Ugali - Kenya's national dish

:yummy:

A Pakistani Auntie, who has spent some 18 years in Kenya, told me of this recipe… she has her own version to it, she modifies it by adding mushrooms and spinach (the last one ubaal kar) - that way, the taste is not so dry or ‘empty’. She cooks the spinach FIRST in the recipe, then adds the mushrooms, and then i think the cornmeal waghera. You don’t really need to cook the mushrooms completely when you add it with the spinach; the mushrooms can be cooked later on with the cornmeal and the rest of the ingredients.

According to this website, Ugali is “cornmeal cooked with water to a thick consistency and poured out onto a board or plate for everyone to eat from. The following recipe for ugali could be made over an open fire outside, or in a kitchen. Beef broth with vegetables can be poured over it, and on special occasions chunks of meat are added to the broth.”

Yield: serves 4 to 6

Ingredients:

1 cup cold water
1 cup yellow cornmeal
1 teaspoon salt, more or less to taste
3 cups boiling water

Equipment: Medium-size saucepan, mixing spoon or whisk

Instructions:

1. Put cold water in saucepan, and, mixing continually, add cornmeal and salt. Bring to a boil over high heat, and, mixing continually, slowly add 3 cups boiling water to prevent lumps.
  2. Reduce to simmer, cover, and cook for about 8 minutes, mixing frequently to prevent sticking. Add salt to taste and mix well.
    Serve ugali in individual bowls with cream, sugar, syrup, ghee, or butter poured over it.

http://www.blissites.com/kenya/culture/recipes/ugali.html

The Auntie sprinkled some coconut shreddings on the top of it and it tasted absolutely delicious. It tastes way better with mushrooms and spinach… the above recipe that i got from a website doesn’t mention the vegetables. i’m going to try this out tomorrow Insha’Allah - and let you guys know how it went :hula:

Looks interesting Nadia. Be sure to report back with the verdict.

kaisay mazay mazay ke khaane khaate hain aap loug :yummy:

*looks at his ever-mounting pile of papay that he gets for three meals a day :halo:

sounds :yummy:

i think it’ll taste great with nido milk :roman: :smiley:

p.s. thanks for sharing the recipe nadia :d:)

Re: Ugali - Kenya’s national dish

Aww look at Nadia drooling and jhoomofying. Tell us how was it? Taste? Smell? :smiley:

Re: Re: Ugali - Kenya’s national dish

And consistency :halo:

Nadia, you're in Canada right? I wonder if I might know this Aunty...

Being from Kenya I have eaten the stuff and frankly the Ugali in its original form is bland and yuckh!!!!!.

thanks for sharing

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Being from Kenya I have eaten the stuff and frankly the Ugali in its original form is bland and yuckh!!!!!.

Maybe 'ugali' is how the Kenyans pronounce 'ugly'...:D

embarassed i didn’t make it yet. :smack2:

Problem is, we have a little bit of cornmeal at home, but it’s not enough to make this dish with. So i was supposed to go day before yesterday to buy cornmeal and i forgot :smack: Aur kal nahin ja saki because i was too busy, aur aaj sarkein bahaut kharab theen… we’ve had so much snow, it’s impossible to drive even the 5 minute distance to the grocery store. sigh i feel so stupid, but thankfully this is not an unfamiliar feeling:D

i’ll make it this weekend Insha’Allah, then i’ll take a picture of it and scan it even. Shahreen and Irem - Thank you, i will definitely do just that :slight_smile: :flower1:

Khanzada, lolz! Agar aap kabhi yahan ayen gai, i’ll make this African dish for you. i don’t promise it will be delicious, but at least it will be something diverse and ‘interesting’ :slight_smile:

5Abi, i’ll be sure to report once i make it :o

Cat-woman, Really? eek wala icon Does she have a university-going son?

Ehsan Bhai, oh :~( i wasn’t expecting that response from yourself. Please try it with mushrooms and spinach… i guarantee you will really enjoy it, i hope.

MehRos, Thank you. :~)

Lajawab, i’m sorry, but i’m afraid not :~P It’s a very good dish… just try it once with the mushrooms and spinach. i think you would have liked it also if you had tried it in the same manner that this Auntie had cooked it.

lol Nadia I guess its not the same Aunty, the one I was thinking of has two grown up sons who are married. :)

Jee main muft main mile to apne dost ko bhi kha jaon! :hehe: Thanks for the offer… :smiley:

Re: Ugali - Kenya's national dish

Wow such a mouth watering recipe.