Re: uh questionnn
it is not allowed
Are you guys sure? I really enjoy playing my guitar. What could possibly be wrong with this? http://youtube.com/watch?v=OwpQPC7sUb8&search=j%20s%20bach%20guitar
You guys are joking right? Haha try to pull one over me. I love my guitar too much.
Try thinking outside the box, and you might correct you pathetic thinking. Hey media under hadiths and sunnahs is haram when you think about it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even the use of emoticons is HARAM PER SUNNI CLERICS.
I rather like the idea of no box at all instead of out of the box.
O man you are in trouble, there was a very long thread about this some months ago try find it.
Simply put it, music is not good for the soul. Try other activities, and minimize ur music as much as u can, if anything...try to stop it completely.
The whole world has focused around how to live life in this world, they've done everything to pursue the things in this world. Muslims think outside the box and they actually worry about the coming life instead.
This life is not free, Allah gave you hands feet, eyes smell, sense, hearing, and good health. He gave you everything in this world, and you can't expect it ot be free, and then at the sametime abuse the things to disobey him.
Pay to Allah, Pray Namaaz, Remember him. He is the almighty, and if something stops you from remembering him, then truly there is a lost for someone.
and why you have a dancing avatar. just kidding. :)
Dear GSians
It is a controversial issue. The Hadith quoted above needs to be elaborated more. One thing is clear that throughout Holy Quran, there is no clear cut **Hurmat *of Music. On the other hand, adultary, wine, magic etc have been clearly made *Haram**. Moreover all acts of lust, obscenity and immoralty are Haram. Similarly the Hadith quoted above relates to that form of Music which is associated with immorality and acts of lust. So music is not Haram, only the music related with Haram things of immorality, obscenity and lust is Haram. Lets find some answers from history.
When Hazrat Muhammad (MPBUH) migrated to Madina, some little girls were reciting qaseedas on the beat of a **Daff **which incidentally is a musical instrument.
At one of the Eids, some girls were singing near Hazrat Muhammad (MPBUH) on the beat of Daff, when they were stopped by Hazrat Abu Bakar (RA). The Holy Prophet (MPBUH) then told Hazrat Abu Bakar (RA), "O Abu Bakar (RA) do not stop them on this occasion of Eid. Don't you know that every Ummah before had an Eid and we have two Eids".
The incident of some black slaves dancing with spears on the beat of Drums and **Duff **in the streets of Madina is present in Saheeh books of Hadith. This dance was looked upon by Hazrat Muhammad (MPBUH) and also Hazrat Ayesha Siddiqa (RA) from behind the shoulder of Hazrat Muhammad (MPBUH) through a slit in the door.
There is another Hadith in Nisai Sharif in the chapter Ailan-ul-Nikkah. It goes like this, "Hazrat Aamer bin Saeed (RA) states, 'I went to Hazrat Qurzata bin Ka'ab (RA) and Hazrat Abu Massod Ansari (RA) in a wedding ceremony. At that time slave girls were **singing **some songs. I asked them that they were the Ashab of Prophet (MPBUH) and were from Ahle Badar. What was that music in front of them? After hearing this they both replied, 'If you want, you can sit with us, if not, you are free to go but we have been allowed by the Holy Prophet (MPBUH) for this at this wedding', ".
Allama Shami in the famous book of Fiqah, Rad-ul-Mukhtar says the following in book 5 page 343,
"As such no musical instrument is Haram by itself. An instrument is Haram only when it is with the intention of Lust. The intention of lust is determined by the intention (nee'at or nee'ah) of the player of an instument of lust and its listener. It means that if the intention of either of them is that of lust, then it would be Haram. Moreover, every musical instument is not an instrument of lust. Don't you see that playing of these musical instrument as detemined by intention is at times Haram and at others, Halal. And the ruling on Deeds is through Intention (nee'ah)".
Moreover no Ayat or Hadith declares the **Absolute Hurmat **of Music. That found in certain Ahadith is only **Relative Hurmat **and absolut hurmat has been carved out of them.
There are some people who say that the only instrument allowed is Daff. It is not the case. Since at that time, there were limited number of instruments. To say that only Daff is allowed will probably not serve the purpose, because on the same premise, all the modern inventions and developments will have to be thrown away. As there were only horses, camels, swords. etc, so one can argue that even in this 21st century, the Muslim Armies should only do Jehad with horses, camels, swords etc. Is'nt it illogical, that we use the Internet and all the modern gadgetories for the propagation of our own interpretations of Islam, but when it comes to the issues, not liked by us, we shrug our shoulders by saying no to any new invention, even if, it is in the musical industry. Why don't we get the point. We are mixing two issues of Halal and Haram, plus Music and Musical Istrument.
