material goods and counting them"are warned of a painful punishment in the hereafter in the quran

Well, I met such a family recently. I don't understand it. You pray 5 times a day, and yet you buy a 400 dollar bag (not one, mind you, she bought like 4 of them). And right next to the Kaaba.

I can't get the image out of my head of a little African begger girl (Why they always gotta be African???) grasping my Dad's hand, asking for the food in his hand.

And then you have expensive designer merchandise.

Friggin merchants were charging me skyrocketing rates for a tasbeeh! (I lended mine to some kid and it never got returned - don't get me started on the ethics of stealing during Umrah).

Oh and these guys don't have illgotten wealth. At least not to my knowledge - they run some fruitful businesses, and really come across as the most honest people I've met (just very shaukeen about brand names).

i cant say it is necessarily ill gotten wealth but in my mind it certainly is badly spent. i always thought islam snubs ostentatious behaviour and on haj and umrah i find it in exceeding poor taste.

i have never read that during Umrah you can't buy anything specially purse
Muslims used to do tijarat in history while on umrah or hajj trip

and if Allah has given someone that much to spend as to thank HIM, kissi doosraY ko kiyaa khujli ho rahi hai yaa koi keeRaa kaaT rahaa hai?

after paying zakat , it is upto ones will, that he/she buy purse or give to anyone

I agree dude, because if people have issues with a 400dollar purse, what is next, why is somoene driving a mercedes and not the cheapest thing on 4 wheels? why is someone living in a 5000 sq foot home and not a 2 bedroom condo, why does someone have 2 wintercoats and not one. why do you buy brand name toothpaste and not the generic store brand which is 25 cents cheaper.

While I find setting up stores near haram shareef a little tacky to say the least, and if someone is focused on shopping for designer brands while tehy should be focused on hajj or umrah, I dont think we can be too tough on this, because of several reasons, if you did nto have shops there what would you have, offices, residences? and if you do have businesses there surely you can not have all the businesses be selling religious text and miswak, itar etc.

I recall back when we used to go for hajj and umrahs, at the tents in minna and muzadalfah, vendors would walk around with toys and general merchandise, and people would buy them.

In short, i find it tacky, but not sure what the alternative is.

I'm absolutely not advocating that merchants shouldn't be selling goods to tourists in Makkah and Madina. However, what is the limit.

Next people will be seeing grand auctions going on in these areas, auctioning off a friggin' pebble from the Prophet's home for thousands of dollars.

So where do you draw the line. 400 dollars on a purse, when there are beggers outside the haram asking for food? Does it make sense?

And I'm basing my comments on Islam, which I'm surprised AQ has dismissed. Materialism is a strong sin in Islam. Das Reich's posted ayah reference echoes this. Or we just need to get passionate about Islam when a woman puts on pants and goes to work, and when someone picks up a guitar and strums it?

i think you are confusing islam for communism, pcg.

you have missed the essence of Islam it is just as much about social and economic justice as it is about prohibition of social vices like music , mixed gathering , fornication etc.
communists claim to follow the some of these principles largely to attract followers amongst the poor and oppressed] but their system is in direct conflict with islam as it is based on dictatorship of men [not of God ] and places a low value on human life.
On the other hand those who seek to justify the materialism of Jahilliyah label those who talk about the economic aspect of islam as "communist".It is a clever way to stifle dissent by calling those who protest aginst their excessses as monks and hermits

Das Reich, why do you post here? This is a mixed gathering. Believe it or not, I am female.

^ I neither see you nor do I hear your voice .....nor is my intention to "pick up chics" here

I'm offended. I talk to many guys every day, and my intention is not ever to "pick them up".

^ why r u so easily offended ? ...where have I made a personal attack on your character? Islam is a religion of intentions and only you and God knows yours ...neither I nor anyone else can be sure of them.And if u r sure of ur intentions then you shud not be offended in the least.

However we know that mixed gatherings where there is idle talk and music have been generally discouraged by our pious predecessors who had much more knowledge of faith than us and that is why I am against them.I value their opinion more than mine , certain things might seem innocous superfically but have effects on our eman which regular people like us cannot comprehend ...so why take a chance ...avoid it as much as we can.

as far as one is paying zakat and earning halal there is no limit

Next people will be seeing grand auctions going on in these areas, auctioning off a friggin' pebble from the Prophet's home for thousands of dollars.

i have never read that islam is against auctions

So where do you draw the line. 400 dollars on a purse, when there are beggers outside the haram asking for food? Does it make sense?

if everyone pay zakat properly there will be no beggers left
this is the beauty of islam

And I'm basing my comments on Islam, which I'm surprised AQ has dismissed. Materialism is a strong sin in Islam.

i think you are talking about budhisam
Hazoor PBUH did tijarat, sahaba did tijarat

islam tells that one should not love materials that he/she start neglecting Allah but it never says left everything

Das Reich's posted ayah reference echoes this. Or we just need to get passionate about Islam when a woman puts on pants and goes to work, and when someone picks up a guitar and strums it?

islam never stops women wearing pants , it only says not wear tight cloths showing figures
in all over the world muslim pious women wears pants but certainly not tight pants

I see your point clearly and agree 100%.
The place which is most sacred to muslims, is becuase it is a place of giving up the love of the world and connecting with Allah SWT with complete devotion. The govt. there should have strict guidelines on the max. price of any items sold there. The shiny hotels and sparkling wears are a huge distraction to say the least.

Wallahu Alam. We really can't judge. But it is questionable as to what they are thinking. They came for Allah. and as soon as they are done, they want to spend their wealth of petty items of this world.
Again I wonder the same. At the end I try to look at myself and my own actions instead of judging others. Its the best thing to do really.

yaar bhai sahab. I share your bewilderment, but by the dame token are we going to expect the saudis to change the 5 star hotels overshadowing haram shareef now to 2 star ones.

I am not disagreeing with you.

I find it tacky, but am not sure what is teh right mix there.

Ok, I wanted to say pretty much the same thing but the way AQ puts it, man it says it all.

Islam is never against capitalism. If you have money to spend, go ahead. Buy expaensive purses, cars, jewelery. What else can you do with your money. You cannot take it with you. Spend it in this world.

Just because someone bought 4 purses worth 1600 dollars does not mean that the person has not given Zakaat and charities.

If the Imams of the Kaabah and the governer of Makkah make this a rule, then atleast the sale of expensive items might be limited.
But you are right, the Saudis who want to live it up even when they are at the house of Allah, would rather see a marble palace there then cheapen the hotels already contructed. A moot point at end I agree.
Its not happening.