Re: Umera Ahmed’s Kankar
maybe adnan is forced to divorce kiran and sikander divorces arzu and then sikander marries kiran (or maybe rukhsar after she gets divorced by her husband
and arzu marries adnan and it ends ![]()
maybe adnan is forced to divorce kiran and sikander divorces arzu and then sikander marries kiran (or maybe rukhsar after she gets divorced by her husband
and arzu marries adnan and it ends ![]()
Re: Umera Ahmed's Kankar
I'm also curious to see how this ends!
phir kankar nahi howa ![]()
not sure what the point of this drama will be....
seems like marriage as the most imp event of one's life wins once again...
donno, if its just me but I think arzoo is making a lot more effort to be good a good wife than kiran...... except for one occasion she has never been shown to answer back or argue with him whereas kiran did that on multiple occasions....... I am not talking about the stand she took but other occasions when she is shown to be a bit hot tempered and quick to argue.......... just a general word of advice for the females out there: and before you all start bashing me, I went through it and I know how wrong spousal abuse is and how traumatic is it for the woman undergoing it is NOT ACCEPTABLE under any circumstances.... BUT sometimes women themselves are responsible for flaring the man's temper and precipitating it, a colleague of mine whom I know quite closely, married for 4+ years ... a normal marriage, no history of abuse or anger issues but she has sharp tongue, kind of "batoon main udhaar na rakhni wali, do ki chaar sunany wali kind of" she almost prides herself for it, recently I came to know that her husband hit her on two occasions......she had been after her husband to clear a promotion exam and when he failed , she went after him using sharp words.....it blew up into violent fights.....
^True.
But an interesting thing to note is that in these cases, people will usually say..."But nothing justifies hitting." In saying this or only focusing on the physical.....they have totally ignored the verbal abuse. It's like condemning one form of abuse and excusing or downplaying the other. Disrespect of any level.....be it verbal or physical....is never okay.
***The person with the short-temper that can escalate to hitting.......is actually weaker. They may be physically stronger than you, but because their temper is easily provoked....they are emotionally weaker (more fragile ego) and struggle with control. And while knowing this about them, it also makes you responsible for your actions/reactions. This is what Kankar, so far, has not addressed and I feel that it won't receive as supportive a response from the audience. I don't know why it hasn't occurred to the director yet, perhaps he will bring it up at a later point.
However, the drama IS indeed highlighting verbal abuse from other characters if not Kiran. For example, Kiran's only relationship experience was after marriage with her husband; she did not know Sikander at all before hand, so she had to deal with his tantrum for the first time post-shaadi. However, Rukhsar was engaged to her fiance for many years and knew him really well before her shadi. She was aware of what things irritate him, yet she continues to annoy him with her complaining and arguing. In all these years it did not occur to her that "Gosh, if my venting has never convinced him or improved my situation, let me try another strategy." I'm not suggesting that the husband and his family are angels; they are inconsiderate opportunists. But Rukhsar's behavior with everyone is annoying, not just with her spouse. Although she has never raised her hand, it appears that most of the viewers find HER more intolerable than Sikander. Sikander still managed to show guilt....but Rukhsar hasn't displayed guilt yet. Even Arzoo's mother, Faiqa Begum, argues a lot with her husband; she is unyielding and also has not showed any guilt for the damage her zubaan had caused her daughter and Kiran's older sister. Islam strongly emphasizes control of the tongue. This organ, which is not seen clearly or even physically felt during an argument, can be just as damaging as one's fist or the back of one's hand.
When I started watching Kankar, I was happy that there was finally a Pakistani play that depicted a strong independent woman who was not willing to bend down to the whims and fancies of our patriarchal society.
The central character of this Pakistani prime time serial is a brave woman named Kiran standing up to her so called “Mijaazi Khuda” (husband) to fight for her rights. Instead of the usual victimised daughters-in-law, the character is one that many women will be able to relate to and perhaps find hope or salvation in, knowing that it is alright to stand up against domestic abuse.
However in the last two episodes, the play took a dramatic turn towards the usual clichéd Cinderella-finds-her-happy-ending route. The character, who stubbornly demanded a divorce from her abusive husband, has finally decided to remarry. She remarries her cousin, Adnan, who has been smitten by her since the beginning of the serial.
The average abused Pakistani woman, who was until now, weaving dreams for a better future after leaving her husband, finally finds herself without a thread to hold onto. The unfortunate wife, who is mentally and physically tortured every day, knows that if she decides to leave her husband again, she might not find another cousin waiting for her. She will either live the life of an outcast being b*****shed with the tag of a “Talaaq-e-Aafta” (divorcee) forever or she will have to marry a man twice her age and look after his grown up children. Such possibilities are also hinted in one of the previous episodes, when the matchmaker brings the proposal of a man twice Kiran’s age with children of his own.