Q1. What is Haram?
A 1. It is Immorality, Obscenity and Lust. Yes it is Haram even with Daff.
Q2. What about Daff? Is it the only instrument Halal?
A 2. No Sir. It is the music without Immorality, Obcenity and Lust that is permissible even with instruments other than Daff.
Considering the above, it can be inferred that those forms of Music associated with immorality, obcenity, lust etc are not allowed at all, but Music associated with weddings and functions, in the absence of immorality, and without mixing of genders is permissible. Similar is the case with Military Bands and National Songs. But concerts, discos, dance clubs, music clubs and musical shows with lusty songs and immoral dances have no place whatsoever in Islam.
Regards for all of you.
Wassalam.
MashAllah Dr Sahib.... This is the best explanation i have ever read/heard :)
Jazak Allah.
real nice :)
So whats the deal with guitars? Is the sufi right?
Edit: By sufi I was referring to LightBearer, not Dr. Sufi.
Dear Brother
Assalam-o-Alaikum
In my humble opinion, as long as playing guitars is not associated with anything immoral, obscene, lusty or haram, it is permissible. On the same premise, cetain scholars (both sufi and non sufi) like the one I mentioned in my reply above, consider music to be permissible as long as it fulfills the a/m conditions. In Pakistan and India, and in other parts of Muslim world, most of the Sunni brelvis, Shias plus Chishtia and Qadria sufi orders, consider music permissible on the same lines. On the contrary most of Sunni deobandis and Ahle-Hadith do not consider it permissible.
NB: Views quoted above are my opinion and not a Fatwa.
PS: Also check my thread Guitars for SyedAbduallah
Regards.
it is haram mainly becuase your avoiding praying or reading the qur'an -whatever distracts u from praying etc thats considered haraam
I have decided to throw my guitar out.
so music is HARAM and you should NEVER listen to it and you should NEVER try to go near music???..but what about movies coz if movies are haram then why’d they make a movie about prophet muhammed PBUH?..i swear its like erm you should avoid music not like completely STOP AND NEVER TO LISTEN…its like how it is about smoking…it hasn’t got a real part in the Quran about it but you should consider staying away from it?..correct me if im wrong ![]()
This is a deep matter, every matter in islam is. If you are looking for serious answers why Music is haraam, contact your local scholar, or imam, and he will give you a detailed explanation, along with Quranic references and Hadith explanations.
Its so clear cut, you won't believe it. It is haraam, first step we can do is (even if we listen to it) to establish it as haraam.
Say its haraam, even if you do it, admit the sin. Don't cover it up or defend it.
My friend once asked the local mufti, and he got pages worth of a reply with references as to why its haraam.
So do your research. And accept ur sins...don't cover themup to defend yourself, Allah swt knows all.
Good luck, May Allah Guide us all. Ameen.
Let people enjoy their lives! Let them play music! Let them dance! If they do not disturb others!
Its not a valid point.If some1 want to pray he will do it tht wht ever he is doing.if some1 dont want to pray he will not pray.Its depend on person and willness.most of the time u see people do offer pray regularly but at time they got busy himself and they forget the time of pray.so it mean tht depend on person and his work shedule and most of tht its depents on his willness rather he playing guitar or watching tv or sitting on internet .App ka irada aisi chiz hai jo app ko sab kaam kara daita chahay app guitar baja rahi hoo dance kar rahi hoo kia app actors aur actress ko nahi daikhtay woh bhi Pray karty hai Haalankay saray bore kaam woh log hi karty hai.lakin woh irada kar laty hai tu pray kar laty hai
yes but if they want to do what they want and enjoy their lives then why would they want to call them muslims?
…yes i admit i listen to music all the time…and i didnt know until lifey brought this matter…so yes inshallah i will be trying to cut back on music…If you are a true muslim i guess you would realise that yes you enjoy urselves but don’t disobey Allah (swt) :halo: … it’s their life but who made it for them?..they can only listen to musci coz Allah (swt) gave them ears:halo: They can only dance coz Allah (swt) gave them the ability to move…we should respect that…and im sorry if you are not a muslim.
Those two are not sects bro and those two have strictness about music.