Something to be shown off or kept very personal and private?
Re: Ultrasound pictures
Show off to people who are genuinely happy & excited for you & hide them from people that’ll end up either gossiping about you “haye paida bhi nahi hua aur abhi say dhindora peet rahi hai” or will end up giving your baby “nazar” if you know what I mean.
Man I remember I so wanted to post her 2nd trimester picture on fb & hubby didn’t let me ![]()
They look like alien anyways so very few people will be actually able to relate to them & get all awwed by the pictures.
"dhindora peet rahi hai" meaning, too excited?
I knwo some people believe its very very personal but the counterargument is that its not anybody's body part being shown off.
I've shown it to close friends and family- I think its amazing and incredible to see and truly a miracle. I wouldn't put it on FB though just for nazar's sake.
I don't know about you ladies but mom/dad showed me & wife .. ultrasound pictures of myself after a week of my marriage.. .and i still don't know why ?
But yeh they still have it, and a lot of people saw that even 2 and half decades ago..
we didnt showed 2 any1 just me n my huby........ one of my huby's frnd is chinese n he had put up on fb :)
I showed mine only to close family. and very close friends. i know people who posted it all on facebook, but I was uncomfortable doing that (except with that one late one that resembled my own newborn photo :D -- then I couldn't resist).
I wasn't too comfortable showing my baby's ultrasound scans. I just told people who asked, they'll just have to wait to see the baby. So far I've had at least 6 scans and 1 MRI done (I got a cd for that with scans) but only the latest scans show a baby that's not ... alien looking. I save all the scans though.
We didn’t show ours to anyone…mostly because there weren’t any close family members closeby with whom we would have liked to share it…
I have kept all pictures though…although they are precious but I can hardly see a ‘baby’ like thing in the earlier ones…![]()
I was’nt comfortable sharing them with friends etc or on facebook etc…
I’ll just go and look at them and awwww all over again…![]()
In my case my mom and my daughter's father & his family had all seen the pics. I barely reached third trimester but the ultrasound report was always read by them in the hope that baby's gender would be written on it and those pics are attached with the report. BTW only small private clinics giving ultra sound services give loads of pic to the parents but big hospitals do not.
Anyway, now I have them and may be when my daughter will be samajhdaar enough I will show those pics to her.
Something to be shown off or kept very personal and private?
Bint-e-naeem is right. Show them to right people. We all need someone to share our feelings with. Either show to extremely dear or exteremly strangers. They ll be equal happy. :)
me and my husband didnt show them to anyone, although i desperately wanted to show them to my mommy :(
my husband, my mom, and my sister will get to see them.. rest will see the baby!!!
I have a feeling that my in laws will think I am besharam if I showed them the pics so as much as I will like to share with them, it may not go well :D
Thats what i dont understand, what is "besharam" about it? if no body part is being shown..?
I don;t know.. it must be a cultural thing!
I have seen so many women covering their bellies under a big chadar or something similar infront of men in Pakistan.... and I honestly don;t know about my in laws reaction but I would rather not offend /embarass them by offering them to see the ultrasound pics.. and why I think so is because one of my older sil was expecting, i told my husband about it and he had no idea about it.. apparently they don;t talk much about pregnancies in his fmaily.. on the other hand, we share the good news right away in my family so probably I was kind of used to it and feel more comfortable sharing with them.
I don't think it has anything to do with the baby's body part.. probably they think you are showing the women's inside pic which is not a very cool thing to do.. I dunno.. I am just assuming allt his stuff here!!!
Thats what i dont understand, what is "besharam" about it? if no body part is being shown..?
Its not anything 'besharam' about the ultrasound picture or anything but what I have seen is that being pregnant is looked as something which should be hidden...in a way as GtG said in big chaddars and all...
I remember when my mumani was expecting her first one the maid that used to work at their house would tell her to stay inside the house and not come in the 'sehan' (the open courtyard thing) because it was very very bad if the neighbors saw her and also because she should be hiding her growing self in front of her FIL (my nana)...
then just recently my mom's maid declared that she had to bring her expecting daughter from the village to her place because there she had to live in a house where her BILs were living too nad it was 'besharmee'....
Its actually the whole 'how' one gets pregnant that leads to this thinking that one is supposed to be kept within chaddars and confines when pregnant....
I have actually seen too may of such cases during my college years and then working there too...
So basically its like…oh ur pregnant, u had sex…
why am I not surprised at this thinking?
I wudn’t be showing off clevage or my belly but if someone has such ghatya thinking why should I punish myself by feeling ashamed??
Lol. See that's what I was talking about Sara & its not just our culture but many other cultures as well who think this whole pregnancy thing should be hush hush.
Dhindoora would be two things here one in the aspect of what was mentioned above like thinking what led to getting pregnant in the first place & then second that oh the baby is not here yet why is the woman being silly & showing off her baby. What if God forbid the baby is not able to make it & blah blah.
You do know that there was a survey done in USA couple of years back & most percentage of the men came across as saying they find pregnant women sexy because of the fact that their pregnancy shows they had been "busy" some time back.
I shared mine with my family. I had the pics on my refrigerator and it was a nice glimpse of what she was going to be like and what was going on inside of me.
sorry to be meddling here…but just a question..
don’t the fetus look like some weird mutant type things unless they are nearly complete? ![]()