Instead of showing her relying on the support of a man to get back on her feet, the play should have focused on the struggles and problems faced by Kiran and how she manages to get through all of them unscathed. This would have rekindled hope in the hearts of women, a hope that divorce is not the end of the world. If they are not content with their husband’s behaviour, they have a way out to a better life without such a man. Sadly, what this play depicts is that a divorced woman is considered a pariah in our society. She is continuously taunted with sentences like:“Is hi ki ghalti thi. Aurat chahay to apna ghar bana lay ya bigaar lay. Shadi to naam hi compromise ka hay. Pata nahin kiya kiya bardassht karna parta hay or is maharani ko dekho, ghar wapis a ker beth gayi”
(It was her fault. If a woman wills, she can either make her home or break it. Marriage is also called compromise. A woman has the patience to bare various hurdles and look at this princess, she has come back to sit at home)
In our country, there are hardly any options for a divorced woman to remarry, even if she is as young as the men because men think it is below their honour to marry a divorcee. The bitter truth being that the only men willing to marry these divorcees are those who are old widowers with married children or men with other agendas on their minds like money, dowry or business, especially if the girl belongs to a rich family.
I have a friend from a wealthy family, who went abroad after marriage. It turned out that her husband had psychological problems and her in-laws had not been honest with her. As a result, she got divorced within three months, at the young age of 24. It’s been four years since then and now she is a doctor, yet nobody is willing to marry her.
Our society is so rigid about divorced women that even the ones who are separated after a nikkah without a rukhsati for whatever reason, are unable to find good proposals. A daughter of my father’s friend had to nullify the nikkah when the boys’ family started making unnecessary demands of them. The family filed for a divorce but the girl was unable to find a proposal for the next two years. She finally got married and had to settle for a boy who, not only was less educated than her but did not even have a proper job. She herself is an engineer.
This is why Kankar is poles apart from the truth. In real life, even Adnan would have had second thoughts about marrying Kiran, yet everything is offered to Kiran on a silver platter. This play also emphasises the patriarchal mindset; a woman can only find happiness if she is able to find a man who loves her. It’s high time our plays started depicting reality instead of making our women believe in fairy tales.
Far from reality: Kankar and its depiction of divorced women – The Express Tribune Blog
this drama needs to be finished, they are dragging it
have not seen yesterday’s episode yet!!! ![]()
I just want to say, arzoo is dressed so badly.
very very true…
yehi mein b soch rahi thi. mujhay to recently pata chala hai k ye sab khawateen dramoun mein upnay kapray pehanti haen so imagine sanam wearing better than arzoo bunta he hai yaar ![]()
ab is mein arzoo bichari ka koi kasoor nahi. kasoor dramoun walaoun ka hai, jinhonay is itni choti but important detail ka khayal nahi rakha. k arzoo aik baray ghar say hai so us ki dressing b waisay he honi chahiye thi ![]()
but korn, in humsafar, mahira khan's dressing was lovely. not the same in other dramas. sure about them wearing own clothes?
yup i am sure…
have met drama actresses like ayesha khan, maria wasti and model tooba. They all said we wear our own clothes in dramas. unless and until a designer provides us and in majority of dramas they dont!!! ![]()
donno, if its just me but I think arzoo is making a lot more effort to be good a good wife than kiran...... except for one occasion she has never been shown to answer back or argue with him whereas kiran did that on multiple occasions....... I am not talking about the stand she took but other occasions when she is shown to be a bit hot tempered and quick to argue.......... just a general word of advice for the females out there: and before you all start bashing me, I went through it and I know how wrong spousal abuse is and how traumatic is it for the woman undergoing it is NOT ACCEPTABLE under any circumstances.... BUT sometimes women themselves are responsible for flaring the man's temper and precipitating it, a colleague of mine whom I know quite closely, married for 4+ years ... a normal marriage, no history of abuse or anger issues but she has sharp tongue, kind of "batoon main udhaar na rakhni wali, do ki chaar sunany wali kind of" she almost prides herself for it, recently I came to know that her husband hit her on two occasions......she had been after her husband to clear a promotion exam and when he failed , she went after him using sharp words.....it blew up into violent fights.....
are you oblivious?
THEY BARELY COMMUNICATE. when is he gonna find tme to hit her?
and as soon as he get the opportunity....he does..now what do you have to say
i didnt like today’s episode ![]()
chamat was lush…
but korn, in humsafar, mahira khan's dressing was lovely. not the same in other dramas. sure about them wearing own clothes?
They were sponsored. All shehr e zaat outfits were also sponsored by sania maskatiya and TJs. Its up to the drama production team to reach out to designers and get clothes! If they cant be bothered to do so, the actors wear their own
yup as said earlier ![]()
you just approved domestic violence ![]()
Quality of chamat is subject of discussion…