who do you think is a better artist. Umer has this unique touch at comedy and no one beats Moin when it comes to impersonating and mimicking. But Umer is indigenous..when it comes to his comedy and dialogues. On the other hand I wonder how would Moin sum up if you take off the polish off him that is Anwar Maqsood.
Still, Budha ghar pay hai was the best stage show in which the two giant collided. Moin keeps calling Umer’s daughter and everytime Umer picks up the phone and Moin goes, “budha ghar pay hai”.
Umer: hello
Moin: Oyi, Budha ghar pay hai?
Agitated Umer: Baitay aik baar teray ghar ka pata chalay. Mein aisa ghuson ga k tu har waqt yehi poochay ga k Amaa ghar pay hai.
Umers nothing. He tried his luck in Lahore in stage comedies, but no one really liked him there. Punjabi state dramas prefer people like Mastana and Sohail Abbas.
Moin Akhter is the best
There is not actor like him in Pakistan.
he has his own class, i think Gohan nay abhee taak moin akhter ki comedy nahi daikhee.
he can do any type of role very easily, on the other hand if u saw omer sharif doing a serious role u said to you self "what he is doing?".
even if in any play he is doing a serious role, poeple are expecting some funny thing to be happen.
Umer is much more wittier than Moin. Umer is much faster & has great timings. Moin is versatile. But I love Umer's wit. I've just watched a couple of his stage shows. I love his "Biwi meri BBC". There's nothing more funnier play I've seen than that one. I laugh NON STOP watching it.
They are both 2 different artists at their own place.. You CANT compare them!!! as who is better or not.. Both are good at what they do.
And Moin Akhtar, doesnt have any polish of Anwar Maqsood, as you put it. They are as team :k: ANd at their best.. But Moin Akhtar has been and still does work alone, and he’s still a great artist.
And someone put it, Umer is a bit chichoora, which is right. He can also do some rude jokes, a lot of time. which are not very decent.. And Moin Akhtar always tries to stay decent.. I mean, limit main reh kar koi baat keh jaata… Jabkay for Umer Sharif that is not always possible.
I think, thats where the comparison between the 2 comes to an end!
Yeah, Umer is all open. No limitation no boundaries. Quite funnier. He doesnt hold on to the immediate thought that comes to his mind. He speaks it out without holding back. Moin tries to express it in more decent ways not to cross the boundary.
Umer can be crude at times but still his promptness makes him funnier.
These stage playes were done back in early 90's when umar was at his peak. I can't remember which one but in one of the two, moin worked with umar. In that one play, omar looked way better than moin. and trust me, moin was as chichora as umar in that one play. After that, plau he just realized that its not his thing and that he should stay sober. I agree with the guy who said u can't compare the two. Moin sure had way more experience than umar. He grew up being on TV. Umar however came a long way. From small home wedding shows, to radio to audio cassets to stage plays. He couldn't make his way into paki movies but who has had luck in that area anyway.
Umar's be-sakhta andaz and hazir jawabi makes him way more funnier. Moin is a better actor without a doubt. Umar doesn't know acting. period.
well honestly they both had the potential of making audiences laugh like crazy but now now they've lost their touch i think, wo baat nai rai
in hosting events n programmes i prefer moin akhter
in stage shows, umer shareef is better
in comedy dramas, moin akhter
as for ppl saying umer shareef is cheap...agreed...umer shareef does have a laloo kheti maliri style while moin akhter has more of a gulshan style :D lekin sometimes even if they r cheap umer shareef's jokes make u laff like crazy
In case you didnt know, with the advent of new punjabi comedy actors in lahore, Umer Sharifs considered 'not funny' in lahore, by the stage drama fans.
*Originally posted by Spock: *
In case you didnt know, with the advent of new punjabi comedy actors in lahore, Umer Sharifs considered 'not funny' in lahore, by the stage drama fans.
that actually has to do with the level of education in potential audience...
I have watched Amaanulah and found his "juggataiN" much more like bazaari:) ..laughable yet not comparable..
*Originally posted by Spock: *
yeh thas true.
from punjabi stage shows Suhail Ahmed is/was the best (he does TV more these days). His role as Baba Dang (forgot the name of the stage show) was superb. Amanullah is another one I admire. He also has a unique style. The rest, like Shoqi Khan (Allah Bakhsay), Babu Baral, Masatana almost always have the same lines to say. This like this new line:
Jadun tu maraein ga tay teri qabar road which banwa gey. Qabar di qabar tay jump da jump.
*Originally posted by TUMS: *
and you are the Dennis Miller of message boards because your references are lost on this American.
well dennis miller is not targetted to teh average joe. okay let me give you an example you can relate to.
moin akhter is the Jim carey of pakistan
omar shareef is the tom greene of pakistan
I mean niether is really teh groucho marx, much of teh comdy is slapstick.
but do take a loof at omar shareef, he is a desi version of richard simmons, i kid you not..same annoying hyper attitude..maybe he needs to be sprayed with a fire extinguisher like david letterman does to simmons .