Umar Akmal in Place of Younis?

Should Umar Akmal be included in place of younis in next match?

Re: Umar Akmal in Place of Younis?

NO

That w'd be a knee-jerk reaction, infact an overreaction IMO

Younis will come good soon, hopefully in the next test

But we do need to strengthen our batting

I would consider dropping Junaid Khan (bowled a mere 8 overs in England's 1st innings, did not bowl badly but is he really needed on these wickets?) and replacing him with Umar Akmal.

Gul + 3 spinners (Ajmal, Rehman and Hafeez) should be our attack. Younis Khan is not a bad parttime bowler either

or could keep the same team apart from Junaid - replace him with Wahab who can bat a bit

Yes. I think thats more feasible.

You can not drop Younis Khan on basis of failure in couple of tests

Yes you can...and you should. Past performances do not matter -Younis has failed 4 innings in a row when the team needed him. When you have a quality prospect like Umar Akmal waiting in the wings, you should definately drop Younis and play Umar.

It doesent matter if you`re a junior or a senior player - if you dont perform, and there is a good replacement sitting on the bench, then you definately should be dropped.

Its not matter of Junior or Senior. Failing to score big in 2 matches is really not a ultimate failure by any standards and as Much as I want Umar Akmal to be in the team, he is not a replacement for Younus Khan

Pehli waar anee achee gul kitee wey. :k:

It does not mean that he is dropped permanently, he can come back in ODIs and get back into form. We have a series to win, will you bet on a batsman who is failing or give young one a chance, who i think can bat well against the spinners.

True he’s failed here (Abu Dhabi) but Younis made 37 (not sure if I would call that a failure in a low scoring match! ) in Pakistan’s 1st innings in Dubai

http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan-v-england-2012/engine/match/531628.html

Taufeeq has been failing as well and seems to be totally out of place against spin, but then do we have an opener?

wo tu theek hai liken Misbah taiz runs keyun nahi bananata :frowning:

open with Umar Akmal perhaps? He can not be worst than Taufeeq. With his aggressive nature, he might be able to score 40s quickly?

Will he be willing to open? Taufeeq i think has developed a mental block against swan. However he can occupy crease for a while even without making runs, seeing the shine off.

Yes, aur Azhar bhi. :)

:sadaf: :sadaf:

tay tussi pehli warr younis khan ka saath ditta ha in my 8 years at GS!

Absolutely not. Umar Akmal should be kept as far away from Test cricket as possible.

Why drop YK, we have our next series with mighty BD touring us in few months.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/cricketnama/531543-yk-in-odis.html#post8604579

YK got very good deliveries. Didt thrown his wicket. He has to be part specially for next match. U A can be takne in replacing adnan akmal.

IMO, Umar Akmal should be in team by replacing Junaid :cobra: We should try to make in our first innings 400 or 500 and then straightaway attack with Spinners :hbk: