Ufff where do i post this? Larkioooooooooon

Ok serious larkioon
Being the very picky person i am
I have decided to stitch my girls their eid kay kapray myself
(i know apnay hi paaon par kulhari mar rahi hoon)

Mummy usually sends over their eid kay kapray but seriously there isnt much of a variety
its usually either a hyderabadi thingie …or a organza ka suit

I am bored
Shhh mummy ko nahi batana she will get mad aur meray eid kay kapray nahi bhaijain gi

I am full of ideas par just cant figure out wht material waghera waghera
design bhi dimagh main hain
par i want something simple …but elegant
Not that heavy or thick cause its going to be hot

So girls let your creative brain cells run me down

Inaam i will send each of you a autographed pic of my girls in their Eid kay kapray:)

Yaar Aanchal i'm a total duffer when it comes to materials and stuff :( Khair, how about going for light lace? (not heavy kind, the light one).

Who says nothing is impossible? I've been doing nothing all my life!

Hmmm..well if its gonna be hot then you will need sommat light, especially for young girls, as they will be all over the place.

I think Humsa`s idea of lace is great. You could make them lehngay with a lace top and silky material skirt underneath? You can get lots of stuff like that here, shops are full of all sorts. The material is easy to sew also. And the girls look absolutely gorgeous in it. An ivory or a light pink would be great.

Even if you are thinking of making a "pyjama" suit, you can have the lace as the kameez and the silk as the "pyjama". Maybe you have thought of these already, and I aint helping, but hey I tried :).

Hmmm lace..Good idea Hum sa:)

Like a plain top, then a sleeveless top made of lace to go overtop..different shade of the same color as the kameez, and then a langa with. Or if you wanted go really simple you could make a long, kameeze that flares out a lil’ bit, with simple ‘almost’ straight cut sharara then do the edging in beads…but thats alot of work

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rotato.gif

hmmm u know ribbon would also look good if you put a few bands of it around the cuffs 'n edges..you know what would look even better–a band of wide lace then banded with ribbon on both sides. Or you could…

Yikes! I gotta get some sleep…be back for sure:slight_smile:

Satin with lace is the best combo.

Gals you are experts
never thought of lace and those long peshwaz kinda thing

dunno bout lenghaz
maybe a lengha for anam but chooti def not a lengha
she will tear it in minutes

Humsa janu thanks for the lace bit
i think lace in summer is going to be very cool

Mariah thats why i decided to do the dresses myself cause the craft shops are full of materials and ribbons and gootas and stuff

Girlie umm gharara

i dunno the abcd of ghararas how bout a peshwaz with a pajama?
i am def going to try the kameez with flares and beads for anam

Anchal going bonkers with these brilliant ideas

What is a peshwaz?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

Who says nothing is impossible? I’ve been doing nothing all my life!

Anchal baji:)

I dunno the diff between sharara 'n gharara either sheepish smile i always mix them up

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/clown.gif

. Hmm i guess what i meant was instead of a normal shalwar, maybe try something almost straight cut—like culottes. But instead of cutting it totally straight, cut the outside edges on an angle so..hmmm..how do i describe this…alright got it, so it looks like like an A-line skirt 'cept separated. That way if you put it together with a kameez that flares it looks really nice–cause of the double layer…

hope that made senserueful smile

ps.ditto mariah’s question:)

ps2. Hum sa…just told me sharara=lehnga and gharara is the one thats ‘split’:slight_smile:

…wait a minute i think she said the opposite–maybe its the other way around…uh oh now i’m mixed up again :confused: sighzamazoiders

Larkionn sharam karo
shararay aur ghararay ka difference nahi pata

Gharara is the one with two painchas
like a shalwar

Sharara is the one with only one piancha
like a skirt

Lengha is similar to sharara in piancha
but different in design

Hyderabadi lengha is like a lengha too however it has two parts
the material of cloth in both parts is different
the top is kinda golden and the bottom is plain

whats next whats next!!

Pehswaz
Its like a frock with layers of gathers
the body is fitting and has kaam waghera but the frock is plain usually the material of frock is jargit waghera waghera
it has a shalwar
anarkali is similar however it has a pajama not a shalwar

when i was around four i developed this craze for a pathani dress
all i wanted was a pathani dress and nothing else
after eating up everybody's ears my nani finally asked this pathani family she knew to make one for me
it was beautiful with all the zaiwars waghera stitched to the dress

why is everything so precious to me lying around at mums place?
i gotta go back to claim my memories

Aanchal like I said, I'm a duffer in this case. Mujhe to yeh bhi nahi pata tha kay Waleema kub hota hai aur baraat kub. Hehe

Anyway thanks for the explanation, meri mushkil door ho gayee

How about a "angrakha"? (the Mughliya design)

I luv angharkas
they are extremely feminine
but when men wear em ...umm they dont look good

My choothi ka dress was angarkha
it was blue choori daar pajama and a blue sleeveless shirt
with a organza ka angarkha with kaam on it

dont ask me what choothi is
cause i dunno
all i did was stuff myself with tandoori and sheermal and be the center of attention :)

array shaitan ki khala, do you know how to cook hyderabadi baingan. Can u post this here.

they are called bhigaray baingan

Originally posted by Anchal:
**Larkionn sharam karo
shararay aur ghararay ka difference nahi pata

Gharara is the one with two painchas
like a shalwar

Sharara is the one with only one piancha
like a skirt

Lengha is similar to sharara in piancha
but different in design

Hyderabadi lengha is like a lengha too however it has two parts
the material of cloth in both parts is different
the top is kinda golden and the bottom is plain

whats next whats next!!

Pehswaz
Its like a frock with layers of gathers
the body is fitting and has kaam waghera but the frock is plain usually the material of frock is jargit waghera waghera
it has a shalwar
anarkali is similar however it has a pajama not a shalwar

when i was around four i developed this craze for a pathani dress
all i wanted was a pathani dress and nothing else
after eating up everybody's ears my nani finally asked this pathani family she knew to make one for me
it was beautiful with all the zaiwars waghera stitched to the dress

why is everything so precious to me lying around at mums place?
i gotta go back to claim my memories **

AAnchal,Thank you for posting such unique post.I probably learnt more new stuff in one post than combined forum.
But aanchal ,eid is around 27 th dec. how come its going to be hot??Dont hyderasbadi say 'nako' more than others,Lol just kidding hope you don't mind

Hritik :)
Yes eid is around 27 December
But i am in Australia so its going to be hot :)

Aanchal,

The lace would look beautiful....see if you can use satin for the shameez and the bottoms.

And for the little one, you are definitely right about no lengha type thingy.....try a tang-pajama.....she'll look adorable and it'll keep from tripping her up. Then put little payal on her!

Muzna i am going up for three outifts for each
and lace is definitely going to be one of em
I am thinking white lace
kinda dont like other colors in lace
or maybe peach dunno

Payals!!!
thats a superb idea …only where am i going to find such small payals?
same for bangles …i have asked mum to send over a big box of choorian

Anam is very excited ..she loves dressing up so much she has now totally discarded me off as her hair dresser
she reckons that she can comb her hair and put a clip on herself
someone should tell her that she looks like a cartoon with the clip hanging on one side of her head

I am hurt :frowning:

as for chooti she would do anything anam is doing so she is equally excited

Re: Ufff where do i post this? Larkioooooooooon

order from a groupon facebook. i thinkits pretty cool and very reasonable prices. goes by this name ''Clothes inc.- Shalwar kameez online''