UAE sheikh cleared over torture

**A member of the ruling family of the United Arab Emirates has been cleared of the torture of a business associate.**Lawyers for Sheikh Issa bin Zayed al-Nahyan, the president’s brother, said the court ruled he had been drugged and so was “unaware of his actions”.

The incident came to light when a videotape was circulated showing the violent beating, said to have taken place in 2004.

It was the first reported investigation of a UAE ruling family member.

Lawyer Habib al-Mulla said the court had established that Sheikh Issa was “not responsible” for the torture of Mohammed Shah Poor.

“The court accepted our defence that the sheikh was under the influence of drugs that left him unaware of his actions,” AFP news agency quoted him as saying.

The defence had previously claimed Sheikk Issa had been drugged by two men who then then recorded the beating in order to blackmail him.

‘Equality sign’

The video, circulated last year, shows Sheikh Issa repeatedly beating Mr Poor, a grain merchant of Afghan origin, and running him over with a car.

Several other men assist in the tape, including one in a uniform of the security forces.

The incident came to light after US television network ABC broadcast clips of the tape, which was smuggled out of the UAE by a former business associate of Issa bin Zayed al-Nahyan.

Reports say the merchant had lost a consignment of grain belonging to Sheikh Issa worth $5,000 (£3,300). He survived the abuse, but needed extensive hospital treatment.

Mr al-Mulla said the fact the trial had taken place was “a sign that the UAE is showing that everyone in this country can be put in front of law and judged”.

The UAE is a federation of seven wealthy emirates with substantial oil reserves and a large expatriate population. Each emirate is run by a ruling family and citizens are granted few political rights.

OMG!!! How can this ass be cleared of this…jst coz he is a Sheikh frm the Al Nahyan family!!! I saw that video and it made me sick that I could not even watch the video for more than a minute!!! He tortured that guy jst for $5000, when he has millions of dollars…and he actually enjoyed doing it…if the Afghani was in the wrong, he should have put him in jail instead of what he did.

:mad:

Well, precisely. The system in the Gulf states is weighted against the foreigner. Grew up in that region, and if you have a problem with a local, then local is always right.

Most Paki are so hypocritical, the Jews sneeze, and we jump up and down, the Khaleejis torture our people, prod them with cattle rods, and then drive over them, and we shout Muslim Ummah!!!

If I suggested with should boycot all Khaleeji owned businesses, then most people would just laugh.

Re: UAE sheikh cleared over torture

Shocking and ethically wrong but hardly surprising........

I dont whether to laugh or cry

Shiekh sahib was held at gunpoint and then a ciggarette full of heroine or charas was inserted in his mouth and he was asked to breath in and NOT breath out
so he did this a couple of times and then bacame TUNN (Or maybe they mixed something in his glass of camel milk :hmmm: )

after that those 2 main culprits took sheikh sahib into a room where the afghani was and then asked him to beat him up - and they recorded the whole episode

I totally buy that story :chai:

^^

Also you have to appreciate the fat that this case was brought before the court.

Mr al-Mulla said the fact the trial had taken place was "a sign that the UAE is showing that everyone in this country can be put in front of law and judged".**

The verdict will encourage more people to bring such abuses to the attention of the court.

Few months back in Kuwait, and women was fined KWD 200 ( USD 700) for killing her maid, the defense said that the killer's intention was not to kill her but to discipline her...

The court warned the lady and fined her... Justice prevailed... and the lady was not of royal family, she was just an ordinary citizen.

very true .... this is why muslims r so backward today ...if a common man commits a crime we punish him but not when the royalty does

we r a disgrace to ummat of Muhammad

Koi nahi....Allah is watching. he will get what he deserves.

Disciplining was by physical abuse and a small fine was a huge punishment right... Good that I dont live in Kuwait

I am sure he will get his just deserts in here after. But the point is the UAE is touting itself as a modern progressive state, with there gigantic phalic symbols. In reality, they are no different from their Bedu neighbours.

this can only happen in UAE, another area where world cannot match dubai

Well, it's not just this 'Shaykh', it's the rich jungle bears that are not answerable to anyone, as in Pakistani rural areas Sindhi and Panjabi Waderas throw peasants and their women in front of wild dogs, like Baloch Sardars bury women alive. This is sick mentality of people who have no fear of Allah and no fear of Law because there's no law to catch such culprits.

Exactly!

wow even his face betrays cunningness

despicable conduct

Chalo bhai, sab adaalaten band kar daalo! Allah miyan jab sab dekh rahaa hain tau adaalatonki kisko zarurat hain!

This is totally unfair. The fine should have been 10 KWD. The woman should appeal.

i agree