Re: UK ladies, help in shopping!!
Must be exciting…
Yes, I definitely plan to buy a bath tub for my newborn… I guess, that will the most difficult part for me to handle… giving bath to my baby ![]()
Must be exciting…
Yes, I definitely plan to buy a bath tub for my newborn… I guess, that will the most difficult part for me to handle… giving bath to my baby ![]()
I found a bath seat with the mesh fabric more helpful than a tub, especially in the beginning.
any idea how it looks?and how is it different from an ordinary baby bath tub??
what I intend to buy is, something like this:
That what I got I think it’s gud for beginning and later own
thx god my mom is here to help me with everything
I know what you mean plus I’m on bedrest! Crib bedding costs stress me out. The nice ones are over 150.
I know what you mean plus I'm on bedrest! Crib bedding costs stress me out. The nice ones are over 150.
Make bedding urself ( my mom did for me went to fabric and at home)and all u really need is a fitted sheets , get a thick blanket to put on baby
That what I got I think it's gud for beginning and later own thx god my mom is here to help me with everything
aw.....lucky you :)
Make bedding urself ( my mom did for me went to fabric and at home)and all u really need is a fitted sheets , get a thick blanket to put on baby
I was thinking about this, but I can cant really sew that well. What about the crib skirt? I'm very picky with the colors for the crib bedding too. I like soft colors. Maybe I'll just buy a crib skirt and a few fitted sheets. Baby won't use the quilt anyways.
Queen, for bathing , dont stress , it is not as difficult as it seems to be .. I didnt buy a tub, I bought this chair :
Deluxe Baby Bather Sea Turtle - Babies R Us - Britain’s greatest toy store
Its so awesome yaar .. worked really really well for the first four months .. then baby started sitting up and I could still use it .. but then at 6 months he became heavy and needed a tub , thats when i bought a tub. But believe me , this seat is perfect ..
I keep it in the loo. since I am usually alone with the baby majority of the day , I had to take him to the loo with me everytime i went .. I would sit him on the seat , lol .. it was so convenient .. it even acted as his sofa seat for a little while lol coz of its low level , when baby learnt to hang his legs in a sitting position , he loved sitting in it got a bit too comfy with it ! he never liked his bouncer this way !
if you wait for the 20% off at babies R us , you can go buy this chair , it will cost you even lesser !
For the baby bedding, i got a set , but it was such a waste .. What I ended up doing is this :
I use the bumper so baby doesnt bang his head into the cot.
I bought 3 single size fleece throws from Primark and Asda and use them as cot sheets coz they keep the baby really warm
If you have a sleeping bag, its perfect and all that you need .. if not , then get two fleece sheets and stitch them together .. or get a large one and double it , tuck it on both sides inside the cot so that the baby wont be able to pull it on his face .. tuck the baby in half swaddled .
Fleece is so good coz i got it in really bright and awesome shades ..
That’s really cheap and seems good too. The only thing I am thinking is wouldn’t the little angel slip from sides? I mean, how did you find it?? Didn’t he slip while bathing from sides?? I see no support in there?? Or I am just thinking, and there wouldn’t be anything like that? ![]()
CB, how did you keep your baby warm and cosy in the nights like how many layers do a baby need at night time in winters?
Queen, nope, the baby didnt slip at all. In fact I intentionally didnt choose a seat in which the baby would be positioned in the laying position coz that way galati sai water can go into their mouth and nose . So I chose this one , which is more like a sitting , relaxed position .. when he was tiny, he was alright to sit in there ..when he was three and ready to jump out , I had to hold him back with one hand slightly .. but still this was a life saver. And waise just so you know, no matter how comfortable a seat is, I would never ever leave the baby completely in it. Even when he was tiny and didnt move about too much and was perfectly safe in that seat, even then i used to ensure my hands were close to him .. But I loved the seat. it was teh best buy that completely did the paisay pooray in every sense of the word.
Radiant, son was born at the peak of winter. I used to control the room temp with heating upto 20 degrees . and the rest I used to dress him up in two layers ( his body suit and sleep suit on top ) put him in his sleeping bag and wrap him lightly in his fleece blanket. .. if he seemed cold still , I would double the fleece blanket layer. but that was it. Would keep the baby hat on his head at night time but kept checks of his body temperature coz as soon as it felt like he was looking hot , I would remove the fleece to single layer and remove the hat completely.
While going out, I had this fleece romper with feet and a hoodie. had him wear that and used to wrap him in his fleece blanket , double or triple layers , as much as was comfortable. you will know what the baby needs, believe me you will. i never used to have faith inwhat is called a mothers instinct .. but now i know that this phenomenon is for real and its a very strong urge that keeps telling you what the baby needs !
Radiant, when is your baby due? and are you in the UK?
I did my shopping all by myself. You don’t want anyone irritating you are shopping for your baby .
MashAllah such a sugghhaarr mommy the little angel got… Seriously yar, I mean, you managed really great being a mom, is it your first baby? If yes and if you did everything alone then I must pat your back!! Thanks for really detailed guidance. I am sure gonna shop reading this thread of mine, again and again… Oh good me… I am glad I opened such a thread ![]()
Lusi, its not about irritation, I get irritated when I want to buy something and someone interrupts while saying, esa nahin, esa lo… is color ka nhin, us color ka lo, etc etc, but the point here is… I am a first time mom, and iswaqt to “kiya” lo, yehi janna important hay!
Being true, welcoming a baby in your home (& especially when its first), brings you a lot of expenses. Of course I would want to manage it under a budget where I can be assure of the good quality and quantity of any item I buy for my kiddo. Its quite helpful of CB, that she is telling me each and everything, from Quantity to Quality, which will help me in future to avoid any regret about spending over something worthless…
In fact, any of you are welcome ![]()
Queen , thanks so much , yes first baby and I was on my own as well all through the pregnancy as well as post pregnancy .. husband was there but he would mostly keep busy with work and all .. but it was his on and off support that was invaluable ..
you know what? a baby is the most beautiful thing that can happen to a couple .. it may seem extremely confusing and complicated to shop for them right now , but eventually you will get around to doing things just fine ..
you only got to keep two things in mind:
Research well and keep the basic needs of the baby in mind and then decide what is the basic need and what is the luxury .. if you can afford get the luxury in , but if you want to remain in a budget , then go with the basic requirement. or take the middle path . But research will help you become very clear on whats an absolute need and whats a luxury.
Dont buy everything before the baby arrives .. you will be surprise how strong a personality babies have .. i tried endlessly to swaddle mine , he hated it to the point of crying non stop ! he hates the jackets from day one ! i cant get him into one , i am now getting him used to fleece and other soft material.. he hates hats and hoodies , and believe me all this has been on from day one ! so let the baby arrive and you will see how easy it will become to shop for them ![]()
all the best and if you have issues deciding what you need and what you want , you can contact me .. i will PM you my number ..
so Sweet of you dear. I must appreciate you. I am already very excited. You are helping me too much. I have been to shopping several times for the baby but every time I came back with emptied hands. Reason was, literally everything seems so important that I was like, kia chorun aur kiya khareedun!! Especially when its the first baby, you know the speciality!! Your kid becomes the most special piece on earth and you wish to buy every single thing for him. I don’t want to over-collect the items just in excitement. I want to make sure what are his necessities!! Saving on wrong items can make me spend on the luxuries
Thanks for the number thing. I would love you to be with my during my shopping time. I decided to shop in advance but seems, I should do what you suggested, (wait for the right time).. Thanks for being there ![]()
I don’t know if this has been mentioned …, buy couple mattress pads,4-6 all purpose changing pads, they come very handy.